Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dave Gorman is a genius, 16 Jan 2005
By 
P. Cox (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Dave Gorman is one of the best stand up comedians around. His enthusiasm and passion make you feel for him at every point in his story.
So why not 5 stars? Purely because he misses so much out that is in his book. Some of the greatest experiences (in my opinion) like the Welsh Rarebit Mini Club, and his experiences of waking up in Heathrow airport on new years day that sent him to American in the 1st place! I felt that this show was more of an advert for his book. However, he does go into more elaboration about events such as his tatoe and the 'google'.
SO!
If you have read his book of the same title, then this DVD is a must, no doubt about it.
If you havent read his book. Read it and THEN buy the DVD or it really wont make much sence.
Either way, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars But where are we at on the graphs?, 15 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Many years ago, on a BBC tv channel, tucked away on a Sunday night I came across Are You Dave Gorman? What's this I thought?... Hey this is funny, no, it's hilarious. The tale of a man being bet by a friend that he can't find 54 Dave Gormans (one for each card in the pack including the jokers).
Forward on a couple of years, and along comes Dave Gormans Important Astrology Experiment. Another hilarious slice of Dave Gormans sometimes unreal life and the scrapes he gets himself into. The tale of a man trying to find out if when he follows his horoscopes to the letters whether he will be better off for doing so.
Do you see a pattern. This is a man who can't resist a challenge.
Forward on a couple more years and a book appears Dave Gormans Googlewack Adventures. The tale of a man who trying to find out what a googlewack is, can he find one himself and what happens when a bet is involved. Once again a very funny read, laugh out loud, why and how does Dave Gorman get into these situations, word follows word, page follows page until you reach the end but selfishly you don't want it to stop.
Fortunately the ride continues with the release of the dvd of the book of the roller coaster that is Dave Gormans Googlewack Adventure;
As a showman Dave Gorman is in complete control of both the stage and his audience, he holds both in the palm of his hand and manipulates them wonderfully. His facial expressions brilliantly adding to the story, from bafflement to surprise to shock, through anger, into fear, and back out into joy. Dave can do them all. You will be laughing one second, wanting to put an arm round his shoulders in comfort the next then back to laughter a second later.
Be warned once you put this dvd on you will not pause, you will not think I could do with a cup of tea now, you will not notice the suns rays dipping down outside. This latest slice of sublime genius from Dave Gorman will transfix you. The only questions at the end you will be asking are "what will he do next? When will it come out? How can I get hold of it? And why oh why don't the BBC and Dave Gorman release Are you Dave Gorman and his Important Astrology Experiment?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave whacked my google!, 4 Jan 2005
By 
T. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this show live, I didn't expect the DVD to be very entertaining - how I was wrong! Dave's charisma shines through in this show, his jokes are as funny as ever and the absurdity of his adventure brings the audience to a new level of giggles. Be sure to check out the pop video that goes with this DVD! A must-have for anyone with the capacity to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Googlewhack, 2 Nov 2005
By 
OneCatEvil (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best comedy show I've seen in ages.
You start off slightly unsure but within a couple of minutes you're right there with him hoping he'll get his 10 in a row.
For all those who have woken up on trains at Landsend or Inverness with no idea why you thought it would be a good idea you must at least rent this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Gorman - Living legend, 7 Dec 2004
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Where do I begin? I have been aware of Dave Gorman for a few years after accidentally stumbling across his ingenious search for namesakes, one of the funniest and most interesting pieces of television I can remember. His unique brand of investigative comedy is brilliantly showcased in Googlewhack Adventure, and has the audience feeling like a friend of his, being invited into his world to experience exactly what he went through in the process of his googlewhacking. It is a testament to Mr. Gormans comedic ability that he conveys his journey in such a hilarious manner, despite obviously having such difficulties throughout (he admits to being on the brink of breakdown for much of it). He gives hope to every man who has grown a beard in order to be taken more seriously.
If you only buy one internet based, breakdown inducing inspirational DVD this year, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best stand up performances i have EVER seen!, 1 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. J. M. Nicholls "SatisEFC" (Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Upon buying this DVD, i had caught a few shows from Dave Gormans BBC2 show, "The Dave Gorman Collection". I thought he was very good and on the merit of these few shows i decided to buy this DVD.
I was not dissapointed!
What i was presented with is one of the best one man shows i have ever seen, taking the audience through the highs and lows of Daves quest to meet other Googlewhacks (explained during the show). If i tried to explain what the DVD was about and the reasons for his mission it would not do the show justice. Just as it would not have done his TV series justice if someone had explained it to me before i watched it (he tried to meet "loads" of other people who shared his name), i could not possibly do the show justice by trying to explain it on here. All i say is go and find out for yourselves!
Absolutly amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply .. Fantastic, 30 Aug 2005
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure is just one of the best DVD's around for pure 100% laugh-out-loud humour. The tale of the comdey genius's new year a couple of years back is intreaging and halarious. Not only does he provide the audience with a fantastic story, but his presentation skills used to fully enlighten the audience is superb.
This DVD is certainly one of those that can be repeatedly watched for many months - if not years to come. It is an unexpected rollercoaster of incredibly funny events (not for Dave however), keeping the viewer cpativated and crying with laughter at times.
I have many DVD's in my collection and i believe this to be truly the best of a good bunch .. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a part of this release !!!, 12 Jun 2004
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
A bit of a pre-review really - however two things have to be said:
1. The show itself is brilliant. One of the funniest things I've ever seen - all the more so if you take into account that it actually happened completely unplanned.
2. This has yet to be filmed, so if you want to be on it head over to the News section of [...] and an announcement as to when and where will follow soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally something better than the book version????, 14 Dec 2004
By 
M. Bee (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
I would never have thought I would say it (except about Lord of the Rings because those books are way too long...) but it is, in it's own way. Obviously the book is better in it's own ways too... Let's put it this way. It's great. And if you haven't seen this live you haven't lived. I haven't, just on DVD, but I now feel inadequate. Next time tickets for any live show involving this man become available, watch your back, I might be behind you. And in a mood for mugging. I am a nice guy really but the show is worth imprisonment. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cant breathe....laughing too hard!!, 11 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
The best one man stage show in years - Dave Gormans Googlewhack* tour is the story of a man and a challenge that quickly becomes his obsession. I wont drop any spoilers as there are some absolutely jaw dropping, side-splitting moments in this show that shouldnt be ruined. Suffice to say I'm glad Dave didnt write his sensible book - his Googlewhack journey is the most entertaining night out Ive had in ages.
* Googlewhack - two dictionary words which, when entered into the Google search engine, bring up only one website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD]
Dave Gorman's Googlewhack Adventure [DVD] by Gareth Carrivick (DVD - 2004)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews