Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner all the way
Most truly classic metal albums are usually around the half hour mark and So Far So Good is no exception to the rule. I have had trouble in the past trying to decide which of Megadeth's three truly great albums (Peace Sells, So Far.. and Rust in Peace) was the undeniable best. I no longer have the same trouble. It is So Far, So Good...
From the outset you get the...
Published on 22 Feb. 2002

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Album...Once Mastered..now Re-Butchered!!!!!
Oh Dear Dave! What have you done?? This was one of my favourite albums when I was a kid and Megadeth were probably my favourite Thrash band at the time. I was just getting into Thrash Metal when this came out, and this was the first album I heard of theirs. It's their darkest I'll agree, and the fact that Dave was in a dark place during the making of this albums only...
Published on 23 Aug. 2011 by Gabriel Hill Harriss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winner all the way, 22 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
Most truly classic metal albums are usually around the half hour mark and So Far So Good is no exception to the rule. I have had trouble in the past trying to decide which of Megadeth's three truly great albums (Peace Sells, So Far.. and Rust in Peace) was the undeniable best. I no longer have the same trouble. It is So Far, So Good...
From the outset you get the speed, power amd rythms that add up to what you can expect of the whole album. Into the Lungs of Hell is an instrumental dentists drill on horseback, galloping through muddy fjords while making your head jerk and vibrate. You cannot fail to be entrapped by the albums charms therein. Set the World Afire is a crunching behemoth of post-nuclear war portentousness. Anarchy in the Uk(USA) is obviously not a patch on the original but is probably one of the best covers you're likely to hear. Mary Jane is a classic. 502 is sleazy and grungey and almost cyberpunk-esque while still retaining an old skool sound - quite remarkable. The phenomenal, and possibly the best Megadeth tune penned, In My Darkest Hour comes next. It is moody without being pretentious, cynical without being self absorbed and simply one of the best ballads you'll ever hear. It's kind of like Every Breath You Take by The Police only harder and darker. Liar is a novelty Megadeth tune and shows of thing to come. Hook in Mouth has almost become a template for Megadeth album enders - just listen to Polaris and Ashes in Your Mouth from their two subsequent releases.
Overall, a tight little gem, packed with tunes and power and a verve that most rock music of recent years lack. Metal with passion - amd a wry sneer.
Best Megadeth album, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Under-rated but BUY THE REMASTER., 14 Oct. 2009
By 
G. Walker "Reviewer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
This album is very much under rated.
It has some excellent guitar work on it as well as very eerie vocals to match.
My personaly favourites are Mary Jane, Set the world on fire and into the lungs of hell[Instrumental].
This CD, as a bonus, includes a cover of "Anarchy in the uk" by the Sex Pistols.

The only problem i had with the original release was the mastering, sometimes the riffs were not amplified enough and even though dave mustaines vocals were decent, they along with the distortion stopped some of the acoustics from being heard well, because of the poor mastering.
However this CD brought with it a brand new experience, me actually likeing the remaster more than the original CD.
Get the later edition of the CD and i swear any metal fan or maybe someone who just loves great guitar work, will love this CD. Its not one of my favourites i will admit, but its a one that which you will be able to enjoy from time to time.

Its not as good as rust in peace, peace sells or endgame, but it probably ranks 4th in my Megadeth collection.

A great listen.
4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth: So Far, So Good... So What!, 3 Sept. 2005
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
In the remixed version's booklet; Dave comments that he can remember the events the lead to the "second incarnation" of Megadeth like it was yesterday. Chris Poland was sacked from the band for selling off some of Dave's guitars for drug money, and Gar Samuelson was sacked because he was becoming too wild for Dave and Junior to handle. After this, Dave then hired Jeff Young, who was guitar teacher for ex-Malice guitarist, Jay Reynolds, and Chuck Behler, who was Gar Samuleson's drum technician.
During the making of this album, Dave had to fire Paul Lani, as there were rising difficulties between the two, and higher Michael Wagner half way through. The original production was poor but received a warm welcome from Droogies everywhere. However, the remixed version has much better production and, perhaps not as much as Killing is My Business... And Business is Good! , has a raw feel to it. Some consider this to be Megadeth's worse album, but I don't think Megadeth have really ever made an awful album. Anyway, this album is great it's also an underrated classic.
(1) Into the Lungs of Hell (Mustaine)
Megadeth's first, and only, full and official instrumental song. The title of the song refers to the bible where Michael the Archangel and his cohorts "thrust into the lungs of Hell" to attack Satan. This is a great instrumental and I like the horn elements at the beginning.
(2) Set the World Afire (Mustaine)
This was the first song Dave wrote after he was sacked from Metallica, but it was originally entitled Megadeth. He didn't want to use the song just yet until he felt it was ready to be experimented on, and then it was later renamed Set the World Afire. The song is about destruction of all life on earth through nuclear weapons and the horrible aftermath. This is one of the best songs of the album, and it's one of my personal classics.
(3) Anarchy in the U.K. (Matlock/Rotten/Cook/Jones)
This song is a cover of the Sex Pistols song. It was originally featured on Sex Pistols' Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols album, released in 1979. This isn't the best cover Megadeth have done, but it isn't a bad tune and it's definitely better than I Ain't Superstitious. Megadeth actually misheard several lyrics in the original Sex Pistol's song. For example, "and other cunt-like tendencies" is actually "another council tenancy" and "no dog's body" is actually "no, don't worry."
(4) Mary Jane (Mustaine/Ellefson)
The first 'Deth song Junior helped write. It is about a girl who takes up witchcraft. Eventually, she wants to get out of it and in an effort to do so, she confesses to her father, who not only doesn't forgive Mary Jane, but buries her alive. That's why she haunts the forest. This is another great tune with really good lyrics as well.
(5) 502 (Mustaine)
This is basically about Dave being pulled over by the police! This is perhaps the worst song of the album, but it does have a good tune and some hilarious lyrics, (e.g. "Pullover shit-head; this is the cops!").
(6) In My Darkest Hour (Mustaine/Ellefson)
This songs was first written when Dave heard of the death of his good friend and late Metallica bass player Clifford Lee "Cliff" Burton, (1962 - 1986), and it was also when his understanding of "being there for you" was born. Although the lyrics have nothing to do with him, Cliff's untimely passing gave Dave this melody that lives in the hearts of metal heads around the world. This is perhaps one of the best Megadeth songs ever, and it has some of the best lyrics ever for a Megadeth song.
(7) Liar (Mustaine/Ellefson)
This is basically Dave telling us exactly what he thinks, (or use to think), of ex-guitarist Chris Poland. This is another great song, with some clever and crude lyrics.
(8) Hook in Mouth (Mustaine/Ellefson)
This song is about revisionism and censorship, specifically aimed at the PMRC, (The Parents Music Resource Centre), which forced the band to put "Parental Advisory/Explicit Lyrics" warnings on both Peace Sells... But Who's Buying? and So Far, So Good... So What! Several parts of this song are similar to the George Orwell novel, 1984. It must have been the major inspiration for this song. In the book, the government employs and organization called the Ministry of Truth to alter every piece of literature, especially newspaper articles, in order the make the government look good. The book describes people being created and erased, statistics and figures being changed, all to eliminate any negative feelings or opposition towards the government. Many of the workers for this organization are described just as Dave describes them; little, beady-eyed, bug-like men. In "Hook in Mouth," Dave is comparing the PMRC to the Ministry of Truth. Dave obviously feels that the organization oversteps the bounds of the government by putting warning labels on albums or forcing artists to compromise their integrity in any way. This is another one of the best songs of the album, and has some very clever lyrics in, although Dave's vocals are very different to the rest of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album despite some inconsistency, 24 Aug. 2008
By 
Sonny (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
Not one of Megadeth's best albums, neither is it all that bad, in fact it's pretty good. The album is best described as frantic and chaotic, perhaps a little cynical and a tad juvenile in tone compared to other Megadeth albums.

This album shines in songs such as "In My Darkest Hour", which was inspired by the death of Cliff Burton (Metallica), it is a dynamic song with plenty of tempo and mood changes.
Another good track is "Mary Jane", written about a girl of the same name who suffered from a mental illness and was burned at the stake during the infamous Salem witch trials.
The album also features a good cover of Sex Pistols' song "Anarchy In The UK", albeit with some incorrect lyrics but despite this, for me as a metalhead, it's a huge improvement over the original as it's done in in thrash metal style. Also to note, Steve Jones (Sex Pistols) actually plays guitar on this cover.

To summarise, whilst there are a few tracks on this album you might skip, there is more than enough good material to keep one satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Scary Classic!, 26 Jun. 2007
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
This is one of the first albums i ever heard (i think ..and justice for all was the other)and at the age of 11 it seriously freaked me out! The cover art was like nothing i had ever seen before and to this day i still cant get my head around it.Most people still dont rate this album but I think it actually sums up Megadeth better than any of their later albums..its dark, fast, inventive and reckless. The amount of drugs the band were on give the album a really uneasy feel, which in the world of Megadeth is kinda what made them so exciting!.Also Mustaines lyrics are far more aggresive and to the point. Megadeth wouldn't be Megadeth without songs like In my Darkest hour, set the world on fire and mary jane and although 502 and the anarchy in the uk cover are pretty throwaway, this album isnt so bad...its just bloody short!! i remember having this on cassette and it looked like someone had removed most of the tape from inside!! Get this directly after you get Peace sells(by far the strongest Megadeth album).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 34 minutes of AWESOME!, 6 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yeah its only about 35 minutes long, but its a pretty damn amazing 35 minutes. The opening instrumental track 'Into The Lungs Of Hell' does exactly what it says on the tin, this belting opener sets the scene for the rest of the album. Apart from a cover version of 'Anarchy In The UK' the whole album is top notch, the opener, 'Set The World Afire' and 'In My Darkest Hour' are the stand-out tracks of this album. Blistering solos, intimidating riffs and Mustaine's early 'growly' voice prove this is one of the best Megadeth albums. Yeah Endgame and Rust In Peace are way better however this album defines the early days of Megadeth, any metal fan should love it. I wouldn't recommend it for people looking to get into Megadeth, get Countdown To Extinction or Rust In Peace. Overall a kick-ass thrash/metal album from an awesome band - Get It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Getting...but not megadeth's best, 24 Aug. 2007
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
Pumped full of drugs, furious and churning out riffs - it is hard to see how Mustaine managed to put the band together while he had all that in mind! But the riffs on so far so good so what are quality, and while there isn't an equivalent of a catchy but political and metal song (as in peace sells, hangar 18) there are some very very good songs on this. I think that it is worth buying this cd especially for 'in my darkest hour', which is my all time favourite megadeth song. However this cd has an abundance of great songs. songs like 'hook in mouth' and 'into the lungs of hell' are great songs.

Not quite as good as peace sells and rust in peace, but still an amazing record. But for people new to megadeth, i would suggest buying peace sells, rust in peace, and so far so good so what if you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth So far so good, ...so what!, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
What can I say?
Megadeth.
So far, so good,...so what!
Old style Heavy Metal that, by today's comparisons, is relatively mild.
Quite a varied musical style within the stereotype too. As, in the fact that, each track was distinct, and not just a thrash of noise from start to finish. Lots of fret work, direction and key changes. A definitive album.
A great cover of 'Anarchy in the U.K'.
Dave Mustaine still sounds full of youthfull angst. They've been going nearly 30 years now, lol.
It took me back to the day!
If I meet anyone called 'Mary Jane', I still hear the song welling up inside my mind.
Very please with my purchase.
But my neighbours may not be........ and ...SO WHAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first megadeth album i got, 1 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
when reading about megadeths history and their best albums, it's always Rust In Peace, Peace Sells..., but i never see this album mentioned. But i love it! Starting out with a great fast paced instrumental. The songs join seamlessly and as this is the first album by megadeth that i own it's definitely my favourite.
On song 5 or 6 the first time i heard it i thought of for whom the bell tolls by metallica. Now we all know the history there. See what you think.
The only downsides are that the extra songs don't really add much for a new listener - maybe older fans would recognise differences to the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Album...Once Mastered..now Re-Butchered!!!!!, 23 Aug. 2011
By 
Gabriel Hill Harriss "Dionysus" (Bedford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Far, So Good...So What! (Audio CD)
Oh Dear Dave! What have you done?? This was one of my favourite albums when I was a kid and Megadeth were probably my favourite Thrash band at the time. I was just getting into Thrash Metal when this came out, and this was the first album I heard of theirs. It's their darkest I'll agree, and the fact that Dave was in a dark place during the making of this albums only gives it more depth, and technically he was pushing the envelope once again on from Peace Sells.. Personally I love the production of the orginal. It was a little rawer than Peace Sells, but no less technical, and contains some of Daves best work. Into the Lungs of Hell, Mary Jane, Set the World Afire,Hook in Mouth... all monsterous classics, that threw you deep into Daves pshycic abyss.. a truly menacing album. It's also more visceral lyric wise, and his writing definitely took a more serious approach on his addiction to drugs, and the state he was in at the time, battling his constant frustration with Metallica, and his own personal demons.
This is probably going against the 'die hard critics', but for me, I think this album also contains the best cover in 'Anarchy in the USA'. I really dont know why everyone dislikes this so much? It's a brilliant version, and if anything improved on the original. The reasons are The Sex Pistols were nothing more than a manufactured pop band with a Punk style..they might have had the looks, and some attitude, but on Daves version of their biggest hit, he sings it with real aggression, and genuine 'attitude. I also love the fact he said he sung the lyrics different because he thought thats wht they were, which makes it more his own take on it, throwing in the word 'c@nt', and you know this guy sings it pissed off!! Remember, this is one of the leading pioneers of Thrash Metal, and anarchy flowed through his veins back then.
So, enough of why I love the album. The reason why I hate this so called 'remastered version' is the fact that, and sorry Dave, you're still a genuis, but it's been butchered. It sounds like this was completely re-recorded rather than tweeked. I'm no expert, but I defintely notice the differents in the guitar work, and I'm sure I read that Dave re-did a lot of the guitar work for the re-masters, on this album it's really noticable, almost to the point it could be a session guitarist throwing a turd on an already polished album. Why would you do it the other way round and ruin something that already sounds perfect. The drums have been tweeked to sound tinny and ridiculous, none of the aggressive tom hits are there anymore, just this echoey tap. If anything it's been over-polished, and I cringed at every technical turn that was destroyed by this remastered rubbish. When I look back and remember how awesomely visceral, raw and heavy this album sounded when it first same out, with this version, I'm thrown into a child friendly innocent fluffy re-production. Don't get me wrong, I think any album that needs to be remastered and tweeked should if it's given the justice it deserves, just dont over produce something and remaster something that sounds the way it was intended in the first place. Nothing short of criminal for this!!!
Final difinitive upset...what the hell were the trumpet sounding piece at the opening of 'Into the Lungs of Hell' doing on here??? they weren't ever there on the original!!or if they were, at least you never heard em!! Be prepared for a Re-Remastered version..complete with Pan Pipes and Banjos!!!!
Ditch the remaster and buy the original!! How it was and how it should always be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So Far, So Good...So What!
So Far, So Good...So What! by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews