Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mind-blowing speed/thrash metal
Now this is what a metal album should be like. Lyrics drenched in substance and that are terribly relevant "killing for religion, something I don't understand!" So simple, so devastatingly true and straightforward. Mustaine re-establishes himself as a talented lyricist. Each and every track offers exemplary musicianship, as is and has been the trademark of every Megadeth...
Published on 26 Dec 2006 by leathercharmer

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original
Firstly This album has some truly amazing musicianship and it deserves 3/5 on that basis alone. The guitars are incredible, the drums are stunning and Dave Ellefson's picked bass is aesthetically pleasing particularly on 'Poison Was The Cure'.

However, the remastering process was just not required on this album. The original mix sounds perfectly fine, almost 20...
Published on 26 Sep 2009 by Arthur Askey's Legs


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mind-blowing speed/thrash metal, 26 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
Now this is what a metal album should be like. Lyrics drenched in substance and that are terribly relevant "killing for religion, something I don't understand!" So simple, so devastatingly true and straightforward. Mustaine re-establishes himself as a talented lyricist. Each and every track offers exemplary musicianship, as is and has been the trademark of every Megadeth album. Even more so for this album, as it has guitar virtuoso Marty Friedman working on lead guitar. Mustaine's tight and insanely precise rhythm work added with great bass lines from Dave Ellefson and fast- as-hell drumming from Nick Menza you have one outstanding album.

I won't get into a debate as to whether the remastered version is better then the original or vice versa, however, there are few things you should know before rushing to the store to buy this album. If you have the original, don't bother with buying this version as the original captured the intensity and the mood of the band at the time. This version serves to give a fine sheen and make the sound quality better, in which it excels. I can't shake the feeling that Mustaine might have re-recorded some parts, which just ruins the whole thing.

Oh yes, if you are after the bonus tracks, then by all means get it as you get to here a faster version of the holy wars... track with Chris Poland on lead guitars and some demos of some other tracks. I bought this version because I didn't have the original one and I had heard holy wars (the original version) from the capitol punishment album. Enjoy, this is an essential purchase for megadeth fans, thrash/speed metal fans and metal fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thrash guitar album of all time., 9 July 2001
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
Put this on, turn it up, strap yourself into a chair, and prepare to thrash for your life through what is the best thrash guitar album of all time.
'So Far, so good, so what?' had established Megadeth as a credible rival to Metallica and allowed front man (and 2nd guitarist) Dave Mustaine to make his point, but where next? Keep things fairly & squarely thrash, but lose the NWOBHM & punk leanings in favour of a more polished & progressive approach, and hire one of the best lead guitarists around, is where!
This is the album where Megadeth brings it all together, and peak. This one has blistering guitar and drum work, fast-paced songs that will leave you breathless, shouting, sneering, politics, magic and oh, oh those blazing solos!
Pretty much every song is a highlight. "Holy Wars...The Punishment Due" kicks things off which riffs throughout, and builds to a stunning climax of lead guitar frenzy. "Hangar 18" is a complete shred-fest, with Mustaine & Friedman dueling throughout.
"Take No Prisoners" and "Five Magics" feature some fantastic interplay between the riffing guitars and drums (some of the most polished thrash chops ever heard) and "Tornado of Souls" is just outstanding. How many killer riffs can one song actually hold before it explodes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars metal masterpiece!!, 29 Jun 2006
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
in my view this is by far the best megadeth album and one of the most complete metal albums ever.frantic riffing,technical solos,amazing lyrics and jaw dropping song structures combine to make it seem all so effortless.i guess thats why the only way was down after this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it really is a classic, 1 Sep 2005
By 
J. Isles "5majiks" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
I won't go on and on about this album. So much has been said about it already. I will just give a quick, honest opinion. And my opinion is that Rust In Peace, Megadeth's fourth release, is an amazing album, not just a thrash but a metal classic and their best album. This is a thrashy, snarling masterpiece. It's very heavy, hard edged and the rhythm guitars have a really nasty, shredded sound, while the leads just sound fantastic. I personally think this album has a very unique sound to it. The lyrics are top, too. I think Dave Mustaine really delivers the vocals very well, and i love the way he sings this album. But another obvious thing you notice is the musical mastery. This album not only has great songs that sound fantastic, but it is technically excellent. Here you really have a group of musicians who are absolutely amazing at what they do; who have totally mastered their chosen instruments. All do a fantastic job: the bass sounds great and there are some brilliant basslines; some of the drumming is out of this world; but the guitar solos are just incredible. There is a lot of lead guitar play on this album, but it doesn't sound cheesy or 'permy'. The songs themselves are outstanding quality, and the songwriting skills, mainly of Mustaine, are very evident on this record. In my humble opinion, there isn't one bad song on this album. ALL are great, but a few standout tracks for me - 'Holy Wars....The Punishment Due'; 'Hangar 18'; 'Take No Prisoners'; 'Tornado Of Souls'; 'Rust In Peace...Polaris'. This remastered version of the album has better sound quality of course. It's not your average cheap rip-off of a remastering release; everything has been given an overhaul, but it doesn't take away from the greatness of the album, and i actually think the album sounds really refreshed. A few of the songs have actually been re-sung, and while i didn't like that at first, i can now appreciate how cool they sound. Taking a song like Take No Prisoners, for example, i think it sounds even more agressive. If you already have the original release, you may not want to be in too much of a panic to get this remastered version, but for die-hard Megadeth fans, i think it is warranted for the improvement in sound quality and the few extra tracks: My Creation (a cool little number, along the lines of Frankenstein), and the demo versions of Rust In Peace......Polaris, Take No Prisoners and Holy Wars......The Punishment Due - the last of which, i think is excellent. Also, being a big Megadeth fan, i think it's great that these demos feature the guitar playing of original member Chris Poland, which is a treat. I tried to keep it brief; i guess i couldn't. If you've ever wondered about buying this album but haven't done so yet - do the deed, it kicks a lot of a**. I can't give it less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure, Pure Polished Thrash Perfection, 9 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. A. Anson "Lexifer Crowley" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
Dave Mustaine's composition skills are at their best on this album, no doubt about it. The first song, Holy Wars, pummels along at a brilliant rate, guitars blazing a burning path through with the occasional soloing slash, and then it ends with Dave growling an interlude which takes us into The Punishment Due, a brutal assault which builds up towards a climax and ending while Mustaine yells "Next thing you know, they'll take my thoughts away". Hangar 18 is, musically, a stunning accomplisment - as speedily produced and stunningly executed as it is guitar-solo filled, it has an almost FuturEgyptian feeling to the guitars. Take No Prisoners is Brutal, Poison Was The Cure is stunning and quite emotional, Tornad of Souls is melodic yet brilliant, Five Magics is a dark track leading to a "Final battle" climax, Rust In Peace... Polaris is a grinding, heavy ending to the album, with the wonderful album finale: "Eradication of Earth's Population Love Polaris" (The "Polaris" is growled by a second voice, for that flawless "Death To You All" effect). Lucretia is a great "memory lane" trip, with brilliant lyrics, Dawn Patrol is a great little dark break from the thrashing to give Apocalyptic effect.. The whole album is Thrash at it's best. Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RUST IN PEACE......, 11 Dec 2004
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion the best Megadeth album and in turn one of the greatest thrash albums ever recorded. Starting off the recording is holy Wars a track that is a genre classic along with angel of death and creeping death and the album doesnt fade from there either!!!. From the off their sound is recogniseable the complexity in thier arrangements and exemplary musicianship makes listening a pleasure that only gets better each time you hear it. The songs really grow on you until they a firmly imbedded into your skull. The addition of Marty Friedman on guitar was a master stroke as each solo on the album has chracter and finesse in comparison to the more bland straight in fast you can styles of many others at the time. A particularly fine example is on tornado of souls (coincidentally my fave track on the album). I guarantee you will listen to this record over and over again the remastering has only added to its ferocity and the although the bonus tracks are pretty pointless the classics still remain
Best tracks...Tornado of souls, Rust in peace, hangar 18 and Holy wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic thrash, 19 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
ok so Mustaine messed up with re-recording this amazing album and you should probably try to find one of the originals, but the songs are great nonetheless.
'holy wars...' is one of my favourite songs of all time and is just perfect thrash. it truly is mind-blowing when you have it blasting out at full volume. but the other songs on the album aren't overshadowed, there are still classics like 'hangar18' and 'five magics'. all following the same formula of fast and heavy thrash metal has created a great album that isn't boring or repetetive at any point. 'dawn patrol' can hardly be described as a song and is a bit of a waste of space but it doesn't matter when following it is another stand out track 'rust in peace...'
definately one of my favourite albums of all time and is on a level-pegging with master of puppets by metallica - that's how good it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, 26 Sep 2009
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
Firstly This album has some truly amazing musicianship and it deserves 3/5 on that basis alone. The guitars are incredible, the drums are stunning and Dave Ellefson's picked bass is aesthetically pleasing particularly on 'Poison Was The Cure'.

However, the remastering process was just not required on this album. The original mix sounds perfectly fine, almost 20 years after it was recorded. This remastered version features re-recordings of Mustaine's vocal performances. Dave's voice has gone through a few changes over the years. In 1990 he was more focused on sounding angry than singing on 'hit records'. Consequently, his current singing voice sounds alien on this album. Sadly the instrumental performances have also been edited and if you are familiar with the album you will find the alterations distracting.

In summary this is a great record but they have overcooked the remastering process. Find the original mix from 1990 - It's a tiny bit quieter, but you can get round this problem by simply turning the volume up. Seriously.

EDIT: I have noticed that my review has been included on both CD versions of this album. Just to clarify, I am reviewing the remastered release B0002EXH5O.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Jun 2006
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
A very high class metal album that kicks serious ass! There's no let-up from the 'real' tracks on there, the demos are good, but pretty pointless in my opinion, and My Creation is not up to the same standard as the rest of the songs, as it was not originally on the album. The title track, Rust In Peace, is amazing, the drum intro is brill, Tornado Of Souls and Hangar 18 are also fantastic tracks. Despite this it is Holy Wars which really stands out to me as the essential track from this album, because it is absolute genius. The lyrics are not only really evokative, but also are totally relevant to the world today, the line "Killing For Religion, Somethin' I Don't Understand" is just incredible. My only Megadeth album at the moment, but I intend to buy more due to the prowess of this intense album. I love Metallica, but Megadeth seem to be rivals of the highest calibur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TORNADO OF SHEER BRILLIANCE............., 19 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
If I owned one of those tacky 4+ CD holder machines, then without a doubt RUST IN PEACE would remain in the first holder. And it would never see the light of day again. This album is Megadeth at there best, the technical tightness of ther playing (check out 'take no prisoners') will stun you. Tornado of Souls will grip you throughout with its addictive melodic riffs and Daves Emotional vocals. I am infact addicted to this album. Its amazing. If you have good taste, and know musicians when you here them then you quite simply must buy this now. Every song is a gem. Marty Friedmans guitar playing will probably kill you, as will Nicks drumming. Well I could go on but I think that now ill just leave you to guide you mouse curser up to the 'buy' button......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rust In Peace
Rust In Peace by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews