Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live is best, 9 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Back in the 70s I bought this album without ever seeing or hearing of Colosseum before. As a result I subsequently bought everything else that they had done, but none of the studio stuff stood up to this live album.
Colosseum are the definitive live act. Unfortunately I never did get to see them live which I regret, but this album says it all about the band. I've read elsewhere that they didn't rate the performances that contributed to the recording. All I can say is they must be hard to please! What genre is the music? I suppose you have to label it 'progressive rock', but that doesn't really do it justice. The blues & jazz influences are obvious, but to find such superb and diverse musicianship right across a band is rare.
My favourite tracks? I think Skelington, with the fantastic solo by Dave Clempson, followed by their version of the evergreen Graham Bond classic Walking in the Park.
The incredible Mr Heckstall-Smith on sax - playing two simultaneously at times - Dave Clempson on guitar, Dave Greenslade on keyboards, Jon Hiseman on drums and Mark Clarke on bass: any one of which could probably have walked into any band at the time. Oh and did I mention Chris 'The Voice' Farlowe? Truly amazing performances Chris.
Sadly Mr. Heckstall-Smith has passed on, but Bob Geldof - if you are watching, see if you can get Colosseum for the next Live Aid - whenever that might be - before it's too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece by superb musicians, 23 Nov 2001
By 
goldbook (salford, lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live: Remastered (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I bought this album when it originally came out in vinyl back in the early 70s and it is my all time favorite of any album. The original crackles and hisses from many thousands of plays and it was well past time to buy the CD.
Listen to the individual brilliance of each of the musicians gelling into a powerful and clever sound. Jon Hisemans drumming on "rope Ladder" is sheer class and is the closest you will hear to the drums being a lead instrument with the rest of the band backing.
Marc Clarke's bass work has always been vastly under rated. Crank up the bass and listen to his wall of sound at the height of "Lost Angeles".High class!!!
The track which makes this album is "lost Angeles". Dave Greenslade's interweaving keyboards,Dick Heckstall Smith's amazing sax work and Chris Farlowe's powerful vocals backed by the superb rythm section lay the bass for the most beautifully constructed guitar solo you will ever hear. It really is a masterpiece.
My thanks to the band for giving me thousands of hours of listening pleasure over the past three decades. If only I'd known about their reformation concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Blues-Rock masterpiece, 21 Feb 2007
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
After Colosseum's brilliant "Valentyne Suite" which was more jazz than blues, came this sprawling, massive, blues-rock storm.

Surprisingly well recorded (for a Live album in those far off days of "Philips' cassettes"), this showcases the stunning musicianship of a well rehearsed band playing incredibly well together.

Jon Hiseman's drumming is the centre-piece, he sounds as if he has 4 arms rather than 2, Dave Clempson is a brilliant guitarist (I never understood why he was never on a par with some of the other [and less technically brilliant] rock guitar 'gods'), Dave Greenslade's organ fills the sound out, along with Mark Clarke's huge bass lines and then the amazing Dick H-S on numerous saxes. Not forgetting the enormous voice of Chris Farlowe which is utterly perfect in this context - a broad mellow deep blues bellow.

The tracks are a mixture of other people's stuff brilliantly interpreted (Rope Ladder to the Moon), typical Colosseum numbers (Skelington, Tanglewood and Lost Angeles) and some thundering blues - "Stormy Monday".

Just wonderful (and if you enjoyed this - try the recent Live DVD which was recorded 30 years later by the same band and sounds just as good...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting stuff!, 28 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
A band at the height of their powers, even though they did not realise it at the time. (They split up almost immediately after this tour!) The music sounds fresh, and different, even now. Jon Hiseman is an excellent drummer, and the other players are on top form. Not that sure about the suitability of the vocalist, but he doesn't spoil things too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 29 July 2003
This review is from: Live: Remastered (Audio CD)
30 years on and this gem still sounds as brilliant as the day I first brought it home and slapped it on my dad's radiogram (show's what an old fart i really am!). What more can be said about this release than has been mentioned above?
From the glorious 'Rope Ladder to the Moon' thro to the magnificent 'Lost Angeles' (check out Dave Clemson's guitar work!) there's not a dull moment. Excellent musicianship and fabulous songs make this a must for every rock fan's collection. Buy it without hesitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic Colosseum Live CD, 1 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
When I was growing up in the 1970's and exploring a whole world of Rock Music - Colosseum were one of those bands that I'd look at the albums and think Hmmm wonder what this is like and then I'd go and find something else - I must have done that about a dozen times at least

Then when I heard Colosseum !!'s Strange New Flesh album - which I loved (the 2 cd remaster is fantastic too) even then I still didn't go back and check out Colosseum properly for myself

Sometimes you really need to kick yourself, i do as to why I never checked this out before

Finally last year I actually shelled out to buy this CD and the other Colosseum CD's and you know what - for over 30 years I'd been missing out

The other reviewers know far more about this band than I do but what I can and will say is that this CD contains some very fine music - from the Epic Lost Angeles to Stormy Monday Blues

There's some fantastic guitar playing from Dave "Clem" Clempson and some great Keyboard work from Dave Greenslade, Jon Hiseman is superb throughout as is Dick Heckstall Smith and Tony Reeves bass is flawless, majestic and Tight - oh and Chris Farlowe is pretty hot in the vocals dept too!
In short this was a band firing on all six cylinders and this album captures that moment perfectly - you'll be so impressed that you'd be hard pushed to believe it was recorded nearly 40 Years ago

sometimes in life you get second chances - well take one on this CD - for the price its more than worth it - it is truly a great Rock / Jazz hybrid CD
I recommend it highlyLive - Expanded Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Youth revisited, 17 Dec 2003
By 
ivan j robinson (derby, derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live: Remastered (Audio CD)
If you like real rock /jazz this is the one for you especially 'in the car'.It is a real gem and timeless. Dick Heckstall-Smiths sax is beyond belief.Just buy it and hear for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a showcase of their talents, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live: Remastered (Audio CD)
At first impression all you can hear is Chris Farloe's voice and Clem Clemsons wailing, strident....fast...guitar. Then lots of fuzzy bass. The clamour of Hisemans drums and Dave Greenslades keyboards. And sneaking away in the background, insinuating rhythms and smiles of joy are Dick Heckstall-Smith and his various saxes.
Of course each one of these musicians bring smiles of pleasure. Listening, walking to work, Clem Clemson's solo in Lost Angeles and Farloes voice are just wonderful.
All the tracks highlight one (or more) of the lineup and although they are a little self indulgent at times ( especially Farloe and Clemson) the whole CD is well worth the money. Well worth possessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance, 2 Aug 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
If ever a single album could epitomise live music of the early seventies, this is it. A fusion of rock and blues with jazz overtones Colosseum live soars head and shoulders above what came before, for it's sheer energy and presence. From searing vocals to sax accompaniment and prestigious use of the wah wah pedal, this is simply sublime. Favourite track?...for me it's Los Angeles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 7 July 2014
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
Item as described. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live
Live by Colosseum (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews