Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coupling - Series 4 continues the comedy magic!
Before I start praising the series, I better tell you that Jeff, the zany, hapless one has elected to leave the show in order to embark on other projects. You might say that it is a miracle we still got Series 4, because writer, Steven Moffat said that he almost axed the series, but luckily, he's produced another fine six episodes, so I think that people should be...
Published on 10 July 2004 by Ben

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still funny.....but no matter what, it was always going to suffer
Imagine taking Joey out of Friends. Imagine taking the Cat out of Red Dwarf. Imagine removing Baldrick from Blackadder's side. What if there was no Barney in How I Met Your Mother, no GOB in Arrested Development or if Green Wing was lacking Dr. Alan Statham. Such occurances would by no means spell the end of a show (probably for commercial reasons), but they should...
Published on 8 July 2009 by M. Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still funny.....but no matter what, it was always going to suffer, 8 July 2009
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Imagine taking Joey out of Friends. Imagine taking the Cat out of Red Dwarf. Imagine removing Baldrick from Blackadder's side. What if there was no Barney in How I Met Your Mother, no GOB in Arrested Development or if Green Wing was lacking Dr. Alan Statham. Such occurances would by no means spell the end of a show (probably for commercial reasons), but they should. Ensemble comedy is exactly that. There are several cogs, and they are all integral. Yeah the show can go on, but it won't be quite as good.

The same can be said of Coupling Season 4. No Jeff means less laughs. Not necessarily because Oliver, try as he might, is any less technically funny, but because over three previous seasons we've grown to love and appreciate everything that Jeff did and said. Would the show be the same if Patrick or Steve had left? No, it would have suffered greatly. The same for the characters of Susan, Jane and Sally.

The trouble with this season is that it's different. The emptiness left by Richard Coyle's departure is felt all the more keenly precisely because Oliver is basically superfluous. We already had a witty, nervous, wreck of a man in Steve,, and the sheer bizarre audacity of some of Jeff's comedy is sorely lacking.

Moffat's writing is still sharp as ever, and the rest of the cast are on form as always. The feel is the same, the tone identical. But the dynamic has changed, and not for the better. Unavoidable perhaps, but lamentable all the same.

Give it a try. There are still some very funny laugh-out-loud moments, and the character development of the old core five is excellent. But there is definitely something lacking. And his name is Jeff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Luke warm, 4 May 2005
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 4 of Coupling falls far short of the brilliance of the previous three series. It seems that Steve Moffat may just be getting tired and this reflects in the script which seems almost like a cut and paste job of each characters often formulaic reactions to the world around them. Steves melodramamatic tenancies where in previous series were very affective (cushion arguement/we are men speech) now seem pretty forced. Sally seems to be rehashing all her old lines from the previous series, and are certainly now starting to run a little thin. Jane seems to be a little less crazy and slightly more charming in this series which is great however it would seem like a pretty unbeleivable change in character has taken place since we saw her last.
There are also no episodes that show great originality such as the one where Jeff spent a whole episode missunderstanding, and in turn being missunderstood by an attractive Hebrew speaking lady. On that note the absence of Jeff in this series is one of the bigger blows I felt, although his absence alone cannot be accountable for the shows shortcomings in general this time round.
In the first few series you really got to know and care for the characters, but it seems series four does a good job of undoing these ties. A few good episodes aside, quite dissapointing, although if there are any veterans of the previous series I'm sure it will be a tempting buy if only to see what your old mates have been up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad anticlimax, 24 May 2005
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The first three series of Coupling were exquisite. As others here have said, this one has its moments (although I'm trying hard to think of one as I write) but generally comes nowhere near the same standard. We miss Jeff, of course - he's as inspired a comic creation as Baldrick or Captain Mainwaring - but his absence is not the real problem. That is Oliver, who is an idiot and a badly-written idiot too.
The early series work so well because we sense the mutual warmth and the shared history between the characters; Oliver has no part in that and we get no impression that the others feel anything for him at all, yet there he is, trying to join in as Jeff used to. Good comedy - think Dad's Army, Frasier, Steptoe - is all about characters and this character simply doesn't belong. He's the man with the accordion, trying to play along with a string quintet and it jars every time he appears. I hope there'll be no more Coupling, and nothing more to spoil the magic of the early series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The fourth series, 30 Oct 2005
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The first 3 series of coupling where in all exellent very origional british comedy at its best. Unfortunatly the fourth series is a real let down. With the absence of the best character by far jeff and the addition of the very irratating oliver leading to a real borefest. In short just pretend this series was never made and enjoy the other 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it!, 12 Mar 2006
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Save yourself the let down. I adored the first three series and watch them often on DVD but the fourth series is really not in the same class. The absence of Jeff is a major body blow. Save your money and don't let this series spoil the first three all of which I recommend without hesitation as being witty and clever. One can only wish that Steve Moffat had learnt from John Cleese who only ever produced twelve "Fawlty Towers" and quit while he was ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coupling - Series 4 continues the comedy magic!, 10 July 2004
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Before I start praising the series, I better tell you that Jeff, the zany, hapless one has elected to leave the show in order to embark on other projects. You might say that it is a miracle we still got Series 4, because writer, Steven Moffat said that he almost axed the series, but luckily, he's produced another fine six episodes, so I think that people should be grateful we got any...
I think this series however does have a different feel to it, it's darker, cleverer, the plots are thicker. I know people blame the show's so-called murderer, Oliver, Jeff's replacement but I, alone maybe, found him very funny and in a way as good as Jeff because it was a new character to explore, get to know, develope. Jeff was great, but it is nice to have a new face to laugh at.
The episodes are on the whole fantastic, I especially liked 'Night Lines' and '9 and a half months', where Susan gives birth. A wonderful series that deserves more than it is getting, if people want to watch Jeff, play the earlier DVD's but true fans who believe in comic evolution shall enjoy this series no end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No Jeff? No point!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Overall I love Coupling. We've had series 1-3 for some time but recently I finally got around to ordering this final series when I saw it at a low price. I'd never watched this far when it was on TV, so beyond knowing that there's a baby on the way I didn't know what to expect and I was really looking forward to six more episodes of hilarity.
I'm glad I have it for the sake of completeness but really?! No JEFF? I feel bereft - this series I've waited so long to finally see is seriously lacking. I'd had no idea that Richard Coyle had basically decided he didn't want to typecast himself, so he left before series 4 was filmed (according to imdb anyway) - we watched the whole series expecting him to reappear.
There are a few good parts, the bond between the main five characters is still entertaining and there's some heartwarming moments too, but really it is just not the same. Oliver, who is clearly a replacement for the overexcitable, clumsy Jeff, is funny sometimes but more often just irritating because he's trying but failing to be "the new Jeff". Don't even get me started on the ridiculous fake appearance of "Jeffina" in the final episode.

It's such a shame for a brilliant show to go so suddenly downhill. A total anticlimax after the wonderful other series - I really wish they hadn't bothered, but now I can't unsee it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coupling so funny, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Very very funny. Thoroughly recommended. Love sexy Susan and Jane and jeff is a funny guy. You will love all the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious.., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The last season of Coupling.. Brilliant plots, great humour throughout as the group of friends wrap up their journey together.. Timeless comedy. A complete bargain dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as first three series, 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Coupling seems to have lost a bit of momentum in this fourth and final series. Not as good or funny but still worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD]
Coupling: Complete Series 4 [DVD] by Jack Davenport (DVD - 2004)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews