Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking
At a first listen I thought this could never live up to 'Up the Bracket' - which had been my favourite album of all time. Now it's changed: when I'm happy 'Up the Bracket' is my favourite album, when I'm sad 'The Libertines' is.
The Libertines is heartbreaking if you know the story of Pete and Carl. It is a history of the libertines, songs that in demos used to be...
Published on 20 Nov. 2004

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what a waste
Following all the hype that surrounded this release I am sad to say that "The Libertines" is very disappointing. It is nowhere near as exciting a record as its predacessor "Up The Bracket." 2000's debut was a raw, energetic, anthem laden gem. Only a few tracks on the new album live up to it. "Can't Stand Me Now" was a worthy single, "Narcissist" should be a single and...
Published on 13 Sept. 2004 by dimorphodon


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pete plese get better, 28 Feb. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
Ahh The Libertines, I remember the year 2002 with Up The Bracket and What a Waster, two brilliant songs both reminding us of why the British music scence was so rubbish. And as we are now in 2005, The Libertines are a band no more, Pete is in jail and gigging on and off with new band Babyshambles, Carl has signed a solo deal with Vertigo, John has started a new band called Yeti and Gary is yet to do anything yet.
Yet these four Londoners may have gone out with the biggest bang ever with on of the best albums of the last five years. Can't Stand Me Now is a brilliant song describing the arguments and relationship between Pete and Carl. However there are two additional songs describing the relationship between these two young men and these are Music When The Lights Go Out and What Became Of The Likely Lads, both songs amazing containing some beautiful lyrics about growing up together and growing away from each other. For me these songs epitomise what the Libertines are about witty and intelligent songwriting about the troubles of two men. However through these troubles the Libertines have made a statement about our country in songs such as Narcissist, Arbeit Macht Frei and Campaign of Hate. They have also time for some lalala sing along songs such as Don't Be Shy, What Katie Did and The Saga. The other songs Last Post On The Bugle, The Man Who Would Be King, The Ha Ha Wall, Tomblands and Road To Ruin are all as brilliant as each other. If The Libertines ever fail to exist again they have not let us down with this final outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Libertines, 11 July 2006
By 
M. Jones "matting_lfc" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
The Libertines prove they are possibly the best band of the 21st century. This album is inspiring. There is no other word for it. While often quieter than Up the Bracket, the Libertines is an album that you can listen to again and again, without tiring of it.

It starts with the modern classic `Can't Stand Me Now', a great song until you realise that it's about the band's troubled relationship, when it becomes a brilliant song. The lyrics are to the point yet full of emotion, and the harmonica solo at the end is inspired.

Another potential classic is `Music When the Lights Go Out', which is one of the finest acoustic songs I have ever heard. The song has a bittersweet, catchy tune and Barat's electric guitar accompaniment complements Doherty's strumming perfectly. This is followed by `Narcissist', which has a completely different upbeat cockney working class feel to it.

The album is concluded ironically with `What Became of the Likely Lads', a tale of forgiveness between the two frontmen, which could quite easily bring a tear to the eye of the knowledgeable music fan. It leaves you wondering whether they knew the end was soon.

An album unique, not just in its music, but in the heart and emotion which has been poured into it. In a world filled with sometimes seemingly pointless love songs, this album is a refreshing change that should be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The libertines, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
My Grandson wanted this for Christmas so he was very pleased to get it from me so thank you very much for sending it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than up the bracket?, 7 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
anyone who likes the more melodic style of the new album should know that this is pete's influence. I was delighted to hear more of an influence from the babyshambles work permeating the libertines new songs.
The album brought to life some of the fantastic songs (e.g. what katie did and especially the lively but haunting can't stand me now) of which I had only previously heard dodgy demos and bootlegs.
As a fan since early 2002 i think its brilliant that a band as troubled as the libertines can still kick out breathtaking music like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Best Album of All Time, 11 April 2006
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
'Up the Bracket' being the first. But this self-titled sequal is not far off. Another immense piece of work by the best band in the world. Once again, each song is drenched in passion, emotion and pure rock'n'roll. It really is a quite unbelievable piece of work, and is truly inspirational.

In comparison to 'Up the Bracket' this is a tiny bit slower, but that's not always a bad thing. And of course, it does contain one of the best songs of all time - 'Can't Stand Me Now'.

So, kicking off with 'Can't Stand Me Now'. What can I say? For those who have never heard this incredible song you need to hear this song before you die. Enough said.

'Last Post On The Bugle' is sort of soulful rock'n'roll. The drumming is top quality, and riff is unbelievably catchy.

'Don't Be Shy' is one of those songs that it seems the band just had fun with. Everthing is faultless and the lyrics are wonderfully quirky.

'The Man Who Would Be King' is the sequel to 'Tell The King' off the previous album. It's pretty impossible to equal 'Tell The King' because, in my opinion, it is one of the best songs of all time. But this is a fantastic sequel, and whilst not troubling it's predecessor, it is still amazing. The lead guitar is just too sexy for words.

'Music When The Lights Go Out'. What a song. Definitely one of the Libs' best ever. The lyrics are beautiful and will almost certainly make you cry at some point. The acoustic guitar, combined with the riff of the lead guitar is quite incredible.

'Narcissist' is a brilliant tune. The lead guitar WILL make you dance, even if you are in the worst mood. The lyrics are quality and Carl sings them perfectly.

'The Ha Ha Wall' is another great song.Amazing lyrics by Pete. Certainly not the highlight of the album, but still brilliant.

'Arbeit Mach Frei' is great fun. The boys obviously had a great time with this one. Short and punchy, a perfect album song. Wonderfully random.

'Campaign of Hate' sounds slightly ska inspired. It has a definite rhythm to it, and whilst not a favourite of mine, it certainly has a deserved place on this album. Yet more great lyrics.

'What Katie Did' is definitely one of the highlights. Beautiful lyrics and the lead guitar is amazing. It's hard to find words to describe how great this song is - just listen and you'll know.

'Tomblands' is slightly more rock'n'roll. A good bit of fun. It's kind of pirate-rock'n'roll chic. Brilliant!

'The Saga' is another more up-tempo song. The guitar is amazing, and everything just combines perfectly for a superb tune.

'Road To Ruin' again seems ska-inspired. Not a highlight, but not to be overlooked. Catchy riff and excellently sung.

'What Became Of The Likely Lads' is very poignant considering this bands' fate. An instant classic from the Libs' and a perfect yet emotional end to the greatest band ever.

This honestly is an incredible album. If you choose to ignore it then you really are missing out on something that could change the way you feel about music and life.

Quite unbelievable.

The Libertines deserve to live for eternity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's definately a grower, 16 July 2004
By 
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
On first listen I, like many other Libertines fans I feel, was slightly disapointed. Admittedly it's brilliance does not smack you in the face with the same velocity as their superb debut "Up the Bracket" did. However on repeated listens it is clear that this is a far more subtle and ultimately moving album.
While almost every track on "Up the bracket" brings a smile to your face and has you singing along (other than the bizarely bland radio america), tracks such as "Music when the lights go out", "What became of the likely lads" and the sublime "Can't stand me now" send a shiver down your spine.
The band have had a hard year with frontman Pete Doherty's problems being well documented, and the band are not afraid to shy away from topics such as this which many bands would prefer to sweep under the rug. The honesty exhibited in this album is enough to bring you to tears at some moments.
A minority of fans have complained that the general sound of the album is simply not the sound of the Libertines, but surely any band's aim should be to experiment and progress, rather stick with the same sound for 10 years A la Oasis. That said though there are still some tunes that would sound completely at home on "Up the Bracket", most notably "Arbeit Macht Frei", "The ha ha wall" and "Tomblands".
It was always going to be difficult to top arguably the best debut album ever. When the Libertines released "Up the Bracket" they set the bar for quality control impossibly high. In my humble opinion they have not quite managed to top their debut, but have shown that they are not a one trick pony and possess the talent, If Pete cleans up, to become the greatest band of all time.
To summarise this is destined to be a classic album and gets better every listen. The Albion is nearing its destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 27 May 2005
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
The power and energy in this album combined with the emotion and heartbreak makes this the best British LP for years.
The band open up completely giving the whole public a view of the friction between them, the pain and anguish involved in their unavoidable break up and ultimately prove to everyone why they are the best thing since sliced bread.
Music When the Lights go out, Can't Stand me Now, What Became of the Likely Lads and Road To Ruin bring a tear to the eye as anyone who has been on the emotional rollercoaster with The Libertines will realise what these songs are about and the pain they speak of. Other songs including Campaign of Hate and What Katie did show the band can still produce amazing songs without having to sing about their own troubles.
Overall, an amazing album with an ending that will reduce you to tears. Long live the Libertines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VINYL, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Libertines [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Most of the reviews here will be CD.
I purchased the vinyl and it's the best pressing of any album I own, such clear soft sound that most of my others just do not replicate quite as well it's been mastered so wonderfully.
Vinyl really does this album justice! Get it!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it gets better every time you listen.., 19 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums that get better with every listen.

Before you get used to the tracks they seem a bit disjointed but don't let it put you off - once they become familliar you'll love every single one. 'Quality not quantity' a phrase which definetely applies to this album as the majority of tracks are only around 3 minutes long, although this does not affect its brilliance. 'Music when the lights go out' is an amazing song, slightly poppy in a way with beautiful lyrics that will be stuck in your head for days. 'Can't stand me now' and 'What became of the likely lads' are obvious and instant classics that you will love forever.

The mix between Carl's clear vocals and Pete's huskier voice work perfectly together and balances it all out. I love this album and im sure you will too - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy or you'll miss out!!!, 22 Dec. 2005
By 
S. Johnson "spamsam_est1990" (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
This is probably one of the best indie albums you are likely to hear. Nothing is left out from this album, bum notes, the odd comment from Doherty such as 'No no i aint got a problem, it's you with the problem' on "the saga". Once you put it on you wont want to turn it off.
Is it better than the first album? It was definately hard to beat but this album seems to show the 'true colours' of both Barat and Doherty. It's a masterpeiece that should be in every indie lovers collection and i am sure it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Libertines
The Libertines by The Libertines (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews