Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars117
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2000
Absolutely delightful! Great fun and camp beyond belief! The story goes that the studio were all ready to make a movie version of The Boyfriend when suddenly they realised they did not have the rights to the songs! What to do? I know, why not do our own musical using the sets, costumes and cast that we have all lined up and ready to go! From the opening titles, where we see the hilarious transformation of Julie Andrews' Millie from a plain jane to a thoroughly modern, through to the hilarious round-up of villains and the subsequent end titles, this is a masterpiece of comedy acting! As you would expect with the likes of Julie Andrews, Mary Tyler Moore and Carol Channing, the songs and dancing get first class treatment. The famous 'lift scene' where Julie and Mary have to tap-dance to get the lift to work (due to a troupe of dancing girls who used to practice their routines in it, which did something to the mechanism) is hysterical. One-liners are strewn like rose petals all the way through the film and Beatrice Lillie as the White Slave Trader/House Mother is in fine fettle. The surprise of the film, to me at any rate, is James Fox as Jimmy. Not only does he show an exemplary flare for comedy but also his singing and dancing are not that bad! Everyone connected with the film seems to be having a whale of a time and it certainly comes over to the viewer. I can't wait for this to be released on DVD so that I can go to all my favourite spots in the film at the flick of a switch! Great fun, but only for those with a sense of humour!
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2006
Millie moved to New York with a plan. She was going to interview a list of potential bosses, accept employment with the most promising specimen and marry him. Love was not meant to be an issue. Things didn't go entirely to plan however. Her chosen boss, Mr Graydon, called her John and found her jolly efficient but not attractive. The man who did find her attractive, Jimmy, appeared to be a hopeless waster with no interesting prospects. Still, Millie was pretty smitten with Jimmy. He was a great dancer and made every moment an adventure. So she was quite straight with him and told him of her plans, pointed out that she was his equal and intended to meet men on their own terms, learn to talk sports, tell jokes, smoke, drink and (if she really had to) even kiss them back. After all it wasn't the middle ages, it was 1922! Meanwhile, there was shady criminal activity taking place in the hotel for single young ladies where Millie was living. Those young ladies who seemed to be lonely orphans, kept mysteriously leaving the hotel without a word of explanation or farewell to any of their friends. The final disappearance, of Miss Dorothy, finally rang alarm bells so Millie, Jimmy and Mr Graydon (who had fallen in love with Miss Dorothy at first sight) became sleuths and launched a dramatic and heroic rescue operation. It's all a lot more complicated than that really - but you get the idea.

It's a fantastic film. Fabulous costumes, music, songs, dancing and acting. Good story: sweet, funny, touching. Likely to be watched again and again. Bound to cheer you up if ever you're feeling blue. I recommend it.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2004
This is a spectacular musical production starring Julie Andrews as an eager young Millie Dillmount. She arrives in New York City in the 1920's seeking a secretarial job for a rich, handsome eligible boss. She decides to have her hair 'bobbed' to match the fashion of the time and even buys new clothes and beads. Millie checks into a women's hotel, run by Mrs Meers (an excellent character played by Beatrice Lillie), who also runs a white slavery ring, she meets the beautiful, naive Miss Dorothy (Mary Tyler Moore). Millie does suceed in getting her job with a very handsome boss, Trevor Graydon (John Gavin), but he only has 'eyes' for Miss Dorothy. Millie is therefore forced to do with Jimmy Smith (James Fox), a paper-clip salesman. They attend a party at the Long Island estate of the wealthy Muzzy van Hossmere (Carol Channing). Millie finds that Miss Dorothy has disappeared! When she and Jimmy detect the scent of opium in Mrs Meers's room, they realise she has a sideline. The valiant Jimmy must go in drag to uncover the whereabouts of the white slavers' hideout......Listen out for the 'Oh pook', 'sad to be all alone in the world' and 'shoe show', a catchphrase that will last forever!
The cast and crew perform admiraly in this light farce that is almost too sweet for its own good!
A must-see movie for all ages.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2002
i actually grew up on this film, and have been trying to get hold of a copy for ages. this is a classic in every sense of the word - the actors, the slapstick, the songs, the romance, and the silliness, all rolled into one. from the chinese white slave trader's "miss dorothy - pur hi" to the soy sauce being used to remove a stain on a beautiful white dress, and to carol channing's marvelously deep voice that actually breaks glass, i would recommend this film to anyone who's a child at heart. well worth buying.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2002
A fantastic hilarious movie which will keep you on the edge of your seat. 1922, Julie Andrews as no nosense small town girl Millie who is determined to find a perfect boss and marry him (she's 40 words a minute), love has nothing to do with it (she's a modern). But then along comes a dopy paperclip salesman called Jimmy and she ends up falling in love, but will she put aside her plans to marry her boss? No... not until he falls in love with her best friend(Mary Tyler Moore). All this interwined with a mystery tale of white slavery and what more could you ask for? The perfect movie.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2002
slapstick and songs dont come much better than this. Beatrice Lillie is a dry humoured old wag, and Carol Channing an absolute hoot, the trapeze, the rivalry between her voice and a deep saxophone, the bi-planes. Then there are the stars - Julie Andrews sings and dances with flair - particularly Baby Face with John Grayson(?), James Fox is as handsome as a star can get. Inventive and jolly, full of great fun and happiness, lively and upbeat, if you liked It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World then this is one for you as well.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2004
This is the sweetest funniest film i have ever seen, not 'Julie Andrews' best known work but certainatly one of the funniest!! Following Millie through her high society mishapps and her plege to marry her boss for millie truly is in demand!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2004
Just received my DVD of Millie and loved it.A very cleverly put together movie.Julie at her best,Carol Channing wowed me.Mary Tyler Moore was so sweet as Miss Dorothy.Don't make them like this any more.James Fox so cute ....what else has he done since?????This is a must for any musical fan and especially a Julie Andrews Fan.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Saw this 'period' musical when I was a young boy (i.e. a long time ago!). It is still a really funny entertaining film that should appeal to everybody today. I would recommend anybody to buy this film and sit back and enjoy it for what it is.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
The problem is that George Roy Hill just doesn't seem to know what to do with the musical numbers, so he does everything. And it's all too much. I found it bright to the point of hysteria, shrill, and totally charmless. John Gavin and Bea Lillie steal the show by doing less. Actually John Gavin's a hoot. But it's a pity Bea wasn't given better material. Carol Channing reveals why she wasn't offered the film of Hello Dolly, and Julie Andrews and Mary Tyler Moore are just too old. I loved it when I was a kid, and obviously many people love it still, which is great, but at this point in time, it just doesn't hold up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)