Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best one for adult beginners!
I offered my mother this DVD for her B-day(she turned 54)because she is a ballet lover and she had never had the chance to practise it as a sport. She loved it!Now she practises at home, once or twice a week and she is trully happy. I found it very useful for people who do not have the basic ballet vocabulary. The teacher explains each move/Step/position very carefully...
Published on 22 Jan 2009 by Rita Luis

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I didn't like this DVD. I expected it to be a proper ballet class with a teacher showing the steps and the students in the class following, and the steps flowing from one to the next. Instead it had a teacher talking about a step and then showed one student demonstrating the step, and then the teacher talking again, and so on. It did not flow. I couldn't believe that...
Published on 6 Aug 2011 by Book fiend


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best one for adult beginners!, 22 Jan 2009
By 
Rita Luis (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
I offered my mother this DVD for her B-day(she turned 54)because she is a ballet lover and she had never had the chance to practise it as a sport. She loved it!Now she practises at home, once or twice a week and she is trully happy. I found it very useful for people who do not have the basic ballet vocabulary. The teacher explains each move/Step/position very carefully and on a simple way, so it is definitely not hard to follow. Hope you enjoy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most for your money, 2 July 2009
By 
E. Kuijer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
After viewing, I was surprised to find out that this DVD was originally produced in 1986. It's, without question, the best visual aid help you'll get in starting your classical ballet journey. Although there are a few steps omitted (it would be great if Howard discussed selection of ballet shoes, attire, frequency of practice, levels of dedication, purchasing a barre for home, among others) and the fact that the video could be brought into the new millennium (it could be a lot more polished with playback in slow motion with some moves, filming at different angles with greater frequency) it's still the most excellent source of truly helpful fundamentals I've come across yet.

If you want classical ballet basics in their most illustrated form, this is your product, you won't regret purchasing it. Combined with a good book that gives more detailed insights into classical ballet, you won't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 19 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent instructional dvd. It tells you all the correct names and shows you a fair bit without being patronising or focusing on breathing for 10 minutes like other videos. It is a little hard but therefore you get your money's worth you can watch it many times without getting bored.

Very Small negative points
On the video, the exercises are named one step ahead of the exercise.
The dancer doesn't put her heels together in first, they are a good inch or two apart with her right leg slightly infront, but I don't know why because she has not got massive muscley legs. David points it out to put your heels together at the exact time that she doesn't!
He doesn't explain terms like en dehors, en devant and en croix until later on in the video and some he doesn't explain at all. The video is quite hard, but that is why it is good, you can pick it up after watching it lots. However, you may never actually learn what these terms mean.
On the battement glissé she doesn't go into demi plie straight away, she pauses and transfers her weight making it a bit awkward with the timing.
When it gets to the centre work plie is spelt plier!
She is a bit wobbly when she relevés
He always looks sideways with his eyes!!! haha
On the spotting he says 'notice how the head is working in opposition to the body, she is turning to the right'. This does NOT mean that the head turns to the left!!! haha, that would be impossible, the head just focuses on one spot for as long as possible and then whips round.
It might just be my computer, but I can't skip to the middle if a chapter.

Positive points
Grand battement is exactly the same as intermediate r.a.d. ballet. Many of these exercises stay the same throughout and are still used by professionals.
The centre work is amazing, this is usually lacking instructional videos.
It is easy too follow. You can see her entire body and feet clearly.
There is so much to learn, you really get lots for your money and the video will last a long time. It can even be used as a practise video once you are better to learn the correct names and as many of the barre exercises don't change.

Buy it if you actually want a challenge and want to learn more than the first few lessons of ballet! The centre work IS hard but you can watch it as many times as you want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet for everyone, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
5 minutes exercise and you feel you have just done 1 hour. Very good. :) It worths its price. A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 6 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't like this DVD. I expected it to be a proper ballet class with a teacher showing the steps and the students in the class following, and the steps flowing from one to the next. Instead it had a teacher talking about a step and then showed one student demonstrating the step, and then the teacher talking again, and so on. It did not flow. I couldn't believe that that was all there was on the DVD. I thought there must be a proper class or something else on there. I suppose you could use it to learn the steps and then move onto something else but I wouldn't watch it again. I would have liked to see more dancers than just 'Alison'. Also it looked very old-fashioned and the production was bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
This is great for beginners that attend ballet class regularly. The only criticism I have is that it could be more descriptive and use longer routines for the both right and left. Otherwise this is an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not only for beginners -, 30 Aug 2014
By 
Image (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
Not only for beginners - the best DVD out there. David's particular style of multi-level teaching means it is applicable across quite a wide range of levels. I prefer it to the next (intermediate) - and often recommend to students and adults with or without previous training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful in parts, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
Some of the basics very good - explanations of feet and arm positions, although the demonstrating dancer should have her heels together in 1st, as explained in the commentary. Other parts not for real beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and to the point, 7 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
My only criticism of this DVD is its brevity. Would have liked slightly longer to develop my practice of all the steps.
I like the clear explanations and demonstrations and intend to use this as part of a fitness regime at home. As an adult novice looking for something to guide me with the exercises I would recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet DVD for beginners, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very clear, step by step guide to all the ballet exercises and moves. It would be a useful practise exercise dvd for someone learning ballet or an absolute beginner. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD]
Ballet Class for Beginners [DVD] by Lee Kraft (DVD - 2008)
9.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews