Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique
The cover says it all really! (Although in this first season the actors are much younger than in the photo). Roma Downey (on the right) is an angel who's just been promoted from Search and Rescue duty to helping individual people with life's challenges. She's very loving and enthusiastic, but also inexperienced and naive. Della Reese (on the left) is her mentor -...
Published on 17 Mar 2010 by shpadoinkle

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Unable to use DVD as Playback is prohibited due to area limitations
Well, as the title states I was unable to play this DVD due to 'area limitations.' The seller was quite happy to take it back but I wasn't able to send it back to the UK address - it had to be sent back to the USA. The instructions that came with the return la bel stated quite clearly 'We will not pay shipping costs as the item is as described.' I wouldn't know if the...
Published 5 months ago by M. A. Hutchinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 17 Mar 2010
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The cover says it all really! (Although in this first season the actors are much younger than in the photo). Roma Downey (on the right) is an angel who's just been promoted from Search and Rescue duty to helping individual people with life's challenges. She's very loving and enthusiastic, but also inexperienced and naive. Della Reese (on the left) is her mentor - experienced, down-to-earth, and actually very funny.
Each episode involves a different case, and a different person in need of help and guidance, and there's normally a happy (or at least resolved) ending, conveying the message that God loves us. The messages of compassion and love and understanding are obviously compatible with Christianity, but also with many other religions, and I don't think Jesus is ever mentioned. So if you aren't Christian, you won't feel like the show is trying to convert you.
It's not exactly edgy, hard-hitting television, and nobody would consider it cool. But it's not really trying to be.
For the most part 'Touched by an Angel' is very watchable and always uplifting. It's not amazing writing, but it's affectionate towards it's characters and has a definate charm. Most episodes are good, some are not so good, and just too syrupy even compared to the rest of the show (the Christmas Nativity episode comes to mind).

I would recommend this if you want something comforting and uplifting to watch, and don't mind its super Americanness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRACE, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD touch by an Angel Complete First Season was a complete revelation of Gods Grace to us. It brings the Grace message to life and helps us to realise that God loves us and wants to have a personal loving relationship with us. It uses his message and helps us understand that we can have a wonderful life when we follow his will for us. Life is tough at times and when we know that God is walking with us through what ever comes our way and never leaves us we can live our life abundently. It tackles everyday situations in ways that lighten and excite the soul. This will touch your heart with something so special that no one can take away from you. Gods Love and Grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars toched by an angel, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
i love this sereis and would recommend to anyone who is like me sentimentel feelings enjoys a good storyline and keeps me hooked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touched by an angel complete first season 1, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
TOUCHED BY AN ANGEL WELL I HAVE NOT SEEN IT YET HAS IT JUST ARRIVED YESTERDAY I BUSY WATCHING SERIES 9 ON THE TELEVISION I LIKE THESE KIND OF DRAMA NO SWEARING OF ANY SWEAR WORDS JUST RIGHT FOR THE FAMILY SOME OF THINGS THEY TALK ABOUT ARE REALLY MEANINGS SO IF ANY BODY HAS NOT SEEN THIS SHOW BUY IT FOR THE FAMILY JUST RIGHT FOR TEA-TIME TO WATCH .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good- hope filled,tear filled joy, brilliant heart warming, 1 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Touched By an Angel: The Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
got it last week and have watched all of them ,its about God and love and angels-and Jesus,-involves real life situations difficulties,and troubles and brings hope ,life and light ,i am a christian who reads the bible and i find it inspirational for my faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
having not seen earlier episodes of this series it was great to watch it from the begining. i didn't know this programme until cbs aired some later seasons and i am now their biggest fan and wish they would they would make programmes like this today too show entertainment can be without expletives and in ones face nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unable to use DVD as Playback is prohibited due to area limitations, 23 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Well, as the title states I was unable to play this DVD due to 'area limitations.' The seller was quite happy to take it back but I wasn't able to send it back to the UK address - it had to be sent back to the USA. The instructions that came with the return la bel stated quite clearly 'We will not pay shipping costs as the item is as described.' I wouldn't know if the item was as described since I was unable to play it and rather than pay shipping costs which will no doubt be more expensive than the DVD I've decided not to bother returning it. One to be avoided if you don't want to end up with a DVD that you can't play, no way of knowing if the DVD is as described and a bill for shipping costs should you wish to return it. Very disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE VERY BEST SHOWS EVER, 22 Nov 2012
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This show is up there with the likes of Little House on The Prairie, Highway To Heaven, Dr Quinn Medicine Woman etc for its often wonderful announcement of hope and joy and family life and different areas concerned with what faith in God surely should mean. The talent on show within the wonderful series is also amazing, and the stories more often that not will leave you very inspired and crying out for more. Della Reese and Roma Downey just happen to be one of the most wonderful double actsin acting ive ever seen in my life, its so claer they spark offeach other and so this is what makes TBAA such an incredible series. Often emotional, often shocking, often life saving. What more could one possibly ask from a programme like this? In this modern sad age of violence lust horror and out andout garbage programmes like these were the real television, concerned with giving a joyful experience rather than a fest of disgusting social commentaries that are not everyone, believe it or not. The brad range of subjects touched upon in the series too make it never predictable, and that also is a wonderful thing for a programme. Too often shows can grow stagnant after a while. Thankfully this one doesnt. Perhaps the only thing that would make this programme even better would have been just a bit more mention of the SSon of God too. But aside fro that, this series was incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heavenly, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
excellent buy, i bought as a present for parents, as they are christians they were hooked on this dvd set.
now i have bought series 1 i am going to have to buy the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Touched By an Angel: Complete First Season [DVD] [1994] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a wonderful box set at a great price. Very uplifting and encouraging. A friend borrowed the set and couldn't stop talking about how much it encouraged him. I have also bought this set for my mum for Christmas and I would highly recomend it to everyone. A great gift for yourself or a loved one. (This is region 1 so your dvd player will need to be multi region)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews