Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subvert and destroy
Don't be fooled by the no budget approach Adam and Joe take to programme making - if only more stations would take note. This is TV at its funniest - the Toy remakes (Se7en Dwarves, The Toy Patient, Toytanic, Showtoys, Furends, Shakesbear in Love), Vinyl Justice, the "Songs" (their homage to Robert De Niro is my favourite)...I could go on and on. Buy this video...
Published on 4 April 2001

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you might think
I recently bought this video after watching Adam & Joe for years. Because of the many many laughs I've had from watching the classic Channel 4 show, then the Animation shows that they did, and now Adam & Joe Go Tokyo (which keeps me in stitches everytime I watch it) I finally decided to buy this video for the sake of the good days gone by. I was quite disapointed...
Published on 3 July 2003 by Sam Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subvert and destroy, 4 April 2001
By A Customer
Don't be fooled by the no budget approach Adam and Joe take to programme making - if only more stations would take note. This is TV at its funniest - the Toy remakes (Se7en Dwarves, The Toy Patient, Toytanic, Showtoys, Furends, Shakesbear in Love), Vinyl Justice, the "Songs" (their homage to Robert De Niro is my favourite)...I could go on and on. Buy this video now! Support the revolution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A&J Gods of Comedy, 25 Jun 2000
By 
Buy this video and you will laugh till you cry. I have been and Adam and Joe fan for years and this video only makes a fan...well laugh even more and remember the good times :)
Mark xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Bad Dads' of comedy!, 9 May 2001
By A Customer
Agree with all the above - these two are hilarious! Used to stay up especially to watch them when they first started out and I remember thinking back then that their programme was the funniest thing I'd seen in ages. And now I can watch them all day (it's still funny even when you know what's coming!) Highlights for me are when they enter a grocery store to investigate just what '25% free' actually means, and of course, 'Room for Change' - pure genius!
Give them their own channel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy-tacular., 4 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Adam And Joe Show [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Adam and Joe give us their first DVD and claim somewhat on the title menu that it is badly put together and such..but it really isn't. I may be a sad geek but the series' menu screens are the best ones i've ever seen! aside from it looking fab and sounding fab (instead of the same loop of sound rotating every 30 seconds you get different loops and i found myself sitting there waiting to see what else would happen) the things that made Ad&Joe so well known are all on here, all the toy film spoofs are present and also available to see seperately in their own menu thingy (it goes on!) and all the Star Wars figure sketches are here too. Altogether this is a very well put together DVD that feeds nostalgia and is very funny too, of course not everything i remember from the series is on here but i live in hope for the best of Adam and Joe - Part 2.
which would be just like them :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It is the abyss", 14 Sep 2006
By 
A. Ball - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adam And Joe Show [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The Adam & Joe show was a hilarious pop culture parody show that originally went out late on a Friday night, so you either a: went out and missed it, or b: stayed in and forgot to watch it. So this DVD is a dream come true for all us early-twenty somethings who have vague but happy memories of Vinyl Justice, Baaaad Dad, Toytanic, Room For Change, and all the rest.
Evidently though, A&J weren't mainstream enough to be granted a complete DVD box-set so this is a 'Best of' DVD, and that's all we're getting for now. As Joe says in one skit, "You can tell a lot about a person by the type of compilation they make", so what about this one?
The selection is weighted quite heavily towards the spoof toy movies. Some of the subject matter has dated slightly (like 'Ally McSqueal') but the attention to detail that Adam & Joe put into their mickey-taking is unmatched by anyone else. 'Toytanic' in particular has you pointing at the screen and shouting 'Yes! That's EXACTLY what I've been saying about that STUPID subplot!' Other spoofs like the 1980's house and 'People Place' have been distilled down to one or two episodes. Fine for casual viewers, but not an improvement for anyone smart enough to tape the original airing. The daftest edit is surely including parts one and two of 'Record Store Guide' but not the final part; which was a trip to a Virgin Megastore.
The extras menu saves the day, though. There's a proper doc about Ad & Joe, loads of songs (including the immortal 'Roscoe H. Spellgood'), all the toy and Star Wars figure spoofs presented on a virtual bookshelf, the complete story of Ken Korda's band and movie, and Baaaad Dad (Adam's real dad) reminiscing about his time investigating 'yoof' culture.
But the crowning glory has to be the Best of Vinyl Justice. Adam & Joe's brand of pop culture riffing reaches it's funniest and daftest as the Vinyl Justice Squad raid rock stars homes and expose shameful records, from Status Quo, to Mark E Smith's copy of 'Keep on Truckin''. They weren't real policemen of course, but as Adam points out, they did have badges with Nick Berry's face on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Post pub TV at its finest, 24 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Adam And Joe Show [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
In the good old days when pubs stopped serving at 11pm, you could always come home on a Friday or Saturday night to a niche market so well captured by Channel 4, post pub TV tagging on after the drossy US sitcoms to entertain you after returning from the Dog & Duck. Shows like Adam & Joe, Karaoke Goldfish & TV Offal.
That's how I first discovered Adam & Joe - the amateur filmed topical sketch show produced by two lads, and taking a swipe at popular film & music, mostly with the use of children's toys. Sophisticated it wasn't, but its general laddish stupidity was always amusing and its satirical swipe at tedious films like Titanic, Trainspotting, Friends, Saving Private Ryan and The Royale family featuring the cast of Star Wars never failed to hit the spot.
Then there was Adam Buxton's dad appearing as Baaad Dad, giving his view of chart music, and his particular disgust at the video to Firestarter by Prodigy is legendary. It was almost like playing chart music to your 85 year old grandparents.
The only bad bit of this DVD is that it doesn't feature the spoof of the flat eric levi's jeans adverts which A&J did as it was one of the greatest moments on the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Funnier than a smack by a wet fish., 5 April 2000
By A Customer
Adam and Joe, those Brixton Boys have made many a cuddly toy famous, and with MItsy the poodle, have found the sex symbol for 2000. Watch this video with season 1 and 2, including the classic Ball Ball Ball song, and try not to laugh. Go on. I dare you Well, go on!
MOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe, meet Adam, Adam, meet Joe., 23 Sep 2004
By 
Mr. G. C. Cutter "cutter_me" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adam And Joe Show [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Last time I heard about Adam and Joe, I was a pre-teen staying up past his bedtime, watching Channel 4 in amazement. Toy animals were working in pole dance clubs and an old man in an armchair was doing pop reviews from an age-worn perspective. Meanwhile, two men called Adam and Joe swore and made fun of people in their bedroom. This kind of thing tends to leave an impression.
Firstly, I'd like to say how glad I am that i picked up this DVD. At this point in time, it's a retrospective of the best of all 4 series and is packed with extra features like 'The Story of Adam and Joe' which will please the seasoned fans, and plenty of content to catch new fans. Endlessly quotable;
'It'll be just you, me....and my hair!'
'Any chance of just me and the hair?'
(Furends)
....it has more moments of laugh out loud hilarity than most comedies can drag out over longer series. There are plenty of ideas ('Top 3 Things NOT to put in a microwave', 'Quizzlestick', '1980's House'), and Adam and Joe are brave enough to go out into the world and make fools of themselves for the sake of a luagh. It's also quite startling just who pops up over the course of the DVD; Frank Black from the Pixies is arrested over his dodgy vinyl collection, a young Louis Theroux makes an appearance as a budding actor and the Beta Band pay a brief (and mute) visit.
Of course, pastiche can wear thin with some people, and a lot of the toy movie spoofs won't make sense unless you've seen the films the so lovingly destroy, but if you know your stuff when it comes to modern film, T.V and music, you'll get along fine.
Adam and Joe! I salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Want this DVD you do. Buy it now you will.", 1 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Adam And Joe Show [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
"Live from the Carbon Freezing Chamber, it's 'Star Wars In Their Eyes' with Mat-Chew Kelly!"
Adam and Joe's Channel 4 show finally comes to DVD!
Enter the bizarre world of their Star Wars action figures where C3P0 works as a street mime, R2D2 works on a building site, Chewbacca is a TV presenter, Ben Kenobi is a hopeless alcoholic and Luke constantly tries to bed his sister...
Four compilations of the best bits of all four series make up most of this DVD release (over 2 hours of footage). Including all the best toy movie spoofs - Toytanic, Toytrainspotting, Furends, Ally McSqueal, Stuffed Trek and Saving Private Lion.
But, it's the extras collection which is most impressive. BaaaDad Nigel Buxton talks you through his time on the series, Adam & Joe talk you through the best of 'Vinyl Justice' and Ken Korda gives you his full guides to making it in the movies and forming a pop band.
There is also 'Adam and Joe's World of Sound' which is a collection of audio clips including some of their more famous songs from the show - The Footie Song, The Tetris Song, The Jazz Queens and, of course, the great 'Star Trek TNG Song' as sung by Adam Buxton's Louise. Also included is audio of Zac Sanders (a very exciting young talent they picked up from outside his house) calling some late-night radio phone-ins.
'The Story of Adam and Joe' is a great 40 minute documentary charting the career of Adam & Joe from their first experiments with a camera, through their TakeoverTV appearances, the unbroadcasted 'Stuffe' to 'The Adam and Joe Show' itself and the many songs provided by Zac Sanders. This documentary features lots of behind-the-scenes footage and many never-before-seen outtakes and goofs. (Includes early footage of Louis Theroux - if that can be seen as a selling point!)
There are also two great commentaries on Ken Korda's videos and one for Toytanic.
Overall this is a great release and I recommend you buy it now! If you don't already love Adam and Joe, you will if you buy this DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you might think, 3 July 2003
By 
Sam Robinson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I recently bought this video after watching Adam & Joe for years. Because of the many many laughs I've had from watching the classic Channel 4 show, then the Animation shows that they did, and now Adam & Joe Go Tokyo (which keeps me in stitches everytime I watch it) I finally decided to buy this video for the sake of the good days gone by. I was quite disapointed.
It's true to say that Adam & Joe's sense of humour has certainly matured into something far more entertaining over the course of their TV career, and after looking back at these old 'Best' bits, makes it clear that I as a viewer have matured with them.
This video certainly has it's moments, such as Room for Change, where they totally ruin one man's room beyond a joke, and the 20% Free Shopping, whereby they go into a Spar Store and start drinking and eating the 20% free parts of drinks and chocolate bars. Adam's attempt at creating a piss up in a brewery will also raise a smile, but it seems that a most of the video is filler, just to stretch the viewing time to the hour and a half that it is.
The video is flooded with the 'Toy' stories, which may have once seemed unique and hilarious, but now just seem mundane and lacking.
Series 3 of the Adam & Joe Show and the Animation series they did totally eclipses the first two series as humourous entertainment. It's only a shame that they haven't been released on video.
Get your friend to buy this, and then just borrow it off him, you'll regret paying for it.
Let's hope that the BBC release Adam & Joe Go Tokyo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adam And Joe Show [DVD] [1996]
The Adam And Joe Show [DVD] [1996] by Adam Buxton (DVD - 2004)
12.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews