Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark...very dark
This is a very good album, but don't expect it to be like the previous beach houses. It is much darker and deeper, some of the tracks wouldn't sound out of place on the deeper collections.
Published on 22 July 2004

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Beach House 04.04" Stays the Course
2004's "Beach House" offers more of what we expect from this Hed Kandi series: summery, often percussion heavy house. The best of these 24 unmixed tracks can be found on disc one, with delectable selections like Kaskade's "Safe," Nars & Emma's "I Wanna Know," and "Tell Me All About It" by Treena Rose. Miguel Migs, a DJ whose style of house fits perfectly into this...
Published on 1 Oct 2004 by Burjiz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark...very dark, 22 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Beach House 04.04 (Audio CD)
This is a very good album, but don't expect it to be like the previous beach houses. It is much darker and deeper, some of the tracks wouldn't sound out of place on the deeper collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice. Not as nice as volume 3., 22 July 2004
This review is from: Beach House 04.04 (Audio CD)
I don't think it's been mentioned yet, so to clarify, This is the 5th volume in Hed Kandi's Beach House series.
I bought this because it's Kandi and I can't help it. It's a great CD though - you can't expect them all to be as good as the best.
There are some interesting ones on this CD though. For example, Fatboy Slim's remix of the hugely popular Max Sedgley track 'Happy'. It's downright odd. Curious? You should be.
And ordinarily the sight of M-People on a track list would (heehee) be a black mark. But this is a Judge Hules remix. Wibble.
If you have the rest and you want more "soullful sundrenched summer listening" then it's a must buy. For a first forray, go for "Beach House 2" or "beach house 04.02" (volume 3) and if they hook you then you'll be back for more.
One small note of warning: gratuitous overuse of kandi regulars. If they weren't great, that'd be a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Beach House 04.04" Stays the Course, 1 Oct 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beach House 04.04 (Audio CD)
2004's "Beach House" offers more of what we expect from this Hed Kandi series: summery, often percussion heavy house. The best of these 24 unmixed tracks can be found on disc one, with delectable selections like Kaskade's "Safe," Nars & Emma's "I Wanna Know," and "Tell Me All About It" by Treena Rose. Miguel Migs, a DJ whose style of house fits perfectly into this compilation, is represented on "Do It For You." But disc 2 is where the magic nearly unravels. While a handful of the cuts on this disc may warrant a replay, it ultimately loses both a bit of steam and focus. It kicks off promisingly with Eric Kupper's sensual "Auora" and Peyton's "I Rise," one of the few house tracks on this set with a male vocal. But some other selections don't work, such as a flat cover of 808 State's "Pacific" and Max Sedgeley's "Happy," which isn't even house. Warts and all, though, "Beach House 04.04" is far from a misfire. The first disc is a winner, while the second disc is split between interesting jams and filler cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit n Miss, 19 July 2004
This review is from: Beach House 04.04 (Audio CD)
Every Hed Kandi CD released is always one i look forward to listening to, but i have to say this years kandi's have been slightly disappointing and the latest Beach House is no exception. I dont know if compiler Mark Doyle has lost his ear for a good tune or its a lack of good music around but this is easily the worst of the Beach House releases. CD 1 as always is probably slightly stronger with some good tracks by Miguel Migs,Kaskade,Late Night Alumni etc and CD 2 has the great Bonnie Bailey and Melena deliver a good track too and not forgetting DJ Chus's great latin flavoured track.The kandi cd's are getting more commercial which is a shame,they still have some gems on them but id love to hear a classic Beach house or Disco Kandi again but im having my doubts if i will. If you new to these cd's then give this one a miss and check out the excellent older beach houses or disco heaven/kandi cd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good but not outstanding, 28 July 2004
This review is from: Beach House 04.04 (Audio CD)
Hed Kandi have come up with the goods again with this summer's Beach House. As usual there is a great line up of funky tunes. 'Ever After' by Bonnie Bailey and the cool Eric Kupper Mix of 'Breather' by Afterlife really stand out. It is not however, the best Beach House offering though; that accolade still belongs to the outstanding Summer '02 CD. A great Summer soundtrack all the same though, well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Summer Listening, 19 July 2004
This review is from: Beach House 04.04 (Audio CD)
Yet another sublime collection of funky, laid back beats from the maestro Mark Doyle and Team Kandi. It's very rare to find a label such as Kandi that so consistently produces albums of this quality. Both discs are jam-packed with sexy latino beats and soft vocals, ideal listening for those sun soaked summer days. And the Remix of Moony's "This Is Your Life" is just stunning. If you're taking a trip to the white isle of Ibiza this year, you absolutely must have this album with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compilation Of The Year... AGAIN..., 19 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Beach House 04.04 (Audio CD)
I've not actually bought this yet (it WAS only released today) but there's no doubt I will. I am already familiar with most of the songs or artists on the album and, coupled with the Hed Kandi name itself, that's all I need to know. The label is incomparably fabulous and it releases many amazing albums every year but they really do surpass themselves with the Beach House release every summer time. Hidden gems, lost classics, rare remixes and up and coming talents in the dance music scene lend themselves to THE best compilation album year on year.
Unsurpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beach House 04.04
Beach House 04.04 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews