Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Baker classic., 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Pyramids of Mars is still one of the best Doctor Who adventures (unsurprising since it comes from the era produced by Phil Hinchcliffe). Tom Baker is well established as the Doctor, Michael Sheard makes a very sympathetic Laurence Scarman and Bernard Archard cements his reputation as Britain's most chilling actor with his performance as the walking corpse, Marcus Scarman. The mummies are frightening because the Doctor and the other good characters are trapped within an area surrounded by a kind of force field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Classic, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
Forget the effects, and concentrate on the contents. Drawing its influences from sci-fi, Hammer horror, HP Lovecraft, and a hint of the adventure serials that would inspire Indiana Jones, this Baker era classic rates as one of the best Dr Who stories. The influence of this story can be seen in current sci-fi like Star Gate and even X-files, with the interpretation of Eygptian mythology as alien science. An essential buy for all sci-fi and Dr Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Classic Baker", 25 July 2000
By 
Pyramds Of Mars is a fabulous early Tom Baker Story! Baker is great as the Doctor as well as LizSladen as Sara Jane Smithalso Bernard Archard turns in a great preformance as the possessed Marcus Scarman..Gabriel Woolf also is excellent as Sutekh.The plot is also excellentand the last episode is worth the wait. As a beginner when I first started this was one of the first Doctor Who Serials I bought and it's a must for an D.W.fan....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Doctor Who story ever!, 13 Aug 2000
By A Customer
My title says it all really. This story is from the classic mid 70's era - Tom Baker, Elizabeth Sladen, disturbed evil wrong do-ers and great writing. This is one of the very first stories i ever saw and it still remains my favourite. You will be enthralled by the sheer scariness of the mummies, or you may wet yourself laughing, either way, it is great entertainment. Buy it now, a classic! Well worth a big fat 5 star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HUH! This is very good!, 7 Jun 2000
By 
Ww Leenen (Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've seen the Tom Baker DrWho series through my trembling fingers when i was a kid. Now, because of nostalgia and the other review of jack I decided to buy a couple of DrWho video's. I just watched this episode first and i've got to admit that it was much better than i thought. I mean - i expected a so-so plot, bad play, bad special effect and so on. That seems always the case when you look back at films you've seen and admired when you were very young. I expected to see a film one could only like because it's part of one's childhood memories. After seeing this episode i understand why DrWho reached a cultstatus (read the DrWho newsgroups etc) for some people. It's well played and has an interesting plot. It's even better when compared with the childrensprograms nowadays on the telly. Yup, it great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my first review, 28 Oct 2004
By A Customer
I first watched this when i was quite young, and i always watched it enthralled. It was't as good as say, the ark in space (my favourite) but second best. It is based on earth which is good because most dr who sets look like their on earth anyway.
The storyline is exellent and brings out Tom Baker's acting superbly, is a fun story with action suspense but isn't Tom Baker's best work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Tom Baker Doctor Who., 18 July 2000
By A Customer
The early Tom Baker years were one of the highlights of the series' 26 year run. The well known actor Bernard Archard makes a brilliant guest appearance playing a "walking dead" character very realistically. Archard's performance, plus the enormous and invincible mummies make this story, set in the early years of the twentieth century, surely one of the more frightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It scared me at first., 26 May 2000
By A Customer
This was one of the earliest Doctor Who stories I saw and I was about 5. It really scared me stupid because of those mummy creatures. Now I am nearly 13 and I look on it as a really good adventure for Tom Baker. You should buy this video. By Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Dr. Who., 24 Nov 2004
By 
Christian Lowensprung (TRONDHEIM Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dr. Who, one of the true cult figures of our time
that is the father of X-files, is best seen
through the actor Tom Baker, and on DVD.
This is one of the shows(!) that
combines nice ( and not so outdated ) special effects, and great acting to
produce the most excellent episode of Dr. Who ever. The story is of course a bit
far fetched, but give the rest a chance, buy this DVD, and you will be
entertained.
And maybe you will be as surprised as I was when all the amount of
horror movies created today with a world of computer graphics,
can't top the chilling feeling you get from watching this (made in 1975!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars style over substance., 25 April 2004
By A Customer
A psycho nutcase wants to destroy everyone because he's basically insaneand evil.
He has a bunch of robots who chase people around the woodsand an old dark house and generally strangle them.
Then after ten minutes of padding where the Doctor and Sarah solve a bunchof lame puzzles to open the same BBC carboard door three times and wanderthrough the same bit of corridor, there's a rushed, contrived ending.That's the substance!
But the style is taken from ancient Egypt and it's very cool. The robotslook like Egyptian Mummies, the insane evil nutcase has the head of aJackyl and the name of the Egyptian God of Darkness, Seth or Setekh, (herehe's Sutekh!!)and the music, direction and settings look nice and gothic.Pointless and shallow, but entertaining! The following season the exactsame plot is repeated but set on a futuristic mining ship on a sandplanet, this time the evil nutcase loves robots and hates humans and is amad human scientist who sort of cross-dresses as a robot, while the robotsare green art-deco things, again they look cool but it's a lot ofstranglings until the Doctor tricks one into throttling the evil psycho.
Earthshock was also similar in the 80s, but probably had more genuinelasting power because of the tragic ending, among other things! Basically,if this was an 80s story, people would never forgive it, but it was the70s where style over substance was seen as a masterpiece. Dr.Who shorthand: Tom Baker is in it, it's a classic. Tom Baker is not in it, it'sjust mutton dressed up as lamb. Oh, Paddy Russell directs this with greatflair and skill! You go girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews