Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBUM OF THE YEAR SO FAR
I got this record on the strength of the 2 singles i had heard, but nothing about them prepared me for how great this album would be.I have bought every major guitarband's release this year, Franz Ferdinand, Snow Patrol, Razorlight etc and enjoyed all of them, it is indeeda good time for good guitar music.
However the Ordinary boys album blows them all away, the...
Published on 8 July 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very ordinary
Goodness me! This CD is awful. The lead vocals are flat, just listen to the opening lines of track 8 (and often pretentious - how many of its target audience know what cathartic means, I wonder); the guitar is... shall I be kind and say amateurish; the rest of the band hardly make a contribution - a beat box would have been better. When the band join in the chorus it's...
Published on 7 Aug 2009 by Robert Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBUM OF THE YEAR SO FAR, 8 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Over the Counter Culture (Audio CD)
I got this record on the strength of the 2 singles i had heard, but nothing about them prepared me for how great this album would be.I have bought every major guitarband's release this year, Franz Ferdinand, Snow Patrol, Razorlight etc and enjoyed all of them, it is indeeda good time for good guitar music.
However the Ordinary boys album blows them all away, the opening and title track is a classic with it's motown brass and cutting lyrics.This band have something to say unlike most bands who prefer bland ambigious lyrics, i love 'Just a song', with the line this is not cathartic this is just a song.
Other stand out songs are Seaside and weekend revolution.
buy this if you want your live seriously enriched by something exciting.Not a dinner party record more a smash the house up kind!IMPRESSED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noisy boys..., 4 Jan 2005
This review is from: Over the Counter Culture (Audio CD)
I bought this one on the strength of hearing the single 'Week in Week out' - reminded me of 'time for heroes' by the Libertines but with their own distinctive sound - nice to hear some 'English' vocals again, bringing the Jam to mind. Apart from all of this the OBs do stand out as a band with a little bit of character and attitude in a time of identikit guitar bands. The production could do to be a bit more raw in my opinion...whatever, this will get you out of your seat and get you going...easily worth the money.
Enjoy, love, Neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello? Are you listening?, 26 July 2004
Well I dont get it. The reviews for this seem to err on the side of "it aint that good" but it really is!!!
I guess it illustrates the diverse nature of the Amazon reviewer or maybe it illustrates the level of intelligence of the average NME reader!! but it seems to me that the people who bought this following the hype in the press have been dissapointed, those that bought it following watching them and their performances at the festivals this summer are over the moon that something so vibrant and catchy has come out of the british scene this year..
Personally, Im a little biased. I loved their performances but if I tell you that the first time I listed to this CD, I had just jumped on my Vespa, put on my parker and was having a nice ride down to bournemouth.. you'll know what I mean..
This is a great CD, give it a chance....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FAR FROM ORDINARY!!, 4 Jan 2005
By A Customer
There's not much about today's music scene that gets me excited, but next to the indie northern soul of Rinaldi Sings, The Ordinary Boys are the only other band worth bothering about. With their driving pop tunes and flashes of Motown brass, the Ordinary Boys will be around for some time yet - and this album will be played for years to come. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can really feel the energy, 7 Dec 2005
I took to this album straight away because of its raw energy and emotion - it reminded me of a lot of new wave bands in the late 70's ( even echoing In The City by The Jam in places, although not quite hitting that very high standard). A very good debut and I look forward to hearing 'Brassbound'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE ALBUM, 24 April 2006
Im writing to disagree with a previous reviewer i have both of TOB albums and Over the Counter Culture is definatly the better of the two,although i like Brassbound i found it a lackluster attempt after their amazing debut,Over the Counter Culture is an amazing album,every time i listen to it a different song becomes my favourite even after listening to it for months it never fails to cheer me up,best tracks have to be In Awe of the Awful and Seaside so BUY IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic debut, 13 July 2004
By A Customer
These cockney non-conformist opinionated indie rockers are pure class.
Even if you disregard the utter coolness of the band the album has so many ideosyncratic qualities that will set it out as a classic (i hope).
The album consists of 12 songs, the only weak one being Settle down, which is mediocre in comparison with the good songs. The opener 'Over the counter culture' is a great song, made even better by a super sexy trumpet solo at the end of the song. I love the cover of the specials 'Little bitch' suitably rocked up whilst remaining nicley odd. Songs such as 'Weekend Revolution' and 'Seaside' are also worth special mentions as fabulous tracks, and i havnt even mentioned any of the 3 singles which are also excellent, even if the album versions are not as good as earlier recordings.
Such a unique album and well polished for a new band is rare and this is definatly one of the best releases of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very ordinary, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Robert Thomas "Buléon" (Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Counter Culture (Audio CD)
Goodness me! This CD is awful. The lead vocals are flat, just listen to the opening lines of track 8 (and often pretentious - how many of its target audience know what cathartic means, I wonder); the guitar is... shall I be kind and say amateurish; the rest of the band hardly make a contribution - a beat box would have been better. When the band join in the chorus it's like listening to English Cricket's Barmy Army - but at least they're entertaining. The one saving grace of this CD is that it is short. If this mediocre dross is what BritPop turned into, then something went seriously wrong somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys done good, 17 July 2004
By 
T. Webb "timwebb25" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over the Counter Culture (Audio CD)
This is possibly one of the albums of the year from the little known Sussex lads. If you missed their set at Glastonbury catch them at another festival. Anyone who is a fan of guitar based music needs to have this album in their collection, now! It is a mixture of excellent, fresh lyrics coupled with some inspired guitar riffs and drum beats. Front man Preston's voice is very distinctive and you will not be able to get it out of your head after only one listen to this. An excellent album, order it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maximum rating for the title track alone!, 26 Jun 2006
I have to agree with many views here: "Brassbound" is the inferior album. Too streamlined. Tame in comparism. Which is all the more obvious when Lady Sovereign brings grit to the 2005/6 O.B. sound in her single features on "Girls will be girls" and "9 to 5". But it has all been there in the first place: the righteous anger, the sharpest of horn sections, the pressure. What's beyond me though is the neglectance of "Over the counter culture" - the song! To me the ultimate sociocritical glory boy anthem since "In the City" (The Jam) or Secret Affairs "My World". Beats me why this never was a single. The rest is class material, but one step below.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over the Counter Culture
Over the Counter Culture by The Ordinary Boys (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews