Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars62
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.01+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2016
Great price, great film. DVD as expected. Bought to replace the R1 disk originally bought when first released in U.S. Film every bit as good as the John Wayne one I first saw (and own).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
I bought this because I missed it. On the tv so wanted to watch and enjoyed it more than the original as it extends on from the Alamo to another battle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Strangely dull, more like a lavish documentary. Most likely more historically accurate than the John Wayne 1960 version but nowhere near as engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2005
Texas good, Mexico bad. Slow start, but builds up very well. Fantastic character acting and epic battle scenes. Only works if you can stomach American patriotism. Billy Bob Thornton is excellent, and I really enjoyed this film. Historically inaccurate as Braveheart and most war films are. War and history buffs will enjoy, and want to know more. Your girlfriend will kill you if you watch this on a date. Your wife will complain and go to bed. One for the chaps perhaps.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
more realistic than the john wayne shoot-em-up version, more BBC4 than hollywood, pity that i could not find it on blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
on a par with the original but without the stirring song (and the men came from texas )but it is far more accurate, and far more embracing in its scale , a very good male style film , that does not divert to far from histoy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
great acting particularly billy bob thornton as davey(david) crockett and the storyline is about as accurate as is possible although crocketts death scene is hotly contested by some americans as its not as much the heroic death as they would like,but it is based on a dairy found a few years ago.the story follows the american fight for texas against the mexicans who then owned texas but allowed settlers to live there.santa anna was the leader or rather dictator of the mexican territories who modelled himself on nepoleon he was also ruthless.the finest scene is the fiddle playing one although there are many others including some great fight scenes.this is much better the the john wayne version more realistic and true to life.im not 100% sure but i think the film was made to this length because that was the length of the final battle at the alamo.it is the most fantastic movie and is something you will watch more than once i have.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
THE MUCH MORE REALISTIC VERSION OF THE ALAMO.

EVEN MY WIFE THOUGHT IT WAS "BRILLIANT" AND SHE IS USUALLY NOT KEEN ON "WESTERNS"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Having sen the original film starring John Wayne and Richard Widmark when i was a child, my wife and I realised my lifelong ambition of visiting San Antonio and the Alamo 4 years ago. Having recently read The Blood of Heroes by James Donovan, this film is an extremely accurate depiction of the events of the 13 days of the Alamo siege and the aftermath - the defeat of Santa Anna by Sam Houston. There were one or two events in the film, such as the capture of David Crockett and Jim Bowie's use of weapons from his sick bed which were abviously done to embellish the story (artistic licence and all that) but, all in all, an excellent film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
A very authentic and often moving recreation of the fall of the Alamo. When the end comes, it comes very quick and brutal, which is exactly how it would have been. Fine acting, superb music score and lavish detail.

The thing that gets me about this film is that its totally ruined by running on with what happened next, as if to disguise the loss with ultimate victory (remember the awful Pearl Harbour, made even more awful by the pointless running on depiction of the Doolittle Raid!) Just end the damn film with what it was....a defeat against superior odds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)