Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic bbq
I have one of the tripod barbecue. It is fantastic. the cooking area is very big. the medievil style chain to raise the cooking area is brilliant. It can be ajusted to any level you require, and with ease. The chain dosn't get hot or even warm to handle. The style of this bbq is a good talking point and on many bbq nights has got people trying it out and loving it. Its...
Published on 29 April 2010 by mcc dor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but watch quality
I bought one of these from Go Outdoors and one of the legs was defective so it went back for a replacement. It's not heavy duty but it works and can be collapsed which is good. Ok for the price but if your looking for something that will last etc I would go for the fixed ones made by an black smith! ;-)

UPDATE 9/7/14 So I had the product replaced with a new one...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. R. Owens


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic bbq, 29 April 2010
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
I have one of the tripod barbecue. It is fantastic. the cooking area is very big. the medievil style chain to raise the cooking area is brilliant. It can be ajusted to any level you require, and with ease. The chain dosn't get hot or even warm to handle. The style of this bbq is a good talking point and on many bbq nights has got people trying it out and loving it. Its always admired and given thumbs up. I always wrap potatoes in foil and put them in the bottom coal try whilst cooking on top. everything cooks perfectly. cant prase it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmann tripod bbq, 9 Aug. 2010
By 
C. A. Brine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
This item was brought to cover two uses, bbq and fire pit for the long hot summer nights.

This is an excellent item as it can be two units in one and is excellent on unlevel ground.

Because as the fire gets going the bbq tray can be kept high and the food smoked which gives a great flavour as the fire gets older the food tray can lowered to cook the food faster.

When the cooking is over the tripod can be removed to leave you with a fire pit to use for the rest of the night.

Excellent product and value for money a must buy for those who enjoy outdoor living at this time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy!, 3 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
We had been using a gas barbecue for a few years because of the speed with which you could start cooking; it's instant, after all. But, let's face it, a gas barbecue is really just an outdoor grill, none of that smoky, charcoal taste that a real barbecue offers. I cannot tell you how pleased I am with this one. What a find! It heats quickly (we are able to put food on within 20mins or so), has a large grilling surface, and, above all, the flexibility given by the facility to move the grill as far or near to the coals as necessary means that the half a dozen times we've used it we've had all types of meats grilled to perfection, nothing burnt, nothing half-done, everything just right. Have done the usual: steak, chops, sausages, not blackened or frazzled! Then whole shoulders of lamb, and whole small individual chickens have been cooked perfectly, quick, slow, quick, just by moving the grill level up and down. Vegetable parcels, baked potatoes, corn - I cannot speak highly enough of this little invention. Its new take on ancient mechanisms gives it something of the medieval pit fire feeling and it is a great talking point when friends see it for the first time. I feel I can now give it rave reviews and you can order one, tout suite, as I've just placed my second order. Figure there can be a run on them once I have one on each side of the patio! If there is one small criticism it is that you have to remember that the grill is dangling and therefore moves around when you're turning the food over. It takes a little getting used to but you work out your own technique. I've noticed that there are several more of this style of barbecue on the market now but this is far and away the cheapest and excellent value for money. I am not usually an enthusiastic barbecuer - it all seems too much effort for the usually over- or under-done food it produces. But this little number has turned me into Barbecue Bob (remember,from Frasier?). If you like barbecues but don't like carbonised food go for this one. It's a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its summertime and the weather is fine. . . ., 23 May 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
Very into outdoor cooking and have had this barbeque since Sept 2011.

I've used it a few times and dug it out of the shed today as the kids are hassling me to do a Jubilee celebration for the family during the June bank Hol. I caved in :(

I'll definitely be using this as it's so good. It's better than your kettle or drum BBQ for me as you have total control over the tempersture. So simple.

The set up is basic. A fire bowl which you attach three legs to with a screw and a washer in each and the triangular frame which is three legs with a pulley attached to the top which a chain runs through and is three-way hooked onto the grill. So you can higher or lower it, that's it! It takes ten mins max to put together and comes apart just as quickly too.

The firebowl needs about 3-5 kg of charcoal, its deep and could be used as a little firepit on chilly night's too.The cooking area of the grill is big! It says 50 sq cm (19.5 inches diameter) in the product description but I think its a tad bigger. You can get loads on there and they say enough for 8, which is spot on! The whole kit kaboodle once erected measures a mighty 58 inches high! Its most certainly a talking point when folk see it in all it's foodilicious glory for the first time. The grill can move a bit when moving food around but you'll get the knack of it quickly enough.

I've cooked whole sweetcorns to mouthwatering perfection on this, my own recipie BBQ sauce ribs and chicken (people kill each other over it at my house!) I've done a spatchcock chicken with garlic, butter and a squeeze o' lemon on this mighty beast too aswell as my own recipie burgers. Jobs a goodun!

Now the grill is brill but. . .I got my mate to make me a thin stainless steel plate to fit onto the grill so I have a surface to cook on if need be.

The chain pulley system works perfectly. When you have your required height to cook at, you just hook the chain onto a hook (funnily enough!) to keep it at that level. Dead easy. I've uploaded a pic or two with little notes on em!

Hope this helps! Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 6 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
Went for a weekend away with friends and family, this was a talking point as it helped to feed everyone, then it kept everyone warm, as it was a cold evening. Kept the kids busy too, they were foraging for wood. Fantastic product, great VFM!Easy to assemble too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed thoughts but a definite go-er!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
Its ok. I mean, I hummer and arrred about this purchase for about a year ( over winter) because of the very different reviews. In the end it got reduced from £30 to £17, so I just went for it.
The result? Well, both sets of reviews are right. The stand is the weak link and the top could come off! The triangle in the middle is more suitable to having wing nuts if you intend at transporting this (e.g. camping, days out, etc).
It is also a great item if you are careful. The bowl and grill are great and big! The grill does move a bit but nothing that experience and/or a pair of extra thongs whilst you turn the food won't sort. Although, I went for the safest and used a 3x 30cm lengths of metal garden wire to help stabilising the grill ( applied at grill height straight to each leg) and that does reduce the swing significantly.

Does it deserve 4*. For function, its 3*; but taking into account the price, then it's 4*. If you are willing to perhaps replace the legs for a more sturdy set then you could say its 5* for the bowl and grill which are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best BBQ ever!, 20 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
Took this bbq to Le Mans to cook every night for 8 hungry blokes.....the BBQ is superb and all of the crew were off to buy one, why very simple.....

1. Heat regulation is fantastic with a pulley system that gives you total flexibility, the ability to spin the grill is also great in allowing an even distribution of heat throughout cooking.
2. Meat remains very juicy and succulent as a result of point one.
3. Cooks a mass of meat, due to a really generous cooking area.
4. Heat is great and managed a whole turkey leg without drying meat out.
5. Can (maybe not supposed to) be used as a fire pit after.
6. Very portable so good to pack away, especially if off camping.
7. Easy to clean.

I have spent a lot of money on different bbqs before and now realise you can get something for a fraction of the price that works better than most. Read the previous reviews and got on recommendation, so thanks to those who rated before, a great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great bbq, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a wonderful barbecue set:
- the grill is large enough to fit food for 6 to 8 people.
- the adjustable height means you can start cooking while the fire is still burning and you can use wood or coal for your bbq
- because of the tripod and pulley system it can sit even on not even surfaces without the risk of tipping over
- you can push the grill around as you like an the food will not fall off
- and you can certainly cannot beat the price

There are negative aspects though:
- there is no lid so you can't use it for smoking or keeling the food warm
- the coal dish is a bit shallow so there is no wind protection; in case the wind is blowing it is going to give you a hard time as it will cool down the grill and the food will take longer to cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This product is inspired, 22 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
Blew my mind!
Fabulous piece of kit. Really good value. Easy to assemble and lightweight.
I feared the chain would be too hot to touch when lit but not at all.
Useful in places where fires are not permitted on the grass.
After cooking remove the hanging tripod and load up the basin with wood for a nice little after dinner camp fire!!! Lush!
Only minor critisim is the legs which you screw onto the coal/wood basin did not screw on tightly meaning they don't seem solid but in a sense that was useful on uneven ground. Did not detract from the products otherwise excellent character.
The hanging grill seems to rotate slowly evenly cooking your meet.
The entirely variable grill height is an inspired creation...
The inventor is a genius...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Piece of Kit, 14 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue (Garden & Outdoors)
This item is perfect for BBQing and also for backwoods cooking. Within an hour of receiving the Landman I had charcoal burning and then sausages cooking perfectly. The adjustable chain is perfect for regulating the temperature. Last night I lit a fire in a fire pit and used the tripod and rack to cook more food over the dying embers - such a versatile design; you can position the rack over any fire. Planning to get some fish going on it next. If you love cooking outdoors then this is the kit for you; great for camping as it packs down. Very sturdy, can't believe the price. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Landmann Tripod Charcoal Barbecue
£31.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews