Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking
At a first listen I thought this could never live up to 'Up the Bracket' - which had been my favourite album of all time. Now it's changed: when I'm happy 'Up the Bracket' is my favourite album, when I'm sad 'The Libertines' is.
The Libertines is heartbreaking if you know the story of Pete and Carl. It is a history of the libertines, songs that in demos used to be...
Published on 20 Nov 2004

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what a waste
Following all the hype that surrounded this release I am sad to say that "The Libertines" is very disappointing. It is nowhere near as exciting a record as its predacessor "Up The Bracket." 2000's debut was a raw, energetic, anthem laden gem. Only a few tracks on the new album live up to it. "Can't Stand Me Now" was a worthy single, "Narcissist" should be a single and...
Published on 13 Sep 2004 by dimorphodon


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Idiot Joy Show Land, 15 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
All hail the future of rock and roll. Nah, not really. Sorry lads, but this record is, well, *alright* but not great. I guess I should feel a bit cheated given the hype but the truth is that on paper the Libertines do seem quite exciting, given their colourful recent history. Unfortunately they make for better copy than the actual business of making music. There's not a single emotive key change or memorable melodic passage here, just the sound of a pair of hacks bashing out bland retreads of same stuff you've heard too many times before. I suppose a high profile dependency on Class A's does make for interesting colour supplement fodder but Pete old son, on the evidence of this here long player, you're not exactly over-endowed with tunes. Sorry mate, I'm sure there is the talent there which everyone appears to be talking about, it's just that I don't hear it on this record. Our tacky, increasingly desperate celebrity culture and it's relationship with the jaded London media appear to be the real drivers of this rather hollow album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nothing there..., 20 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
Prior to hearing this latest album from The Libertines I hadn't heard much of their material but from what I had heard I had an idea of them as being competent and slightly unusual, if essentially just another schmindie band.
However, after listening to 'The Libertines' to find out what all the hoohah is about I was amazed at the lazy and uninspired approach pete doherty and the rest seem to have to the songwriting on this album. This is the worst album I have heard for ages, there is absolutely nothing about it in my opinion - no memorable tunes, no unusual phrasing, no original drumming, no cool riffs and no decent lyrics.
Is this why they need all the hype? I can't imagine anyone buying this for any other reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please forgive me, I no longer hear the music., 4 July 2004
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
The first thing that strikes me with this record is the poor production. It sounds like a collection of rough demos that have been rushed out to keep the punters happy.
Opening track 'Can't Stand Me Now' is very much Libertines by numbers, and was the obvious choice for the first single. 'Music When The Lights Go Out' as beautiful as it is, doesn't feel like a Libertines song, and doesn't sound at home on this album.
There's 14 tracks on this album, and sadly, at least 50% of them are filler. I want to love this album, I really do, but it lacks the obvious tunes of Up The Bracket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tosh, 28 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
What a let down. Aside from 'What Katie Did', total rubbish. I honestly swapped my copy for a mate's packet of Barbecue Beef McCoys and couldn't help feeling like I'd ripped him off afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge, just admire., 7 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
This album will be peppered with questions: Can the libertines match up to the quality of there first album? Can Pete Doherty survive without the libertines? Forget this, whether it can surpass the quality of "Up the Bracket" or not (that is for the individual to decide)the libertines new album is great. The band still manage to provoke the social awareness that made their debut, particularly with lines such as: "Rich kids acting like their poor/White kids acting like their black". Despite many songs that fit the upbeat feel of the band's debut, this album presents a more oppressive approach, particularly through the vocals.
Pete Doherty's solo performances have been of the upmost quality, proving his dedication to the band, who in my opinion need to stop picking the splinters out of Pete's eyes and take the logs out of their own.
This album also leaves many questions in its wake: Will their music manage to revolutionise Britain? Do the libertines need Pete Doherty? Or most poignantly, Does Pete need the Libertines?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I cant stand you now either, 6 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
This band are often compared to the strokes.Well one thing that they certainly have in common is that their first albums were superb and their second dismal.There is one song on this album that would have been good enough to go on "Up the bracket" and that is the first track but you can get that as a single so I wouldnt bother buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh, 8 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
first things first, the libertines made a BIG mistake in choosing mick jones to produce this album as he did the debut. Take a listen to jones's version of death on the stairs from the first album, and bernard butlers version on dont look back into the sun single (also produced what a waster and dlbits and jones's version is unlistenable. Ok maybe thats an exaggeration, but you get the message.
But does it really matter though when generally the songs are so good? it shouldnt but the songs are not as good as mick jones said. He was quoted as calling this album one of the greatest ever, which simply isnt true. But the songs do progress from those on up the bracket, with smiths-esqe songs such as the man who would be king and what became of the likely lads standing out.
But it's the single, cant stand me now which truly stands-out. A moving masterpiece, by a long way its the libs finest moment, not even jones's piss-poor production can ruin this gem.
I was expecting more from this album, and its a real shame as you cant see Pete and Carl lasting for another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crooked, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Libertines [VINYL] (Vinyl)
this item came crooked, i spent a lot of money on it, i bought it directly from amazon and i cant use it or listen to it, im realy mad with this situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All hype from Strokes wannabes, 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
The Libertines...Oh they were so dangerous! They were 4real! They were the band that England were waiting for!.......... NO, THEY WERE A REALLY POOR IMITATION OF THE STROKES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry!, 31 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
After being at the notorious gig in which pete decided to walk off stange then run around outdoors topless [blaming Carl of an evil frown towards him] i decided to show my sympathy by paying probably too much money for a preview of their self titled new album. I really, really, did try to get into the spirit. I just kept comparing it to the first. Im sorry. the magic has gone. I hope they do get back together though. Shame what happened. I know i will probably get hate mail for the rest of my life.. but i did try so hard to like this album. It just didnt work. oops..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Libertines
The Libertines by The Libertines (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews