Customer Reviews


354 Reviews
5 star:
 (293)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Disney film, a little disappointed with bonus features
I bought Aladdin being a big fan of the Disney films and I was very pleased with the movie itself; Robin Williams is hilarious as the Genie, the story is good if not a bit too eccentric, the songs are wonderful and picture and sound quality are perfect.

However calling the DVD a 'Musical Masterpiece' edition is a bit of a marketing con. The only features are a...
Published on 24 Nov. 2008 by Mutian

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin - A Blu Ray Review
The release of Aladdin on Blu ray is warmly welcomed by all fans of the film but it has to be said the merciless gaze of Hi-Def does the film few favours.

The simple storyline of poor thief turned prince by a helpful genie is given a fun re-telling with a more modern heroine in the stroppy princess Jasmine & the introduction of a an evil vizier. For me it's...
Published on 10 May 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Disney film, a little disappointed with bonus features, 24 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Aladdin [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Aladdin being a big fan of the Disney films and I was very pleased with the movie itself; Robin Williams is hilarious as the Genie, the story is good if not a bit too eccentric, the songs are wonderful and picture and sound quality are perfect.

However calling the DVD a 'Musical Masterpiece' edition is a bit of a marketing con. The only features are a pamphlet like booklet with song lyrics and then there's an option to put the film on with song subtitles appearing.

I did buy the DVD just for the film so I really didn't mind the lack of decent extras too much, it's a good price for a very good movie but if you're an extras fan it may be worth trying to find the DVD that was released in 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film; beautifully restored, 12 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Aladdin is, in my opinion, the best of the traditional (as in cartoon musicals) Disney films from the 90s. The story is full of black humour and the genie is perfectly voiced by Robin Williams.
This DVD takes the original film and brings the image and sound quality bang up to date, compared to the original VHS I have I cannot believe they are the same film. The extras on disc 2 are more suited to children however for us grown ups there are plenty of interesting bits such as the commentary and the trivia subtitles which point you towards such features as Disney in-jokes and which characters are based on members of the team.
An excellent buy for both the young and young at heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Disney's, 21 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Aladdin is definitely one of the best disney films covering many different genres including, Good and evil, romance and comedy. Jafar portrays the classic evil disney character, powerful, ugly and out to stop the hero we love, Aladdin. Aladdin is a mischievious, good looking, street rat, who has to steal food to stay alive. He jumps and dodges out of the hands of the guards to the catchy music with his monkey friend. he gets his hands on a lamp which jafar so desperately wants, and of course the hugely funny genie played by Robin Williams appears, providing comedy for all ages he is what makes his film what it is. aladdin uses his three wishes to get closer to princess jasmine who has to be married by law in just a few days and he is desperately in love with. Jasmine is obviously beautiful, but i'm glad to say her personality breaks free from most stereotypes in Disney Films. she refuses to get married and wishes she lived a simple life, she sees in jafar what her father (sultan) can't see. the music is like most disney films catchy and beautifully sung, "a whole new world" is one of teh most well known isney songs for a reason. so with the romance of aladdin and jasmine, the comedy of genie and the character we all love to hate jafar Aladdin turns into one of the best disney films ever!!! this including the special features for the adults and the games for the kids provided on the 2nd disc means you have to buy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content and quality - shame about the adverts, 7 Dec. 2004
By 
A. L. Walker (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I need not repeat what the other reviews have said - the picture and sound quality is excellent, the film has to be one of the best original Disney films, etc.
The one thing I would complain about is that Disney seem to have found a way to make this DVD like many of their old VHS tapes, i.e. forcing you to watch trailers for other films before you get to the root menu on the DVD, like the copyright notices. And once you start the film, they show about 5 "so-and-so productions" trailers, which aren't in the chapter system of the actual film, i.e. you can't skip them either! It takes something in the order of 5 minutes to actually get to the film, whereas most DVDs are up and running inside of 30 seconds. A real pain when all you want to do is let a friend sing along to one of the songs.
Considering that one reason people prefer DVDs is the lack of adverts, this is a big disappointment, as this means no doubt that this trend will continue with all future Disney DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 3 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Well what can I say about this film except that it is an absolutely essential purchase if you even slightly enjoy animated films. This film was one of the last blockbusting animated musical comedies that disney is famous for. Featuring the superstar Robin Williams as the Genie, in one of his funniest roles, this loose adaptation of the classic Arabian fairy tale has everything you would need to brighten up your or your childrens day. Forgetting the abundant and insightful extras on the second dvd, all you will need is the spectacular animation, the hilarious jokes, the infectious songs and the funniest line in any song "he's got the monkeys! Let's see the monkeys!".
All I can do is urge you to buy it straight away. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tons of great special features, and great picture quality and sound!, 7 May 2014
By 
Andy Gilleand (Mishawaka, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Supposedly Aladdin is getting a Diamond Edition release eventually, but there isn't any official release date as of the date I'm writing this. However, I really don't think it's necessary to wait. The quality of this disc is top notch. Hours of behind the scenes material, and some other really cool special features from the DVD releases, including Deleted scenes/songs. It also has a cool sing-along mode, and this movie is the type of movie you're bound to want to sing along with, so that's a great feature. For those of you who are wanting to import this to the US, it will work fine because it's region free, and all content is mastered at refresh rates that work on US players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Genius, 14 July 2008
By 
G. Symonds "plymouth_chico" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aladdin [DVD] (DVD)
This was already a great film! Originally released in 1992, it is the portrayal of Ali Baba and Arabian Nights all rolled into one. Songs and wonderful, voice casting is perfect and Genie (voiced by Robin Williams is hillarious).

This is the new edition containing bonus features and commentaries etc as standard which just make this a fabulous DVD to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this should be an example how to make it right, 26 July 2013
By 
matt green (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What I liked:

- No ads !!!
- No region lock
- Picture quality is really good, not just dvd source copied over to bd.
- Did I mention that there are no ads? I like it so much I would put it again. You put the disc into player and it goes straight to menu. No ads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely mesmerising, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Aladdin [DVD] (DVD)
My 5 year old daughter and her friends are absolutely hooked !! this has become an every day must see for them ...the 'Whole new World' song is captivating ...they are enamoured by aladdin and Genie has them in splits . our best Disney CD ever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Movie, 29 Jan. 2005
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Aladdin is an orphan stealing what he needs to eat. Jasmine is the princess, but is unhappy to be forced to marry. One day, they meet in the market, and its love at first sight. But Jasmine can only marry a prince. Meanwhile, Jafar's schemes to go from advisor to Sultan bring him across Aladdin's path. But when Aladdin finds the Genie of the lamp, things really get interesting.
And fun. As anyone who has seen this movie will tell you, Robin Williams as the Genie absolutely makes this movie. I still haven't caught all his characters and impersonations, but they still make me laugh. The plot itself is better then their usual fairy tale romance with Jafar making a truly evil villain. The songs are some of their best and most memorable, especially the romantic song "Whole New World." And the climax is one of my favorites because of how cleaver it is. The animation is beautiful with vibrant colors bringing the story to life.
I've been looking forward to this DVD release since it was announced. And let me tell you, it looks and sounds great. Perfect widescreen, and the immersive audio mix is truly breathtaking. Extras include two commentary tracks and a fun pop-up trivia option. The story got quite an overhaul from the original version they were thinking of, and some of the original material is presented here, including a song recorded by Clay Aiken. Disc two features a reunion of the producers, animators, and voice cast interspersed with behind the scenes material. Honestly, this felt like it was leaving stuff out and could have been more in depth. There's also a tribute to composure Alan Menken, games for kids, and the usual art galleries. Most noticeably missing from the extras is Robin Williams. With all the other principle voice cast returning for the extras, I was really disappointed not to hear from him.
This is a great movie in every sense of the word that everyone will enjoy watching many times. While the extras don't seem quite as impressive as previous Platinum Edition titles, there's still plenty here for fans. A disc well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993]
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews