Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent wildlife series
I've recently bought the whole package and I think that it is a great work.
There are 4 DVD which present the way of life of Tiger, Leopard ,Eagle and Snake.I have watched a lot of wildlife documentary film in the past but never seen before scenes like those in the DVDs.
For example in order to film the Leopard which is well known as an elusive,noctural,...
Published on 19 Dec 2005 by Theodore Mattas

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Package is wildly various in its production values & attraction
There are four DVDs in this collection - Tiger, Leopard, Serpent & Eagle. All have been made at various times over the last 10 years and the production values and style reflect the fact that these look to have been cobbled together as a set of four. There seems to be nothing in common with all four except David Attenborough as narrator.

Two of the titles are...
Published on 13 May 2007 by Nebkheprure


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Package is wildly various in its production values & attraction, 13 May 2007
By 
Nebkheprure (Winchcombe, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
There are four DVDs in this collection - Tiger, Leopard, Serpent & Eagle. All have been made at various times over the last 10 years and the production values and style reflect the fact that these look to have been cobbled together as a set of four. There seems to be nothing in common with all four except David Attenborough as narrator.

Two of the titles are fairly modern and have been filmed in 16:9 widescreen (Tiger 1999 & Serpent 2002), whilst the other two are slightly older and are in 4:3 full screen (Leopard & Eagle, both 1997).

The absolute jewel in the crown of this set is the 'Tiger' DVD. An absolute gem of film making and totally engrossing in what it offers in breathtaking photography, story-telling pace, script & music-score. The 'Tiger' DVD completely outclasses the quality of what one would normally expect from a 50 minute wildlife documentary in terms of how much effort has been put in so superbly to such a magnificent effect. It is stunning.

The other three DVDs really do not capture the imagination with their offerings for the other three animals & the production style and quality is somewhat lacking and dare I say it slightly boring with little apparent attempt (or success) to involve the viewer's interest. This is especially pronounced when compared to the outrageously brilliant 'Tiger' DVD.

If you are into 'cherry picking', I would advise buying just the 'Tiger' offering which is sold separately as well as in this package. Search Amazon DVDs for 'Wildlife Special Tiger'. There are separate reviews for each individual DVD under their availability singly.

As a set of four, they are reasonable value depending on what price Amazon are currently charging (their prices go up and down hugely), but 'Tiger' singly is utterly brilliant and is a steal at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent wildlife series, 19 Dec 2005
By 
Theodore Mattas (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
I've recently bought the whole package and I think that it is a great work.
There are 4 DVD which present the way of life of Tiger, Leopard ,Eagle and Snake.I have watched a lot of wildlife documentary film in the past but never seen before scenes like those in the DVDs.
For example in order to film the Leopard which is well known as an elusive,noctural, very hard to find creature, they used infra-red cameras which can see in total darkness.The result is breathtaking scenes from a male and a female Leopard hunting.
The same goes for tiger and eagle. A lot of close-ups (which is very difficult, especially for eagles) and detailed description of their way of hunting, mating, fighting ect. My summary is that anybody who is interested in these creatures must buy these DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
Up to Attenborough's usual standard. I have got two copies of the "Tiger" DVD now, but that does not matter, as it is popular anyway. One collection I shall watch again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
A fantastic and well photographed series of different wildlife scenes. I thoroughly enjoyed them and would recommend them to those interested in wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More of that., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
Amazing footage preserving the sight of nature. Would love to have more of these kinds of film about the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality discs, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
Found this item to be inexpensive whilst at the same time was of good quality that I enjoyed very much in watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
BRILLIANT COLLECTION OF THE FINEST WILDLIFE DOCU'S IF YOU LOVE WILDLIFE YOU ENJOT THIS VERY MUCH .CHEAP TOO AND RELAXING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loveit., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
We had some problems in the beginning but you professional attitude solved our problem and I think everybody is happy now.I can understand the difficulties you have because it has to go through Athens Greece where there is nothing you can do. But anyway as customer I expect that everybody involved to act like you so everybody will be happy in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of wildlife photography and brilliant narration., 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
I recalled seeing some of this series on TV some years ago and was reminded of them when browsing Amazon.
I decided to own the DVD and found it was even better than I had remembered. Some breathtaking photography and informative commentary from David Attenborough make this a very entertaining and educational collection. I have no doubt that I will watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set (DVD)
As I love all nature films and documentries, this was too good to miss,,,,,,very good collection and so informative, a must for all nature minded people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set
Wildlife Specials DVD Collection Box Set by Wildlife Specials DVD Collection (DVD - 2004)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews