Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOOOOOM!!!
DO not buy this game. I repeat do not buy this game it WILL ruin your life. If you have anything worthwile in your life friends family partner or even a pet owe them this, do not buy this game. Igive this advice simply because it is AWESOME you will literally spen at least 50 hours of your life playing this game without consideration of food, drink or shelter let alone...
Published on 1 Feb 2006 by russell leake

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doom for Windows 7 it is not!!
While the supplier was very prompt with offering solutions to installation problems, the fact remains that it does not sit well on Windows 7, however on XP it works finw.
Published on 4 Oct 2011 by La Mancha


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOOOOOM!!!, 1 Feb 2006
By 
russell leake (Reading , United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
DO not buy this game. I repeat do not buy this game it WILL ruin your life. If you have anything worthwile in your life friends family partner or even a pet owe them this, do not buy this game. Igive this advice simply because it is AWESOME you will literally spen at least 50 hours of your life playing this game without consideration of food, drink or shelter let alone your friends. Of course this doenst include the time you spend thinking about the game and carrying out conversations imaginig you are in the game. And there are the dreams every night will be a fantastical adventure in to the deapths of DOOM. It is awesome. The game speaks for itself every part of it is brilliant so i dont need to describe gameplay or anything its just superb.
Buy it and it will ruin your life
Dont buy it and your life wouldnt have been worth anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So simple, yet so addictive, 10 Jan 2005
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Doom: Collectors Edition contains the original Doom games: The Ultimate Doom, Doom II, and Final Doom. All have all their original levels and difficulty settings. This collection has been released because Doom 3 has just come out.
The storyline for the series is quite simple: the UAC has been conducting experiments on the moons of Mars, Phobos and Deimos. These experiments have gone wrong, and hell has been unleashed, literally. As a space marine, it's your job to clean it all up. All your comrades are dead, and all you have is an arsenal of weapons to wipe out the hordes of hell before they wipe out you.
The graphics for the games are nothing special, merely the original 2D they were originally. But that doesnt stop the fun of these games. They are very addictive. I cant put my finger on it, but there is something about them that just keeps you hooked.
If you liked Doom originally, or have just got Doom 3 and want to find out how it all started, then get this.
Also included are trailers, screenshots, etc, for Doom 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...A trip down memory lane., 9 Sep 2004
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
So this is where it all started off? The game which has been called "The daddy of all shooters" "The god of games", etc, etc.
And yet, even though it's starting to show grey hairs the classic Doom games are still some of the best games you will find in the world. Forget A.I, forget fancy-shmansy graphics, this is classic and straight forward gaming with no unpleasent twists...
The story is pretty simple.
Being the last space-marine in the world, you have to blow the heads of all the freaky aliens you can find.
The gameplay is as simple as the story, shoot your way in and shoot your way out. There are no puzzles unless you count finding blue, yellow and red key-cards which are scattered across the base. All you do is shoot, shoot and shoot. Oh and pick up power-ups.
So why am I giving this a 5 star rating? Because this is gaming at it's best. This IS the daddy of shooters. It's addictive and fun. And you'll feel like a god when you complete the game. And as you stare at the end game screen, you'll want to go back for more bloodshed and death.
This is the game that started them all. Infact it could be said that this is actually better than Doom 3!
Is it better than Doom 3?
I'll leave that to you.
One thing is for sure, once you start the game you will NOT want to stop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest PC game ever, 22 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
I have never been a big computer game fan. Nearly every game I have tried is far to complex to be fun to play. I don't want to have to remember 9 million controls etc. There have only been 2 games I have really enjoyed - Space Invaders and Doom. I originally got the one level sharware version of Doom and was hooked. It was the first computer game I ever bothered to play to its conclusion. I then bought Ulitmate Doom with the extra level and enjoyed it all over again. Doom II is really more of the same, and I have not yet played Final Doom, but I am sure it is equally great. Yes the graphics don't look like real video, but it really does not matter, the game play is so good and so addictive that you will soon forget that the graphics are a bit crude. I have ordered this re-release of the original trilogy because my PC is not up to the rediculous demands of Doom 3, but I am willing to bet in any case that Doom 3 is no better than the original in any meaningful way. At just over a tenner including postage and packing Doom Collector's Edition is great value and should be part of any PC users collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!, 21 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
BRILLIANT GAME GREAT CLASSIC BEST YET IT HAS ALL THREE GAMES ABSOULUTE BARGAIN AMAZON U ROCK =] now there is not really any flaws except graphics but what do you expect from a game made in the 90,s it freakin kicks new games out the window it is a diffenite MUST for game lovers and people who hate demons of course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Doom, 28 May 2009
By 
Mr. Richard J. S. Blake "Yetti" (UK, Stoke-On-Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
I have only ever played Ultimate Doom to the end and a bit of Doom 2 and now currently playing Doom 3, you have to remember with Doom it isn't all storyline since Doom is only portraying Hell with the maxium pixels it can give. Secondly if there is any storyline it is in the booklet and as always with Doom the gates of Hell open, your known as the "Doom Guy" all your marine friends get killed and they turn against you. Thirdly all I can say is Doom is one of the best games ever made, better than Quake and Duke Nukem itself, in future I hope Doom 4 will go back to its origins if there ever is a Doom 4 to be released, if anyone has never played Doom then check the first 5 levels out on my youtube account ZippyKirby. There worthit to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surfing along the shores of hell, 22 Sep 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM

Doom was/still is one of the best shooters ever. Spanning across many games consoles its firmly basic concept of kicking monster butt is fantastic. A level of the 'classic dooms' can be easily recognised along with its creepy music which fits in quite plesently into the background. Its levels are taxing and is a good play, watch out for the icon of sin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God of Games, 25 Aug 2004
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
OK, I have read the other reviews and I get the impression they never actually played the original Doom series...well I have. And I can tell you with all honesty, that the Doom series is the most genre defining game ever created.
Now don't get me wrong, I do like a good modern shooter with lots of strategy, new technology and exciting storyline, but let's face it, games are like music, they get better with age, and this is no exception. I mean look at the likes of Sonic the Hedgehog and Mario, legends and classics, as is Doom.
Now yes, compared to Doom3's superb graphics and in places quite scary game play...which on more than one occasion has made me go on the hunt for a clean pair of underwear...Doom seems very mediocre in terms of graphics, but that's what games are all about nowadays, the way it looks, which is what makes Doom so special, the game play is legendary.
It was the first ever FPS to even incorporate such a violent outset of game play let alone such a variety of weapons, environments and a lot of fun! Unfortunately I wasn't blessed with a PC until a year after Doom was released, so I played it down my local video store, during this time I spent more time there than I did in bed...and I am the laziest person alive, so that is a pretty big feat.
At the end of the day, Doom has everything any serious gamer would want terrific game play and plenty to keep you occupied for hours on end. This of course is aided in the classic Doom HUD which (although not in the new Doom) will never grow old, watching that little face animate every time you take damage is endless comedy, and not only this, but it is actually a HUD which for once doesn't take up the half the screen when you play it, a factor which is becoming more common in games nowadays, i.e. Command And Conquer - Renegade.
On top of this Doom was and always be original, with the most compelling set of enemies I have seen in a game...which in some cases actually gave me nightmares afterwards (bear in mind that I was only young back then), regardless of this, I always came back to it because the game is just that good!! And when I heard the release of this package, I smiled so much I poke my friend in the eye with my cheek!
Fact of the matter is I haven't stopped playing this classic game (except for toilet and food). But the defining point of Doom is the complex levels and map of mazes, doors and dead ends, which results in you losing track of time very easily and wasting away your precious time with the greatest game.
But, with every great game, comes its flaws. Doom never had a multiplayer feature, and still doesn't, which back then of course wasn't really important, but now, many new gamers will find this fact very off putting. As I said before the graphics engine is very dated but look at it this way, it won't lag even on low spec PC's.
So if anyone out there is a real fan of FPS and wants to experience what has made games what they are today, then I recommend this game without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Doom, 28 Mar 2010
By 
T. Scott (Lost in Thought) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
First of all, this is three games in one for a tenner. Four if you count Final Doom as two games, and seven billion if you count all the user-created maps. Yes, it does have that much longevity.

Now, I'm a person who doesn't care about graphics. A game could look like a film to me, or it could be 8-bit colour, but if the gameplay's good, that's fine by me. And that's why I like Doom so much. Simply put, you have a gun, a knuckleduster and a horde of hellspawn to defeat, so you have to scavenge all the weapons you can get your hands on and destroy every demon you see.
On paper, it doesn't sound very much. Frankly, it's a very shallow game, and the gameplay is very simple: there are only controls for moving, firing, switching weapons and using things like doors and switches. And it doesn't make a lot of sense, either: most of the doors have no visible means of opening, yet when you press the spacebar they slide up seamlessly. But who cares if it makes sense - this was released in the mid-nineties, and like many games at the time, it was probably more experimental than anything. Indeed, Doom was (I think) the first FPS to have stairs.

This package is an absolute steal. You get Ultimate Doom (arguably the best one), the first game with an extra, tougher episode stuck on the end; Doom 2, with more monsters and an extra weapon; and Final Doom, two of the hardest map compilations there are, even to this day. Each game has 5 levels of difficulty, one end being the odd monster every country mile, and the other being masses of the biggest demons and just enough ammo to compensate. And unlike modern FPS's with about fifty different weapons for each class, you get all of 9 weapons (8 in Ultimate Doom) - your bare knuckles, a chainsaw, a pistol, two shotguns, a chaingun, a rocket launcher and two plasma weapons - one of which being the legendary BFG 9000, which obliterates every hostile in sight. Simply put, it's basic yet good (un)clean fun. Don't get me started on the multiplayer.

Sadly, this boxset only comes with the worst frontend, so as soon as you install this, I recommend you download ZDoom, which is a free alternative to the Doom95 program packaged here. Or if you have a punchier machine then go for GZDoom, which adds fancy lighting effects amongst other things.

Buy this if you prefer the simpler approach to gaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE computer game. A legendary classic that will always be remembered., 8 Jun 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is an absolute classic. The level design is fantastic and I love the simplicity of the story and the dark and tense atmosphere. Fantastic sound,great enemy design. It is outdated now but if you want a horror slugfest against the demons of hell through many intriguing maps then look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD)
Doom - Collector's Edition (PC CD) by Activision (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
Used & New from: 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews