Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brigitte Bardot
Ah Brigitte Bardot my Idol since I was 15 yr old trying to get DVD of The day the rains come down another of her films also La Verity . regards Nina Piper
Published 6 months ago by johnthebod

versus
16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yesterdays sex sensation, todays mediocre film
I have just seen this film for the first time and therefore do not bring any lingering nostalgia in assessing it.
One can easily see the effect Brigitte Bardot had fifty years ago, she certainly exudes sex appeal and displays as much of her gorgeous body as was allowed at the time. However the drama calls for at least some explicit scenes to create the correct...
Published on 23 Jan 2006 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brigitte Bardot, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Ah Brigitte Bardot my Idol since I was 15 yr old trying to get DVD of The day the rains come down another of her films also La Verity . regards Nina Piper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva La Barbot!, 19 Aug 2013
By 
D. Rogers "it'er" (berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Classic! Wish there was an English version, though for Bardot reading the sub-titles is a pleasure. The male side of me would also love to see some out-takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prequel to the sixties and modern feminism, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
Of course this film was made many years ago in a world that no longer exists. The story is mundane- small town girl with unusual energy and sense of self is pursued by two men and pursues a third who is unobtainable to her.
It's in the genre of Rebel Without a Cause, The Wild One perhaps. A teen rebellion against the stulted moral and social values of the post war decade.
What makes this an important film is what Roger Vadim sees in the young Bardot and how he lets that express on screen.
She is a new vision of emanicipated female sexuality. This is the theme. This is what creates the desire in the men who want to posses her and what made the film such a hit worldwide launchng the unknown actress as an international star and more importantly sex symbol.The term was coined for her.
She is physically quite perfect, though we do not see quite as much of her as we think we have.
We do see a lot of her bare feet, however. Many shots of her kicking off her shoes and walking around, or dancing barefoot. This is the central metaphor for her sexual freedom, for her innocent animal sensuality, for her rebellion.
The fact that she is quite a young girl being pursued by these older men might, in our confused, puritanical times, be seen as suspect and dubious. Vadim was considerably older than she and was well known to be her lover; a svengali type personality who was a tad predatory.
The scenery of the Cote D'Azure is beatiful without a high rise hotel in sight, and strangely land developement does feature in the plot.
There is much more to this film than a trite love triangle or a shaggy blonde beauty queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Her Ass Is Like a Song', 18 Sep 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
So says one dirty old man on the bus as they approach the young nymphet that was - and here, is Bridgette Bardot. It's taken me a long time to come across Bardot in any shape or (perfect) form, after many years of watching French cinema. It was shown on the French satellite movie channel, Cinemoi.

Yes, she is supremely voluptuous and every randy bloke's dream, which kind of says a great deal about the chauvinistic era in which it was made - and set. This, thankfully, dates the film badly and if this is all there is to it, then it really is a museum piece. So, does it have any lasting merit, today?

Well, it's colourfully shot in St Tropez, which can be no bad thing and apparently significantly helped the resort become the fashionably popular place it is today. Is there a story? Well, it's hard to believe that possibly the world's sexiest woman is supposedly about to be returned to an orphanage, by her disapproving foster mother and so, feels forced to accept a marriage proposal to prevent this.

There is certainly a light sense of carefree youthfulness about Bardot that is infectious - at least on us, if not for half the cast who all look a bit miserable. Must be the other strand of the story about ownership of a boatyard, which is about as boring as it sounds that's affecting them. Apart from seeming to own half of the fishing village, I find it hard to place the much older Curt Durgens and his seeming control over Juliette (Bardot).

So, it's good to look at, the story is trite and old fashioned but can Bardot act? Well, you wouldn't get away totally by saying that she cannot act - she does OK, but of course, being a pouting minx might just be what came natural to her!

Within the confines of acute censorship back a whole 56 years ago, it's as suggestive as it probably can be and at least there's an attempt to provide a tangible story in which to support Bardot being in effect, shown off to the world by her then director-husband. It launched both her and St Tropez and understandably, for those that grew up with the film, it will have special memories. For the rest of us, it's a pleasing and pretty curiosity that's not actually as bad as it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Great item, securely packaged and speedily delivered. Very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And God Created Woman, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
This is an old film but well made for it's age and was enjoyed by both my husband and I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brigitte as Brigitte, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Anthony Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
What can i say..this film is my all time favourite movie..not a great story line..Brigitte Bardot..vitually plays herself..HER BEST FILM..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yesterdays sex sensation, todays mediocre film, 23 Jan 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
I have just seen this film for the first time and therefore do not bring any lingering nostalgia in assessing it.
One can easily see the effect Brigitte Bardot had fifty years ago, she certainly exudes sex appeal and displays as much of her gorgeous body as was allowed at the time. However the drama calls for at least some explicit scenes to create the correct frisson for todays audiences, and add to this a mediocre screen play and you have a historical curiosity.
Probably most suitable for Bardot fans and cinema historians, not the general film fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And God Created Woman DVD, 30 Oct 2010
This review is from: And God Created Woman [DVD] (DVD)
The delivery was very fast and the DVD had the cellphane wrapping intact and on my dvd player it played fine with no scratches etc.

All in all very satisfied with this seller and the product. Will buy from again

The film is a lovely story, Bardot is the epitome of a the flirty, french female, and the wardrobe styling has left me wanting a shirt-dress and skinny belt with pumps!

Picturesque locations, fine filming and surprise scenes. top recommended for Bardot and french cinema fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And God Created Woman [DVD]
And God Created Woman [DVD] by Roger Vadim (DVD - 2004)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews