Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Cant I Stop Listening To This!!!!!!!!!!!
Ok picture the scene Metallica produce and realise Black (Metallica) in 1991 all eyes go on Megadeth. Can they match this??? Can they oh yes they can!!!! Im listening to the album as i write this review Symphony of destruction you know how it goes lovely harmony cut short by Dave Mustaines ripping guitar action and David Ellefson's heaviest bass line But it doesnt end...
Published on 29 Sept. 2003 by wwwzebrapool2

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm....
Disappointing.
I didn't realise this wasn't the original album so was highly miffed to find it contained remixed versions of tracks from what is undoubtedly their best album.
In the sleeve notes Dave Mustaine is quoted as saying the only way to better their most successful album was to remix it. Well, fair enough, it's his album. And yes, it is very shiny and...
Published on 4 July 2011 by Dunc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown to Extinction (Audio CD)
Classic Megadeth album, all thrash fans should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Deth come of age., 24 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Countdown to Extinction (Audio CD)
There are 2 things that immediately differentiate this album from its predecessors.
Firstly the guitar sound is much improved - heavy, crunchy, and up in the mix.
Secondly, the band seems to have matured, and discovered a social conscience. Mustaine sings here about issues rather than nuclear war and car crashes - not that it ever bothered me before, mind.
The album also sounds mature. Speed has been throttled, and this album stands firmly in mid-tempo territory. The songs are still intricate, but unhurried, and have almost nothing to do with the Speed Metal tag of the early releases. The riffs are given time to breathe and the songs have an unhurried natural, feel about them.
This might not be everyone's idea of improvement, but for me this is their best album. Only the last track does nothing for me, so sadly the album rather fizzles out, but the rest are purest quality. Heavy, memorable and even intelligent. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown to Extinction (Audio CD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy IT, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Countdown to Extinction (Audio CD)
Some long reviews here I will keep mine short. Following on from "Rust in Peace" this album is more imaginative, greater variety in musical style, still combining heavy rifts with great lyrics. Not for those who like Whitesnake and Rainbow but if you like Metallica, Korn, Slipknot you must give this album a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There was really only one song here that I enjoyed (Symphony of Destruction), I thought the rest of the tracks were below average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars eighties cheese metal... but in the 90s?, 31 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
As a stalwart of the 1980s metal scene, megadeth entered the post-Nevermind world with this fairly disappointing work in 1992. The sound, although slightly less heavy than their earlier works, is still rooted deep in that fashioned by themselves, Metallica and Iron Maiden. There are however few songs for me which stand out, and tracks such as Architecture of Agression are at times laughable through their lyrical ineptide. However this album may well appeal to the eighties metal fan, and is hailed by many as a classic, though i myself prefer their 1994 effort Youthanasia. All in all a bit dated and neither lyrically or musically outstanding, but their are definately a few good songs to maintain interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not very mega, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought a couple of Megadeth albums when released and at the time thinking these aren't half bad I was tempted by other reviews to 'relive' my youth and by Countdown to Extinction. Unfortunately my tastes have obviously changed as the band which I remember as cutting edge hard rock are now pedestrian and the singer now sounds whiney. Talk about having your memories crushed...! My advice to ageing rockers is JUST DON'T!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Countdown to Extinction
Countdown to Extinction by Megadeth (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews