Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the book much more than this film.
I thought the film rather "bitty" and not worthy of the subject. It left far to much to the imagination and failed to
give sufficient emphasis to the piety and virtue of Bonhoeffer and for the most part similarly failed to convey the tensions under which this man lived. All in all, rather disappointing I thought.
Published 18 months ago by charles w roberts

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD
The biography is better. This DVD leaves out alot of key facts about Bonhoeffer. The DVD Sophie Scholl is better to understand the times of Nazi Germany.
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Kevin J. Bidwell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the book much more than this film., 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I thought the film rather "bitty" and not worthy of the subject. It left far to much to the imagination and failed to
give sufficient emphasis to the piety and virtue of Bonhoeffer and for the most part similarly failed to convey the tensions under which this man lived. All in all, rather disappointing I thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Kevin J. Bidwell "Kevin B" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The biography is better. This DVD leaves out alot of key facts about Bonhoeffer. The DVD Sophie Scholl is better to understand the times of Nazi Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars modern history essential, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
fine account of one man's sacrificial moral courage in standing up to evil of Nazism taking the stance that if he did not identify with his homeland in the worst
of times, he would have no right to play any part in the rebuilding
A lesson for our times. Well- acted, not over-stated or overdone.Powerful historical
docu-drama - highly recommended+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good film but only shows his life - reflects very little of his teachings, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I was dissapointed that the director took the easy way out and just depicted the facts of his life without any real attempt at leaving us with a flavour of his teachings. He does give you an overview of WHY Bonhoeffer did what he did, but his legacy was his teaching, and this has been completely ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and enlightening, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This gentle and illuminating dvd is worth watching many times. It reveals many of the the hidden aspects of the fight against Nazism and the German' risk takers 'who put themselves in the firing line for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just about ok, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I FOUND IT SLOW AND NOT VERY INTERESTING
FROM THE BEGINNING YOU KNEW THE OUT COME AND AT TIMES FELT IT WAS TOO OBVIOUS
I HAVE SINCE GIVEN THE DVD AWAY TO SOMEONE ELSE.ITS ONE OF THOSE FILMS THAT I FELT I WOULD NOT NEED TO WATCH AGAIN.HOWEVER, AS IT WAS A TRUE STORY WHAT A FAITH HE HAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000]
Bonhoeffer:Agent Of Grace [DVD] [2000] by Ulrich Tukur (DVD - 2010)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews