Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put: A WICKED FILM!!
I saw this film and bought it on a gamble... Boy did it pay off!!

Apparently Azumi is a comic book character and really big in Japan - judging by the film I can see why.

The lead lady is simply gorgeous - the fight scenes are excellent (especially the final scene which is both epic and awesome) - and the costumes and cinematography are stunning...
Published on 8 July 2010 by The Truth

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough
I wasn't sure what to expect of Azumi. A work colleague recommended the film to me but reviews on Amazon were mixed. I decided to pay up and see. And I wasn't disappointed. The comparisons with Crouching Tiger... and House of Flying Daggers are to be expected. Azumi is their younger sister if you will. It's an enjoyable film to watch but it doesn't have the same depth to...
Published on 31 May 2006 by sturmhalo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put: A WICKED FILM!!, 8 July 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film and bought it on a gamble... Boy did it pay off!!

Apparently Azumi is a comic book character and really big in Japan - judging by the film I can see why.

The lead lady is simply gorgeous - the fight scenes are excellent (especially the final scene which is both epic and awesome) - and the costumes and cinematography are stunning.

Special attention should be paid to the extras on the DVD too - here you'll find out just what an amazing job the lead actress did on this film. She had no martial art or sword fighting experience, learnt all her fight sequences on location just before each take, and she really does amazingly well in the fight scenes considering - in one take she even receives a nasty gash to the head from a blade she didn't manage to duck in time.

It's a really, really good film all round - sadly, I bought the sequel the following week and found it very disappointing; but then it did have a lot to live up to. However that said, you'll love this film so much I bet you still buy the second one too Azumi 2 - Death Or Love [DVD] [2005]... in fact you can buy them in a double box set, so check it out Azumi/Azumi 2 - Death Or Love [DVD]. Price wise it might be worth getting that instead if it's only a quid or 2 more.

I actually consider this film a must see.

If my review was any help please give it the thumbs up! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloodier than a butcher's bathroom., 22 Jun 2007
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
I pretty much enjoyed everything there was to Azumi. For a 2-hour plus film, I never once really felt the running time. It just seemed to pass in a breeze. The only films that feel this way for me are films that have one great scene after another and Azumi delivers exactly that.

Character development, while not slight, takes a backseat to the action and atmosphere. Azumi is an orphan raised by a Samurai master to be an assassin of evildoers. Set in feudal Japan, there are many warlords for Azumi and her fellow assassins to eliminate so they can bring peace to the land. You might think that you've seen enough Sword-fighting movies in the past few years but Azumi really does out-do Kill Bill, House of Flying Daggers and The Last Samurai. Those movies lacked the atmosphere.

Despite a few moments of overblown sound-effects, Azumi is filled with mainly silent sound design with no more than quietly blowing trees or howling wind in the background. The remote wilderness settings and wonderfully balanced photography certainly go well with this irregular sound design. So many movies are all about noise and chaos, it's refreshing to come across one that goes against the grain.

I totally recommend Azumi and I am looking forward to seeing the sequel. I do wish I saw the 143-minute Director's cut however. Don't let subtitles put you off, you're ignoring a whole other world of good movies if you do.

The DVD is in fine-looking 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen with Dolby 5.1 sound and a decent amount of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, ignore the 1star reviews, 6 Jan 2008
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
The film is a little strange at the start and a little off putting when you see all the 'kid' warriors, however it picks up pace and i found it to be rather entertaining.

I read the reviews after watching the film, as i find the other way round spoils it. I found the 1 star reviews harsh and a little bit ill concieved. Why are you comparing this to crouching tiger, just because of the female lead??? It is an entirely different film, and is based on a mangaesque comic, which admittedly has been adapted quite a bit. I found there is no great need for charcter development in these sort of films, just feels a little uneccessary when the main theme is slaughter.

You moan about the lead role being weak considering her training but in flying daggers they are running through the trees for goodness sake, realism on one level but not on another =S

To be honest i wrote this review because i read the bad reviews and thought they were rather unfair and written by morons who obviousley completely miss the point of the film, which is to enjoy it, rather than picking up on blood stains absent from a sword after a reverse facial slash.

Just watch it, see what you think. not everyones cup of tea, but for crying out loud why compare every asian sword fighting film to house of flying daggers, have you that limited vision ??????????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable film, 13 Feb 2007
By 
P. Cuthbertson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
I've really enjoyed this film every time I've watched it, it has serious re-watch-ability for me. I felt the fight scenes were really good, though I'm not traditionally a fan of martial arts films. I would still say, however, that this film does lack something, certainly character development was slightly stunted. All aside, it's now got a permanent place in my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars samurai fighting at its best, 30 Dec 2004
By 
Richard Willis "English Guy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
I took a chance when I brought Azumi, I read a review and thought I should give it a try, boy am I glad I did. Apart from the fact that Aya Ueto is the most attractive girl I have ever seen, she is by far the most agile and capable of taking you into her world. This is this the most epic and violent film I have ever had the pleasure to witness. The epic final battle scene alone is cetianly one to remember and kicks the crap out of anything Hollywood would have the balls to create. Though this is not to say it is merely a blood and guts movie, it has character and a powerful story to tell of friendship and sacrifice. If you are a fan of Jananese violence such as Battle Royale and Princess Blade this movie is sure to please. I certainly would recommend this to all lovers of Asian Cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Azumi: fast-paced assasin action, 9 Jun 2006
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
Do not be put off by some people who judge this film too harshly against the likes of Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon and House of Flying Daggers. It has a completely different theme starting off with a Naked Weapon; kill your friend to take on the mission or simply die and then the mission itself is harsh but thought provoking when the assasins have to make their own judgements about how to succeed and at what costs to their consciences.

Aya Ueto (Azumi) plays the part well with precise, athletic movements, without the over-emphasized gasps and grunts which occur so often during swordplay and her emotions in the role are very convinving. However, she is overshadowed at times by the superb acting of Hiroki Narimaya (Hyuga).

Azumi boasts an in-depth plot, excellent fight scenes and a convincing set. Fantastic character development will find you sympathising with the tough choices made by the assasins and when you have finished watching you'll find your mind subconciously working out when you can find time to buy Azumi 2: Death or Love. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Female Samurai Assassins are not to be mess with, 27 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
Azumi is a nice action flick with a B-movie feel to it. Yeah, it gets boring in some parts, but it delivers kick a.. action, a beautiful lead and samurai swordfights, which are always welcomed and fun was amused by the story. Nothing too simple, nothing too terribly difficult. Pretty straight forward plot. (Read the synopsis on the main page). It was enough to keep me entertained and, in these kind of movies, if the plot doesn't hold up, the action will keep you in you're seats.

This movie was full of hordes of baddies, charging at Azumi and her counterparts, while she kills as many as one can count. It is said that "Hard Boiled" carries the award for most on-screen deaths. Nope. That award goes to this title. Many people die, so if you're planning to show this to your significant other, think for a minute. It is a very graphic movie. Very much like the classic samurai movies you remember. Blood spray, dismemberments, and plenty of slices. The battles were choreographed quite well considering the size of them. But, was the lead actress up for them?....O yeah!

The actress who plays Azumi, Aya Ueto, who is also very beautiful, seemed kinda out of place. I do not, however, know anything about her past history. I can guess that she is new to this genre... The costume on her seemed out of place but very interesting. Others do quite well, and fit with the tone of the movie, especially Bijomaru (the white robed one). He made this movie even more for me.

Azumi, based, apparently, on a manga is just what you expect from an adaptation. Expect cooky characters, like the dog impersonator, and Bijomaru. Also expect that over-the-top violence. A very manga-esque movie. Kitamura, so far from the two movies I've seen (Versus), he doesn't fail to entertain. He does his job and I'm very grateful see it by all means. Thanks Sir Night for putting this out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film not to be compared with others, 28 Dec 2006
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen this film many times and wouldn't be writing a review if it wasn't for the fact that I feel the other reviews on this page do this film no justice.

The first thing that has got my back up is that some guy is trying to compare Azumi to Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. This is the most rediculous thing ever as there not even from the same Country, Azumi is Japanese, Crouching Tiger is Chinese and have a completely different style to each other.

Azumi is an excellent film, the characters are all well developed and realistically skillful with a sword, they aren't meant to have superpowers.

This film if anything is in the same vain as Versus, the first film to come from the same director. The fight scenes, if thats all your after are monumentally huge with the lead character taking on an absurd amount of people. Also its based on a comic, if I remember rightly so its supposed to be a little absurd in places.

This film is no pansy like Crouching Tiger which is basically martial arts mixed with ballet, so ignore anyone who tries to compare the two.

An excellent film worth watching over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitamura does it again, 8 July 2004
By 
Richard Dunbar (East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
From the director of acclaimed Zombie/Yakuza/etc.. film "Versus" comes Azumi, the story of a female samurai who along with a team of other samurai must defend honour.
If you liked the fight scenes in Versus, much the same in Azumi but the budget is higher and improved camera work make this work a lot better.
Also, most of the cast of Versus turn up again, although not in a bad way, its from brief cameos to major parts.
As i said vastly improved fight scenes when the excellent female Azumi takes on 100 men at once, will not spoil the ending but watch and enjoy.
I would recommend this to anyone who likes either Samurai films, Versus or any Manga (The movie is based on a manga).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very good film that you'll remember for a long time, 21 Mar 2005
This review is from: Azumi [DVD] (DVD)
This film is very entertaining. At last a Japanese film, that doesn't dissapoint or revert to over the top stupidity. It's filmed in a very watchable, and cinematic style, and all the fight scenes are done in the directors own particular style, and effectively the movie is a large hack and slash. However the film is full of interesting characters of which Azumi is just one. I did not feel the film evolved around her, but was something that she equally shared with all the other actors. The story of Azumi is very well done and quite compelling to watch as we follow the lives of a group of highly trained assassins as they set out for the first mission. Azumi doesn't get 5 stars for me - not that it's not good, it just slightly misses something. However it is definitely a film that grows on you, and you are definitely glad you watched it. Don't want to give much of the plot away. C it for yourselves - it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Azumi [DVD]
Azumi [DVD] by RyŻhei Kitamura (DVD - 2004)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews