Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2004
To make it clear to everybody: These are not movies. It is about 4+ hours (not 5, as it says on the pack) of supplemental material, something you might otherwise find in the "bonus material" of a DVD edition. Alas, the actual Marx Bros. movies that have been published so far as a DVD box (one in region 2, another one only in region 1 so far) contain hardly any bonus material, and so, at extra cost, you get what's missing in those boxes. It is not high art but it could be worse. In any case, it is material that might be hard to find anywhere else, and it provides some insight into the work of the Marx Brothers – individually or as a group – beyond the movies. If you don't expect too much, this box is a great supplement – no more, no less.
What annoyed me most about the material is that most of it contains a "Marx Brothers Collection" logo in the bottom right corner. While this might be meant to deter illegal copies, more subtle methods are certainly available these days. After all, it used to be one of the advantages of watching a DVD that you don't have to deal with those annoying logos that many TV networks use to deter bootlegging.
0Comment|294 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 March 2007
At its current Amazon price (£[...]) this is an absolute steal and well worth getting. On six DVD's you get two of their best ever films "A Night At The Opera" and "A Day at the Races" plus another four which whilst not as good still have some great moments.

In A Night at the Opera and A Day at the Races Grouchos' funny lines come out in a non-stop stream and they are endlessly quoteable:

"Mrs. Claypool: Are you sure you have everything, Otis?
Otis B. Driftwood: Well, I haven't had any complaints yet."
(remember this was made in 1935 and to get this past the censors was quite an achievement)

"Dr. Hackenbush: Emily, I have a confession to make. I really am a horse doctor. But marry me, and I'll never look at another horse."

The extras are pretty good, the best being a chance to see a rare interview with Groucho Marx in January 1961. There are a number of extra short films, commentaries and even some looney tunes cartoons.

Absolutely brilliant!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2004
I've already commented on US Amazon about this.
I'd just like to say if you have a multi - region player (repeat, IF YOU HAVE A MULTI - REGION PLAYER!!!) Then do what I did and buy the US edition instead.
A lot cheaper and you get 'Room Service' as well which has curiously been chopped for this UK set...
Still a great set though...
0Comment|76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2007
This boxset contains 5 wonderful Marx Brothers films. The picture quality & sound on all of them is superb. If, like me, you are a Marx Bros. fan, then this really is a fantastic set of films to own. It is difficult for me to choose a favourite from the 5 movies here, simply because they are all hilarious & the quality of the jokes & gags is incomparable.

Worth mentioning are the extra features, which are excellent because they are on all 5 movies. For example, on "Day at the races", there are 3 cartoons with a horse theme. I enjoyed these, & I found myself laughing almost as much as when I was watching the actual movies. Other non cartoon extras include short films involving a couple whose trip to the cinema becomes a chaotic mess !!

Highlight : In " At the Circus", watch Chico & Harpo try their best to find stolen money on a train in the strongman's cabin. ( With the Strongman ASLEEP IN THE SAME ROOM !!). Sublimely funny !!

A very complete package which is VERY good value. Get it !!!
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
I ordered this box set after having read the good reviews on Amazon.uk and Amazon.de, but without knowing exactly what I would get. Well, what I got is simply marvellous. In the new movies the humor is often so forced and unnatural that it's no more funny, but rather painful. That's not the case with this box set, or at least not in "Go West", the only movie of the set I have already watched. The quality of the image is good, the music is good, only the description at the site of Amazon.uk is a shame. You are just told that these films are in English, and that's all. But most of them are in several languages (according to what is said at the cover, in English and in Italian some of them also in French). All the films have English subtitles. That's an important detail for persons who have problems with the ears and for those, like me, whose native tongue is not English. The subtitles are optional. The price (less then £ 20) is really fair.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2009
Get this, plus the recent 8-disc black Universal boxset (which I had to order all the way from Canada!, and recieved, and reviewed, and loved), and you'll be all set. You'll have everything, plus lots of extras. Like the Amazon logo says, "then you're done!", or something like that.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Why a Duck? Why not! The Marx Brothers were such a timeless delight and it's such a thrill to have these marvellous movies all in one bundle. DVD is really so great for collectors, being able to have whole television series, or as in this having several movies in the group. This one is loaded with Groucho, Harpo and Chico.
This set (and I presume there will be a second set!) has seven of their films. I loved the lesser favourite of "A Night in Casablanca" - the packing suitcase scene with Harpo is a riot! "A Day at the Race" with Groucho as Hugo Hackenbush is full of charm and the brothers horse around. "At the Circus" is another gem with poor Margaret Dumont running in circles "keeping up appearances" and of course, you cannot forget Groucho's rendition of Lydia the Tattooed Lady. And in "The Big Store" I love Harpo's climbing through the top of the elevation in the big store and finding the harp to play Liszt! There are just so many fun moments it's hard to list them all.
So if you're a Marx Brothers' fan, you must get this super collection and this wonderful price.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2004
The Marx Brothers are absurdist, time-less, and very funny. This box set contains all their MGM stuff, including perhaps there most famous - Opera and Races. Most of their later ones are also worth a look. I'm a particular fan of The Big Store - it was the first one I saw as a child (on TV - I'm not that old). The extras are interesting too: some commentaries, new documentaries, and some cartoons and shorts from the period. Most purists prefer the Paramount films, which I think are absoultey fantastic, but there's enough joy, fun and nonsense wordplay here to keep you all warm inside for a very long time. There is no sanity clause.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2004
dear marx brothers fan. this dvd is brilliant, you dont have to wait until the region 2 comes out it played on my dvd player right away.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
Brilliant collection of classic Marx Bros, but at a very large price (was much less) and tackily packaged like a comic book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)