Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only definitive CD version
Superficially this CD edition may look like all the others, but listen carefully. All of the previous CD releases used a different stereo mix from the album, with some very noticeable hiss and pops in places. The most noticeable difference from the vinyl version was that the segue from "Afterglow" into "Long Agos and Worlds Apart" was gone. The last few seconds of...
Published on 7 Sep 2006 by Lee Mendham

versus
18 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake reissued again...
This album has been reissued multiple times, granted it's the Small Faces best album, but do we really need to have it again with the dubious mono/stereo versions (recalling the superfluous elements of the Kinks Village Green box-set) and a radio documentary?

The album itself has long been considered a classic and was often cited by Britpop acts alongside those...
Published on 20 May 2006 by Jason Parkes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only definitive CD version, 7 Sep 2006
By 
Lee Mendham "Lee M" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
Superficially this CD edition may look like all the others, but listen carefully. All of the previous CD releases used a different stereo mix from the album, with some very noticeable hiss and pops in places. The most noticeable difference from the vinyl version was that the segue from "Afterglow" into "Long Agos and Worlds Apart" was gone. The last few seconds of Afterglow had inexplicably been replaced by the mono version and faded out.

My first impression of the Deluxe Edition is that the sound quality is much better. You get three discs for your money: both mono and stereo versions of the album, as well as a BBC "Classic Albums" documentary featuring interviews with the band (but sadly no contribution from Stanley Unwin).

The sound quality on both versions of the album is excellent, although the vocals tend to get buried in the mono mix. I can't tell offhand if the stereo version uses the same mix as on vinyl, but the missing segue has finally been restored and all's right with the world.

There are also two inserts featuring artwork and extensive sleeve notes, although the small print size is bound to give a lot of people eyestrain, and the narrow hinges between the circular pages look terribly fragile.

My only real problem with the tobacco tin design is that it's very hard to open, in fact I confess that I put a bit of a dent in mine while trying to open it. Possibly not the best method, I must admit.

Some people have complained that the inclusion of the mono mix is redundant, or that they don't want to spend more money on another reissue. Ignore them. Just put on this CD, close your eyes and drift away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a mind blast...Stay Cool Won't you!, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. T. Brooks "Happiness Stan" (Brighton. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
As Stanley Unwin would say...Happy daylun Toyly Town newspaper readit and chuckly smiload. They all had a lovely turnout. Gnomes came, Huckle Berry tickle my fingold and Boy Blue left his horn and stuffy under the settee and brought his mellotron and freaked them all out.Oh, what a mind blast! Jack and Jill, knees up Mother Brody, oh what a joy of a trickly howtmare! An I hope yours turns out'n three quarters half'n lovely-bold, you still would'nt half enjoy it! Stay cool won't you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULTIMATE OGDENS', 13 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
This release is nothing short of a masterpiece! Outrageously fantastic in every sence. Fabulous idea to release a 'mono' and 'stereo' version because of the differences in lyrics, instrumentation and mixes and an Ogdens radio show included as well - what more could we want?

Destined to be another collectors item because of the metal tin package. My ultimate Ogdens would to see it released in 5.1 surround with the addition on DVD disc of the 60s show Colour Me Pop showing the Small Faces playing the Happiness Stan suite live plus live narration from Stanley Unwin [bless him] - maybe for the 40th Anniversary in 2 years time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very special special edition, 29 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. J. Gould (Newbury, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
This is very good album, and the wonderful packageing and extras does it justice. I'm not sure whether a stereo and mono version of the album were both needed, as the stereo is far superior, but it's nice to know your getting your money's worth. The BBC documentary is very interesting if you have an hour to spare. The tin packageing is very aesthetically pleasing, but it is a bit awkward when trying to get the C.D.'s out when in the car. But if you buy it for one reason, it should be the fun packed songs, all of which are wonderful in their own quirky, late 60's way (espically "Lazy Sunday"). Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
Husband went GAGA over this when he got it...end of story ! If you know someone who is a Small Faces collector then this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake reissued again..., 20 May 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake (Audio CD)
This album has been reissued multiple times, granted it's the Small Faces best album, but do we really need to have it again with the dubious mono/stereo versions (recalling the superfluous elements of the Kinks Village Green box-set) and a radio documentary?

The album itself has long been considered a classic and was often cited by Britpop acts alongside those bands who contributed to the Small Faces tribute LP, e.g. Gene, Ride, Paul Weller. 'Ogdens' is one of those albums that is cited lots in lists, like 'Pet Sounds' or 'Sgt Pepper', but is it that great? Stanley Unwin's narration seems a bit "quirky" and almost reminds me of the horror that Brian Wilson bunged on 'Holland.' There are a fair few songs here that are just OK - the title track, 'Mad John', 'Long Ago and Worlds Apart', 'Happy Days Toy Town' & 'Rene' - though I could find these tracks so-so due to the fact their style has been imitated much (notably by 'Life'-era Blur). There is much great though - the standard 'Lazy Sunday' (kind of covered by Throbbing Gristle a few years ago!), the psych-rock of 'Afterglow' and work that was more overtly ROCK: 'Rollin' Over' (predicting The Faces) and 'Song of a Baker' (which has a 'Purple Haze'-style bassline and has been covered by The Posies and Screaming Trees).

Personally, I think you're better off with a budget priced version of this album rather than the additional elements here that seem a bit luxury. Heck, I find the Small Faces a bit patchy, so would probably suggest the Decca/Immediate two-disc set released a few years ago that contains all you need (...and some rubbish too). 'Ogdens' is seen as a 'classic album', but I find it doesn't hold its own against records like 'SF Sorrow', 'The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society', or 'The Who Sell Out' which explore similar territories to greater effect. I guess 'Ogdens...' is one of those albums cited in lists, but listening to it now I wonder if it's really as classic as stated? This is something I feel about several Beatles albums, 'Pet Sounds', 'The Stone Roses' and a mass of other unarguable classics. Not a record that really needs the deluxe treatment and the cd in a box has been available since 1990, so is it that new or just milking a classic LP?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake
Ogdens' Nut Gone Flake by The Small Faces (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews