Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Martin quality
CF Martin has been a name of quality in the guitar world since 1833 when the company was set up and it has remained so since then. Although mass-produced, unlike James Olson's and others handbuilds, they have always had a sound all of their own and, in the hands of so many well-known artists - Eric Clapton, Paul Simon, Elvis Presley, Beatles - have always had a wide...
Published on 9 Dec. 2011 by RR Waller

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too LIght For Me?
I am now on to my third octave G string - maybe it is me but the 010 guage doesn't seem very robust. Just ordered a light rather than extra light set so will try restringing and see if that works.
Published 19 months ago by rroseselavy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Martin quality, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
CF Martin has been a name of quality in the guitar world since 1833 when the company was set up and it has remained so since then. Although mass-produced, unlike James Olson's and others handbuilds, they have always had a sound all of their own and, in the hands of so many well-known artists - Eric Clapton, Paul Simon, Elvis Presley, Beatles - have always had a wide following. Choosing their woods with great skill and care, mass production of the highest quality and hand-building at certains stages, allowed them to produce great guitars at (almost) sensible prices and now they have a wide range; making their own strings was an obvious move.

These are one of their medium-priced strings, the Phosphur Bronze, produced in a range of tensions. I have used these on my Martins for some time (as well as trying other Martin strings) and these are excellent. Firstly, there is nothing quite like seeing a newly strung guitar, as the deep bronze colouring gives them a look of real quality, set against the solid sitka spruce most of them have. Secondly, with a new set of strings, the true quality of Martins is heard, the deep resonant bass, brilliant, clear treble and that sustain. I have used these strings on my HD28, 00028-EC and the OM42 and they all respond beautifully.

These are not their best strings but they are very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Strings, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Shearer (Thurso, Caithness United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fitted these strings to my Tanglewood acoustic guitar after a long search through various famous named competitors each which had sounded dead/dull after about 2/3 weeks of intense Django-esque strumming - these will make a difference buy them now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good strings, nice sound, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Anderson (Hadleigh, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been using Martin strings for a few years now. They are good quality and produce a lovely rich sound on my own electro-acoustic guitar, whether I'm finger-picking or strumming with a pick. A very good price for a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives the sound I wanted, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have tried a wide range of strings and for this particular Guitar these give the tone that I want, I sometimes use different strings on my other guitars but for this one ( it is a Martin) these strings give a clear crisp note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too LIght For Me?, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
rroseselavy (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am now on to my third octave G string - maybe it is me but the 010 guage doesn't seem very robust. Just ordered a light rather than extra light set so will try restringing and see if that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars check first, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings (12 String) - Bronze (Light, .012 - .054) (Electronics)
i made 2 mistakes here.

1. i searched 12 string sets and when i saw a 9 gauge set advertised i bought it. when it arrived it was a 6 string set.
2. in my temper i searched again and made sure i had a 12 string set only to find it was a 12 gauge set and far too heavy for comfortable playing and tuning. my mistake so i'll put up with it, just make sure you order exactly what you want and buy anything if you dont have time to research it properly.

as i'm on amazon prime, all sets arrived next day...cant fault that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 24 July 2014
Not sure how these can be made in Mexico, shipped over to UK and then delivered to little old me in very rural Scotland all for a fiver, but I'm sure not complaining. Good strings, doesn't appear to improve my playing, but can't expect miracles. Would not hesitate to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars value and quality, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings (12 String) - Bronze (Light, .012 - .054) (Electronics)
great strings and proof that you need not spend a fortune on NANO WEB STUFF OUT THERE ..they are great too but expensive. buy Martins and clean them with fast fret and they will last for yonks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT FIT AND PLAYABILITY!, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings (12 String) - Bronze (Light, .012 - .054) (Electronics)
I have owned a CF Martin J40M since 1990. The guitar has only bust a handful of strings. More often than not, I have fitted Martin strings. Last year I invested in an Adam Black 12 string guitar. The Adam Black strings have lasted well but they sounded very jangly. The Martin strings however, sound very nice and balanced. If you retune your 12 string to different tunings, you will cause your strings to fail. This goes for any make of 12 strings. The tension on a 12 string guitar at concert pitch can be around 135 pounds. That is more than twice that of a six string guitar. Because of that, the strings need to be changed more often. The secret of good string replacement is to put your thin strings 9, 10, 11, 12 on first then 1, 2, 3, 4 Thick strings then 5, 6, 7, 8. This will equalise the tension on the neck and will cause the strings and guitar to last longer. Buy a set today, you can't go wrong! Martin 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings (12 String) - Bronze (Light, .012 - .054)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good strings, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin 80/20 Acoustic Guitar Strings (12 String) - Bronze (Light, .012 - .054) (Electronics)
These are excellent strings bringing new life to my old Eko 12 string. Sharp sound and easy to play. Just need to be cleaned off after playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews