Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully Inspiring.
Unlike Verdi's earlier successes, Nabucco and I Lombardi, both of which had been composed for the large stage at La Scala, Milan, Ernani was written for the smaller stage and more intimate atmosphere of Teatro La Fenice, Venice and he was in his thirty third year when it was composed. This recording is superb in every way. The singers, led by Placido Domingo as Ernani and...
Published on 15 May 2011 by H. A. Weedon

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible!
I purchased this DVD from Movie Mars.Inc.

When I inserted it into my DVD player the following appeared on my TV screen:

'The disc may not be played in your region'

Why did the company send me the wrong DVD? Can I obtain the correct DVD of this opera?
Published on 3 April 2011 by david


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully Inspiring., 15 May 2011
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike Verdi's earlier successes, Nabucco and I Lombardi, both of which had been composed for the large stage at La Scala, Milan, Ernani was written for the smaller stage and more intimate atmosphere of Teatro La Fenice, Venice and he was in his thirty third year when it was composed. This recording is superb in every way. The singers, led by Placido Domingo as Ernani and Mirella Freni as Donna Elvira, entertain us with bravura performances and it's a joy to listen to and watch from beginning to end.

Since this is one of Verdi's lesser known and less performed operas, which deserves to be better known, La Scala is to be complimented on staging such a watchable and inspiring performance. This opera concentrates on personal conflict controlling a sequence of actions bringing the characters into vivid confrontation and this superb production causes one to wonder why more people don't delight in watching and listening to operatic performances. Here we become aware of how the young Verdi was launching himself on a career that would see him develop into arguably the greatest operatic composer of all time. I thoroughly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lesser known Verdi well worth a look, 8 Feb 2005
By 
C. Macdonald (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite being a Verdi fan, this was an unknown opera for me and I'm glad I have now discovered it, it's a real gem. If you like operas like Rigoletto, Traviata, Carmen etc you'll love this too. Score is great, with some fabulous duets and trio arias. In true La Scala style it is a visual treat too with stunning sets and colourful costumes. Domingo and Freni are fabulous together. If you don't know Ernani, then get to know it, you won't regret it. If you do know it, I'm sure you'll love this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass in Verdi Singing, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Oh my god you have to get this DVD. I have had it on Video for some years now and keep putting it on once every month or so! Hence i now need to go and buy the DVD, cause its a bit worn out. I know obsessive! But the singing is first rate! Domingo Freni Bruson and Ghiaurov in one production! It does not get any better than that. I thoroughly recommend it! If you don't know Ernani, you will love getting to know him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This opera is full of wonderful melodies throughout.
The visual effect(scenery) in this production is very pleasing and just right for this work.
And above all a really thrilling performance by the four principals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. G. J. Fisher (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AS EXPECTED A SILLY STORYLINE, BUT TERRIFIC MUSIC. Excellent cast, good production. Probably the best available dvd of this opera.

J Fisher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ernani, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of Verdi's earlier operas. This pefromance is wonderful. It has to be adnitted as otehr reviewers have pointed out that the plot is dreadful. One really buys this to enjoy the singing but ignore the plot. The cast is first rate and La Scala have staged it very well indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent performances from ALL the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ernani met een geweldige cast, 28 Sep 2009
By 
A. T. G. Zijl "drs. Fons van Zijl" (edam/Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
De Ernani waarover in dit artikel gesproken wordt is een toneelopname uit het jaar 1982. De zangers die in deze productie acteren en zingen staan op het hoogtepunt van hun kunnen. Ze excelleren in de overbekende aria's maar zijn ook bijzonder op dreef in de ensembles. Het is een productie vanuit de Scala met als dirigent R. Muti. Het echtpaar Freni-Ghiaurov vertolkt indeze het echtpaar da Silva. Freni is, zoals altijd, uitstekend en Ghiaurov is de tegenspeler van Bruson en Domingo. Onwrikbaar in zijn betoog, ruig van stem met een kleine dissonant ten aanzien van de grote aria met cabaletta: 'Che mai veggio' Het is jammer dat de prachtige stem al spoedig slijtage vertoonde. R. Bruson is bijzonder goed op dreef, prachtige legatobogen, zoals wij van hem gewend zijn. Als acteur steekt hij met kop en schouders boven de anderen uit, het is een subjectieve opmerking, maar een die onderschreven wordt door meerdere operaliefhebbers. Het koor zingt met verve en het orkest voegt zich uitstekend naar de intenties van de dirigent.
Drs. Fons van Zijl Holland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible!, 3 April 2011
This review is from: Ernani [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD from Movie Mars.Inc.

When I inserted it into my DVD player the following appeared on my TV screen:

'The disc may not be played in your region'

Why did the company send me the wrong DVD? Can I obtain the correct DVD of this opera?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ernani, 22 Nov 2005
By A Customer
i do agree this is a fantastic opero not performed much.i have a performance with Pavaroti & Rugerro raimondi.on d.v.d. in my view a much better performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ernani [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Ernani [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Preben Montel (DVD - 2004)
£11.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews