Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A figure made to squeeze!
The most important and best Rock'N'Roll film of the 1950's. This film stands way above the rest in that it was obviously made with an above average budget and is in colour - and what a cast!
Gene Vincent, Little Richard, Fats Domino,The Treniers, Eddie Fontaine and the 3 Chuckles, (Uh?), never heard of em? me neither. This film also stars a young Eddie Cochran...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by Graham

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars lacklustre transfer on Second Sight DVD
The DVD is advertised as 2.55 in 16:9 format but in fact its squashed onto 4:3, non-anamorphic, that means that two thirds of your screen is black bars unless you zoom, and when you zoom you get a fairly lacklustre picture. Now the real shocking thing is that this DVD also comes with a featurette where John Waters talks about the film and clips are shown throughout, and...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Real Films Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Complete Film, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Patrick (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help It [DVD] (DVD)
Good nostalgia and great tracks but I have the film on a very old video and note that the CD has been cut in a couple of places notably no Freddy Cannon.
That said having the DVD to see the wonderful Platters and `The Fat Man' is worth the money.
For my money the music around the date of the film was fantastic and always worth a listen and have the added attraction seeing the real stars of Rock and Roll / Pre Motown era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The girl cadn,t help it but grable proves she,s better, 2 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help it [DVD] (DVD)
Ok jayne mansfield is the star , but who upstages her? Non other than the fabulous betty grable in a insert of her singing a song from wabash avenue she shows mansfield what real talent is with those million dollar legs well in evidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars light-hearted fun, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help It [DVD] (DVD)
A pretty light-hearted story about a showbiz agent whose star is fading but who gets a final chance to promote a voluptuous but indifferent singer who'd prefer to meet mister right and have babies. However, the storyline is firmly set at the emergence of Rock n Roll and, if you're interested in pop music and where it came from, the film is well worth watching for the performances of fifties legends like Eddie Cochrane, Little Richard, etc..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 17 Nov 2009
By 
R. Mcgregor "Roy 1690" (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help It [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with dvd and brought back memories of years ago.
Must congratulate you on the excellent service and delivery of this item. Pleasure doing business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frothy Fun, 28 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help It [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a great bit of fun - easy on the eye and ear. Lovely retro fashion. Great music. Great hangover or Sunday afternoon t.v.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best rock'n'roll film ever?, 16 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help It [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in 1957 and more recently on TV. It still entertains thanks to the cast and the musical performances, particularly Eddie Cochran singing 'Twenty Flight Rock.' Chuck Berry does not appear in this film as stated by another reviewer, and Abby Lincoln and The Three Chuckles were left off the CD release that I have. Teddy Randazzo from The Three Chuckles tried to lead a rock band playing an accordian! Good for a laugh but not very cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Without the music would be zero stars., 13 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help It [DVD] (DVD)
The only reason to watch this is for the RnR music but cannot be recommended for any real RnR fan.

A truly wretched 'mainstream' film displaying American sentiment and 'humour' at its worst.

Jane Mansfied does her best with an awful scipt and plot.

No respect shown to the great RnR artists and music ( especially Gene Vincent, Fats Domino, Cochran and the Platters - 7 minutes of heaven), typical of the mainstream media.

Could not even stay with the band for one whole record without cutting back to the ludicrous plot.

Just listen to the records or watch the 'low budget' RnR films or American Graffiti folks.

ps Certainly could have done without nauseating John Waters in the special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD film The girl can't help it, 28 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Girl Can't Help it [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of good old Rock and Roll being of that age group. The DVD ordered was sent from Austalia which surprised me, since I assumed it would come from a supplier either in the UK or USA.

The quality of the DVD was aceptable apart from a scene where a favourite singer of mine Julie London performed her classic " Cry me a River". The soundtrack was poor as if it were from an LP record that was worn and I was surprised and disappointed.

When I was given the chance to complain, Amazon refunded my costs, thank you, and I am returning the DVD back to Australia at no charge. Te respondent did not seem to think another copy would be any better, which again surprised me. I will not trade with that supplier again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl Can't Help It [DVD]
The Girl Can't Help It [DVD] by Frank Tashlin (DVD - 2004)
6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews