Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly engrossing
On paper this film sounds terrible. Rich London socialite Angaline Jolieis newly married when the pleas from an aid worker inspire her to travelto Ethiopa and help the starving. Yawn !!! I encountered this movie ona 12 hour flight with no intention of watching it. Except that whilechannel flicking I repeatedly found myself transfixed by the images onscreen. In the...
Published on 23 April 2004

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars suprising
I was standing at my local video store looking for something to watch. I got this film out as a last resort and was hugely suprised by how good it was. Now i'm not talking oscar here, but it was compelling. I admire Jolie because she is clearly using this film as a way of highlighting the world issues she spends so much of her free time pioneering for. The love...
Published on 20 Aug 2004 by Tatiana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden treasure, 21 Mar 2005
By 
Jon C (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, thought provoking film which appeals to the viewer on many different levels... there is something for everyone while still retaining an integrity which lifts it above the usual hollywood fare. Great and believable performances, especially from Owen.
Like a previous reviewer, I had not heard of this film previously but came across it on a DVD review. What is the point of making such an excellent film and not publicising it properly?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 20 Aug 2004
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
Because this film hasn't been highly advertised in the UK I had never heard of it before seeing the trailer.
It covers ground no other studio would dare - the gritty world of a relief worker who would bend the rules to get aid to the suffering. Refreshingly different.
I really didn't trust Angelina Jolie after Tomb Raider, but she is convincing here.
If you're spending a night in, this is great for entertainment. It's also a movie about the wider issues of humanitarian crisis that are happening in the world today, without being preachy about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars suprising, 20 Aug 2004
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
I was standing at my local video store looking for something to watch. I got this film out as a last resort and was hugely suprised by how good it was. Now i'm not talking oscar here, but it was compelling. I admire Jolie because she is clearly using this film as a way of highlighting the world issues she spends so much of her free time pioneering for. The love element is also believable and actually quite touching.
It's was lot more cleaver than I initially gave it credit for. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angelina is a sight to behold, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say, I love Angelina as an actress. She is talented and beautiful. Enjoyed the film too ;-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Denied, 11 Dec 2010
By 
Alyson Montemagno (Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't an A+ movie, but there is something about it, that keeps drawing you to it. Of course, the theme, of third world countries' suffering and lack of help, the scandal of governments and the atrocities are all true and made very realistic.

The acting by the excellent Clive Owen, Angelina Jolie and others in smaller roles, whose names I don't even know, were magnificent I thought. The scenery, not shot on location was all so very real. I thought the screenplay was excellent, the story starting and moving forward, and a beautiful, denied love story. I think the choice of Owen and Jolie was superb, that you really believed them and forgot they were characters acting. I don't think that any actor, except Clive Owen, in his craft, could have looked at his daughter that way, at the end.

I only wish it was made from a book, I could have read first, to feel their inner most feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars received in good order. a good and interesting film with great ..., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
received in good order. a good and interesting film with great actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie. Thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Belief, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
What annoyed me about this film is that is deals with a very deep and profound subject in such a lightweight way.
Clive Owen and Angelina Jolie are not the problem. Both of them are the only reason why i kept watching. But I know a bit about Cambodia and i also know she would never have got close to him in Chechnya and survived.She would have been gang-raped and then killed. The Cambodian sequence is not a true portrayal of the Khmer Rouge. The writer and director could not even be bothered to find out what kind of clothes the Khmer Rouge wore. The most basic of details, completely ignored. Clive Owen's character would never have brought that little African kid all the way to show him to those people at the beginning because the child was near to death and Owen was playing a doctor and would have known that. He would have probably made a film of conditions instead, so that is pretty shallow in the way it was done, just for effect, with a writer and director most likely saying "hey do you know what would be really cool...bla bla bla." To do a story like this justice it needed to be about 45 minutes longer, and epic in the way that Dr Zhivago is epic, and written and directed by people who bothered to research the fine details and were more concerned about realism than sensationalism.This is just popcorn fodder, but if it plants a seed in some people and makes them want to go and help others, then it has served a higher purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost a great film, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
The write ups lead me to buy this dvd, and for most of it i enjoyed it. I just felt the film lost it's way a little towards the end. I am not a great fan of Clive Owen, mainly his voice, but the film as a whole was OK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The real humanitarian disaster is that this film was ever released, 18 July 2007
This review is from: Beyond Borders [DVD] (DVD)
No expense seems to have been spared to film around the world in exotic - if faux - locations (Namibia for Ethiopia, Thailand for Cambodia, Canada - less exotically - for the Caucasas and - totally implausibly - for the UK) which were then brilliantly enhanced by computer technology. The director claims that he aspired to making a film like 'Doctor Zhivago' - a love story set against a wider panorama of spectacular world events. This film fails miserably on both counts.
The supposed attraction between the two individually attractive stars totally fails to gel. Enough said about the love story.
As a portrayal of humanitarian work, the film was a horrible embarrassment to the agencies directly named or implied. It is cringingly inaccurate about their work and their modus operandi. Aside from the degree of anger and frustration exhibited by the hero, which I fantasised was directed at the role which he was being asked to play, I recognised very little in common with real humanitarian field work(ers). To the lay viewer it would seriously distort their perception of how the UN and NGOs behave, although the situations in which the charactors find themselves are all too accurate. I resorted to counting the number of ways in which Angelina Jolie's character contravened UN staff rules and codes of conduct, and imagining what could happen to her by way of internal or criminal proceedings: on balance she was lucky to end up as she did in the film. Such as shame given the actor's real life role as a UN Ambassador. I hope this is never shown in areas where humanitarian emergencies actually occur, because if the local people believe that this is how humanitarian workers really behave, we shall all be at serious risk.
This is probably the only film about humanitarian work that most people will see in their lives and I could weep at the opportunity lost to show something meaningful, true to life and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Borders [DVD]
Beyond Borders [DVD] by Martin Campbell (DVD - 2004)
£7.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews