Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album of 2004...so far
Since I got this album I haven't stopped playing it. This highly original amalgam of psychedelic rock, pastoral pop, country and folk is truly mesmerising.
If you like Mercury Rev, Flaming Lips, Spiritualized, Polyphonic Spree or Joy Zipper - this is for you.
Truly excellent!
Published on 25 July 2004

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the tripe, I mean hype.
The Earlies must have made friends a lot more easily than they made music. Particularly music journos. Like another disappointed reviewer, I bought this based on reviews and recommendations (after buying the first three Alabama 3 albums). This album is weak, thin, boring and dull. I couldn't bring myself to listen to it more than twice.
Published 12 months ago by Dobester


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album of 2004...so far, 25 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: These Were the Earlies (Audio CD)
Since I got this album I haven't stopped playing it. This highly original amalgam of psychedelic rock, pastoral pop, country and folk is truly mesmerising.
If you like Mercury Rev, Flaming Lips, Spiritualized, Polyphonic Spree or Joy Zipper - this is for you.
Truly excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless slice of beauty, 11 Jan 2007
This review is from: These Were the Earlies (Audio CD)
If I could I would give this album 6 stars.

From the gorgeous tinkling harmonies of opening track "In The Beginning..." to the upliftingly expansive closer "Dead Birds", the quality is breathtaking and the love with which it was crafted obvious. Repeated listening rewards the listener too, as the intricate layers of production slowly unpeel themselves into your ears. Not that they are so precious as to extract all humanity from the music: listen closely and you'll hear the odd giggle, instruments being dropped, extracts from memorial services, quiet cues - even the odd "eh,what?!" between band members.

Unusually, the lyrical content matches the quality of the music - at turns sombre, uplifting, admonishing, but always with a refreshing honesty.

Albums like this are a true rarity and should be cherished as the gems they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's one they made earlier..., 11 Jan 2007
By 
A. Herniman (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For a moment, contemplate this: two guys from the musical backwaters of Burnley, Lancashire (UK) have some new and wonderfully twisted ideas on how to put an album together. They're halfway (or so) there with the songs, but something's missing. Ever ones to embrace the rapidly changing technology of our world, they put what they have recorded out there, into the musical-ether, on the internet. It's worth a shot, see what comes of it. And what comes of it, I hear you collectively cry? Two geezers from Texas (the place, no the blinkin' band!) pick it up, and 8000 miles away say, "Hey, we love this, man; let us get involved!" So they did. And this is the result. Part ranch-music, part cotton-mills. Part Fort Worth, part pint of Worthingtons. Part Beach Boys, part Northern Boys. Truly beautifully harmonic, properly crafted songs, with weirdy-samplery-trickery and organic instruments. This is only half of what they are capable of achieving, and if you even slightly like this album, YOU HAVE TO SEE THEM LIVE. I guarantee my friend (and you must be one of my friends, if you're still reading this), you'll be blown away. All the way to San Jose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year 2004?, 29 July 2004
By 
This review is from: These Were the Earlies (Audio CD)
I know its only July but the sheer class of this album is so amazing, I feel that the album of the year has quite possibly arrived already. Heard 'Wayward Song' on The Blue Room last week and have been hooked ever since. The album flows perfectly through eleven songs of musical bliss, with there being too many highlights to single out a particular track. This is music that should really last the test of time. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth the wait, 28 Jan 2005
By A Customer
i've been waiting for a vinyl release of this album for months and i must say i was absolutley stunned when i opened the gatefold..it's amazing! and so is the 20 page booklet inside..infact you can see how much this band care about everything from the music through to the artwork.
as an owner of the cd as well i've played this album constantly for the 6 months i've owned it,but i had to have the vinyl too... even just to look at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good not to be portable, 30 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: These Were the Earlies (Audio CD)
I loved the whole album from the first time of listening BUT be aware, the CD is protected so you CAN rip it into Media Player but you CANT copy it to your portable device. I think there sould be something on the CD cover to warn us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a stunner!, 21 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: These Were the Earlies (Audio CD)
this is the soundtrack to my summer,it's a fantastic debut album.
it sounds like all your favourite bands but also like nothing you heard before,
no hype,no slick angular hair,no agenda ,just a classic record for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amalgam of auditory bliss !, 21 July 2004
This review is from: These Were the Earlies (Audio CD)
You can tell these guys put their hearts into their music. Each listen takes you to a different place, where you actually feel the musical depth expanding -- a total joy to both chill-out to, as well as sing along with. I can't wait to see what they come up with next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle waves of sensory bliss, 28 Oct 2004
This review is from: These Were the Earlies (Audio CD)
Word to the above reviews. Agree this is the album of 2004 so far (and its nearly November!). Blissful orchestrated left field pop perfection, shimmering harmonies take you to a state of grace as you submit to its unique charm. Forget the comparisons to the Lips, Rev, Beach Boys et al, this is music all by itself and - thankfully - unlike anything else. If you do like the aforementioned bands though, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art work by Rina Donnersmarck at RinaDonnersmarck.co.uk, 14 Feb 2005
Wow stunned i have to agree with you the album is fantastic i saw it advertised in NME about half a year ago and was inntreaged it's amazin relaxing thought provoking and yes i have to been waiting for it to be released on vinyl. Coming with art work and 2 disks in a doublr gatefold package and i agree above even though i have the album the vinyl is great to look at and the art work is usefull as i am studying the artist Rina Donnersmarck at school. One word wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

These Were the Earlies
These Were the Earlies by The Earlies (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews