Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking
At a first listen I thought this could never live up to 'Up the Bracket' - which had been my favourite album of all time. Now it's changed: when I'm happy 'Up the Bracket' is my favourite album, when I'm sad 'The Libertines' is.
The Libertines is heartbreaking if you know the story of Pete and Carl. It is a history of the libertines, songs that in demos used to be...
Published on 20 Nov 2004

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what a waste
Following all the hype that surrounded this release I am sad to say that "The Libertines" is very disappointing. It is nowhere near as exciting a record as its predacessor "Up The Bracket." 2000's debut was a raw, energetic, anthem laden gem. Only a few tracks on the new album live up to it. "Can't Stand Me Now" was a worthy single, "Narcissist" should be a single and...
Published on 13 Sep 2004 by dimorphodon


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 20 Nov 2004
By A Customer
At a first listen I thought this could never live up to 'Up the Bracket' - which had been my favourite album of all time. Now it's changed: when I'm happy 'Up the Bracket' is my favourite album, when I'm sad 'The Libertines' is.
The Libertines is heartbreaking if you know the story of Pete and Carl. It is a history of the libertines, songs that in demos used to be happy and uplifting such as "Music when the Lights go Out" and "What Katie Did" are tear-jerking, especially the former. The album makes me want to cry sometimes, but I've always thought that's a good thing in music. Anything that can evoke such a strong emotion in me is fantastic. 'Can't Stand me now' and 'What Became of the Likely Lads' are Pete and Carl's story, and 'The Saga' shows how Pete's drug addiction is spiralling out of control. He sings "i ain't got a problem - it's you with the problem!". The following track Road to Ruin is Carl's response to that, trying to make him see that "all you can be, is right here in your hands".
I highly recommend this album to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds in the rough, 23 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. A. Johnson "karatejoe" (Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
The first single from this album seemed to sum up the fractured state of the libertines as they appeared to be falling apart at the seams but this album would be a sad end if it were their last. Returning to what must be the most brutally honest production ever, the songs remain as vibrant and alive the fiftieth time you hear them. Even the initially dull "Don't be shy", which sounds like little more than a demo of a jam takes on a new life after repeated listens. "Music when the lights go out" is one of the most evocative "end of the night" songs I've ever played as a D.J. and there are storming rock 'n' roll chunks in the likes of "Tomblands" (particularly notable for what the Libs do best i.e. blur the lines between archaic music and lyrics and a cynical view of the state of the nation). It's not quite as punchy as the first but shows the first few steps towards progression. I only hope for us all that they continue to use the blueprint of Clash/Smiths and deliver on their potential. They have finally proven worthy of being more than just the london strokes and if Pete can make it through they could produce a canon of work to rival any English band.
Buy it, if only to encourage them to keep going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the men who would be kings, 24 Feb 2005
By 
T. Miller "thischarming_man" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
Released in a blaze of publicity, but for all the wrong reasons, The Libertines self titled second album (and now, probably their last) flew off the shelves to Number 1 in its first week.
The reason? Well, the hype of a second album from a band whose first album was something close to genius; refreshing, raw, energetic, original and innovative meant expectations were ripe and ready to be fulfilled. And they almost are.
A different mood emerges from this LP; a more poignant and reflective outlook, in both the music and lyrics. What Katie Did, Road to Ruin, Last Post on the Bugle represent the new downbeat attitude The Libertines have to overcome. And, with tearing, frantic pace, songs such as The Saga and Narcissist take you by the hand whirling back into the frenzied world of The Libertines, in search of Arcadia.
Despite this, the anthems follow suit from Up the Bracket, a perfect continuation of the raw guitar parts and vocal lines. With the pounding Can't Stand me Now, bluesy Don't be Shy, deflating Ha Ha Wall; it's as if the vision of Arcadia so bright in Up the Bracket has dimmed as The Libertines have struggled. But yet, with this LP, there's still hope.
Song for song, perhaps, The Libertines isn't the album that Up the Bracket was. The music may be more melancholic at times, but still the albion sails on course - destination unknown. What became of forever? We might never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great follow up, 18 July 2004
By 
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
the libertines second album is an absolute belter dont let anyone tell u different, if u enjoyed up the bracket then youlle like this. ofcourse thats not to say that this record is anything like up the bracket but u can tell straight away this is the libertines. the sound has evolved quite a bit, there isnt as much of a punk rock sound there, but the songs are still brilliant. cant stand me now, is typical libetertines with catchy lyrics and hooks. then theres man who would be king, different to anything theyve done before but equally brilliant. the libs also include some slow burners such as mucis when the lights go out and the legendary what katie did, which are both so much better than the acoustic jangle of radio america from up the bracket. the lyrics on this album are once again exceptional and ten times better then anything else around at the moment. the album is consistently good and finishes on a hight with one of the libs best efforts yet, "what became of the likely lads". overall a brilliant second album from the libs and one which will most likely see them become the biggest band in the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The libertines, 3 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
I feel that this album would have largely benefited from the production of Bernard Butler instead of Mick Jones, as the rough-and-ready sound got a little grating at times. This said however the album would probably not have been made if this was the case as Mick Jones really held the band together (and Pete didnt get on with Bernard). I felt slightly disapointed as I feel that many of the demos i have are better than their counterparts on the album. I was particularly disapointed that 'music when the lights go out' had the strings section removed as that really was amazing. It takes a few listens to love it, but it is wonderfully honest and revealing. My personal favourites were; tomblands, the saga and what katie did. The lyrics are, as ever, hauntingly beautiful. Like many others i still prefer 'Up the Bracket' but it would be nigh impossible to better it. x hannah, 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What became of forever?, 6 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
That I have managed to give this album four stars is testament to the strength of the libertines true qualities. Pete Doherty and Carl Barat possess a rare and precious songwriting talent. Coupling sublime melodies with alternately witty and heartfelt lyrics the sound of the Libertines is infectious, it makes you wonder why everyone doesn't write songs this way.
A main factor in the band's sound is the love/hate dynamic between the two co-frontmen. Anyone who has seen the Libertines live will have witnessed the amazing energy the two have, when they are feeding off one another. The problem on their second album is that one part of the partnership is not pulling his weight, namely Pete Doherty. Having grown to love a lot of the songs on the album after hearing them live or in demo form, it was a massive disappointment when I first heard the album versions.
Doherty slurs his way through "Don't be shy", robbing it of the urgency that made it so appealing at first. "Music when the lights go out" was wonderful in demo form, mainly down to a 1940s-style cello part. On the album version this has been removed and the pace has been quickened, giving the song an anodyne feel. When I first heard "Can't stand me now" I thought it was the best thing they'd ever done, but the slapdash way in which it has been produced fails to portray the subtle changes in melody and the charm of the vocal sparring between Doherty and Barat. Why Mick Jones was given production duties rather than Bernard Butler, who presided over "What a waster" and "Don't look back into the sun" is beyond me.
The album is still leaps and bounds ahead of pretty much everything else around at the moment. You can still hear the quality at the core of the songs, even though the production and Doherty's unfortunate state of health have had a detrimental effect over the album as a whole. On a positive note, the album portrays the rise in confidence of Carl Barat. Primarily a guitarist on the first record, Barat really finds his voice on The Libertines. In the songs with both on vocals, Barat often seems to be carrying his friend. In fact most of the stand out songs on the album are fronted by Barat; the turbo-charged "narcissist" and the anthemic "road to ruin" to name but two.
The real high point, and the song that sums up the whole Libertines pantomime is the magnificent "What became of the likely lads?" Fittingly, perhaps,the question is rhetorical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the arcadian dream has fallen through, 24 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
This album grows on you everytime you listen to it and it is possibly even better than Up The Bracket! The Libertines have matured not only in their music but also as people since the release of their debut album. Cant Stand Me, their first single off the album is catchy and in the classic libertines style and it is about the spiky relationship between Peter and Carl ("You shut me out and you blamed it on the brown") which is what most of this album is about with songs such as Campaign of Hate, What Became of the Likely Lads and The Saga. What Katie Did is one of the catchiest pop tunes i have ever heard but it is full of heartache as it is based on a girl who got lost in drugs, which has lots of references in this album, as it did in Up the Bracket.
Im just glad that Pete and Carl managed to put their problems behind them to finish this amazing album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pete plese get better, 28 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
Ahh The Libertines, I remember the year 2002 with Up The Bracket and What a Waster, two brilliant songs both reminding us of why the British music scence was so rubbish. And as we are now in 2005, The Libertines are a band no more, Pete is in jail and gigging on and off with new band Babyshambles, Carl has signed a solo deal with Vertigo, John has started a new band called Yeti and Gary is yet to do anything yet.
Yet these four Londoners may have gone out with the biggest bang ever with on of the best albums of the last five years. Can't Stand Me Now is a brilliant song describing the arguments and relationship between Pete and Carl. However there are two additional songs describing the relationship between these two young men and these are Music When The Lights Go Out and What Became Of The Likely Lads, both songs amazing containing some beautiful lyrics about growing up together and growing away from each other. For me these songs epitomise what the Libertines are about witty and intelligent songwriting about the troubles of two men. However through these troubles the Libertines have made a statement about our country in songs such as Narcissist, Arbeit Macht Frei and Campaign of Hate. They have also time for some lalala sing along songs such as Don't Be Shy, What Katie Did and The Saga. The other songs Last Post On The Bugle, The Man Who Would Be King, The Ha Ha Wall, Tomblands and Road To Ruin are all as brilliant as each other. If The Libertines ever fail to exist again they have not let us down with this final outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The libertines, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
My Grandson wanted this for Christmas so he was very pleased to get it from me so thank you very much for sending it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than up the bracket?, 7 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Libertines (Audio CD)
anyone who likes the more melodic style of the new album should know that this is pete's influence. I was delighted to hear more of an influence from the babyshambles work permeating the libertines new songs.
The album brought to life some of the fantastic songs (e.g. what katie did and especially the lively but haunting can't stand me now) of which I had only previously heard dodgy demos and bootlegs.
As a fan since early 2002 i think its brilliant that a band as troubled as the libertines can still kick out breathtaking music like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Libertines
The Libertines by The Libertines (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews