Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended
I ordered one of these for my acoustic guitar, and have been pleasantly surprised. When it first arrives, it doesn't make much sense how it would work, but you apply it, get the screw right, and it just clips on correctly! Ingenious.

The rubber pad makes sure it doesn't bend the strings, unlike the ones that clip to the strings, and it easily adjusts to fit a...
Published on 12 Sep 2009 by David Whewell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great until you lose the rubber part
this is a great capo, since the time that i got it it hasn't gone out of tune when i have used it and it hasn't ruined the stings.
my one complaint of this product is that the rubber part at the end of the screw to determine how tight the capo should be is not attached to it and can be taken off with ease. if this piece of rubber gets lost the capo is unusable and...
Published on 4 July 2010 by Guitar man


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended, 12 Sep 2009
By 
David Whewell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
I ordered one of these for my acoustic guitar, and have been pleasantly surprised. When it first arrives, it doesn't make much sense how it would work, but you apply it, get the screw right, and it just clips on correctly! Ingenious.

The rubber pad makes sure it doesn't bend the strings, unlike the ones that clip to the strings, and it easily adjusts to fit a wide range of guitars (6 string acoustic, 12 string acoustic and my electric all take just a 5 second tweak on the screw to get it the right size for each).

Having played with fiddly ones on elastic, that clip to the strings or so forth, I have to say this model is MUCH better - better results and easier to use. Get one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, BUT the specification is not complete, 29 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
Ordered this capo, which arrived in good condition and on time. It's a nice looking product and works well. HOWEVER, unless I missed it in the specification, the product details do not tell you that Shubb supply this product in different versions for different types of guitars. Amazon should make this clear. The one supplied to me is for an electric guitar, whereas I only play acoustic. I just get away with the one supplied on a 3/4 size guitar for my son, but will need to order another one for my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shubb Capo C1, 3 Nov 2009
By 
J. Deans (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
Simple and easy to use Capo that does not knock your tuning out each time it is used - a real bonus. I have fitted it to my Fender strat (when needed - yes I know there are lots of arguments about not using a Capo at all, but I do find it adds a nice tone to the guitar as well as making life simpler). Easy operation but not a quick release system as used elsewhere - saying that, it only takes seconds to put on or take off, and I've never needed to take one off mid song! Can be fitted in either direction, although I prefer fitting from the top as it makes it easier when using the G,B and E strings and you dont foul the locking mechanism with your hand. Comes in brass or silver so you can match it with your guitar hardware if that's important to you. Dont buy a cheap Capo, spend a few more quid (euro's, dollar etc)and get something that will last. One last point - Shubb make a different Capo for vintage electric guitars, but unless you have an actual vintage guitar, you dont need to get the special capo as one of these will fit almost everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
Tried many other elastic - string based capo's - all proceeded to knock the tuning out on my guitars. Tried this one; result. Would highly reccomend this to anyone thinking of purchasing a capo. top quality A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great until you lose the rubber part, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
this is a great capo, since the time that i got it it hasn't gone out of tune when i have used it and it hasn't ruined the stings.
my one complaint of this product is that the rubber part at the end of the screw to determine how tight the capo should be is not attached to it and can be taken off with ease. if this piece of rubber gets lost the capo is unusable and you will have to get another.
other wise this is a great product, its lasted 4-5 years and it has been a great accessory for my guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class product., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
I've found that the type of capo you use is a matter of personal preference. I like the Scubb as it is unobtrusive and easy to use. It is very well made and great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking little capo!, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
Great little capo, this! It is very well made - lovely deep chrome finish with a thick, tough rubber press which has just the right amount of softness give in it to press all of the strings down equally. It is surprisingly small and very slim and practically gets lost in the average pocket, and it can be left on the guitar neck in pretty much all guitar cases and gig bags. Nice weight to it for such a small item which really gives it a quality feel that belies its low price - potential gifters take note! It can be operated and moved up / down the guitar neck with a single hand in a heartbeat with a tiny bit of practice. The really brilliant thing though about this capo (and others of a similar design) is that its tension can be perfectly adjusted to suit a wide range of guitar necks, string types, etc. through the use of the adjustment knob at the bottom, which is small but nice and solid and very easy to turn. You can either have it set in advance, or you can adjust it with the capo in place. No "one tension for all" problems with this capo - you can set it with just enough tension to stop all string buzzing but without pressing the string down into the fret to make the notes sharp. This feature and its design generally also seems to be very kind to the back of the guitar neck.

Another point to note - this capo does not rely upon any spring-based mechanism, and so should perform consistently over a long time with no maintenance.

At his price, at this quality, with this design and functionality, buying this for yourself or a guitar player you love (or I guess just "like") is a no-brainer. I've tried a fair few capos now and in my humble opinion this one thrashes the lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2013 Shubb 6 String Capo with wheel, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
Capos are a very subjective thing! It takes a while to find the one that suits your guitar best. The new model Shubb with the wheel is very smooth. It seems to suit one of my guitars very well and another provided I use it upside down. Some minor retuning is still required. I, recently, also purchased a 12 string Shubb that seems ideal and works very well on 6 strings too. Would also recommend a look at Jim Dunlop trigger capos,although the rubbers on those tend to be 'grooved' the strings more than Shubbs, they are quite good at preserving the tuning/intonation without a retune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Capo Ever Used, 23 July 2011
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
Over the years I have used a good few different types of capos from cheap to expensive, top market brands to bottom market brands. I wish that I had found this one earlier. It is well made, extremely simple to use and looks as though it will last a lifetime (apart from replacing the rubbers , if replacements are available) Although it is expensive at around the 24 market value, by shopping around you can get it cheaper. I got mine for less than half price. I would recommend this capo for the absolue beginner through to the old and bold professionals. Do be careful though when you make a purchase by making sure you get the right one for your guitar neck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wife prefers it to her old capo, 4 Jan 2011
By 
T. Tibbenham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel (Electronics)
This was a gift and is much appreciated by my wife and her playing partner. They prefer Shubb capo's because they work and are easier to use than some other makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shubb Guitar Capo - Nickel
12.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews