Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Science fiction
Like many reviewers,i watched this mini series on the BBC back in the early 80s and it really got my imagination working,having just watched it again nearly 30 years on it has had the same affect on me all over again,it doesnt matter that its scientifically incorrect or that the special FX arent that good,you are taken along with the stories and characters,it grips your...
Published on 25 July 2011 by Pete B

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, but allowing for it's age, average
The film (or episodes) has a low budget feel about it, for example the scenery, the martians with obviously human heads with a false skin to cover the hair and ears, vehicles not in the least futuristic etc. Also I found the acting rather 'wooden' or at times exagerated, but maybe all this should be expected for an american TV series made in the 70's.

However,...
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by Mr. J. Lazzerini


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Science fiction, 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many reviewers,i watched this mini series on the BBC back in the early 80s and it really got my imagination working,having just watched it again nearly 30 years on it has had the same affect on me all over again,it doesnt matter that its scientifically incorrect or that the special FX arent that good,you are taken along with the stories and characters,it grips your imagination.
The sound FX and music although a bit dated seem to still work really well,giving it a creepy but serene atmosphere.
I remembered every chapter from my childhood and it was great to see it hasn't diminished with time.Im glad i grew up in the 70s and 80s,this kind of series is what that time was all about,Space discovery,martians,a new frontier.If you remember this show,or like sci fi with a great story,buy the dvd now,its in 3 parts on 2 dvds and region 2 at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 28 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martian Chronicles [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A bit dated with the "cold war" theme and the futuristic technology but still has the Bradbury humour and wit. The allegorical theme is strong as one considers American history and parallels are not difficult to spot. My only minus is that the script writers have failed to overcome the slight disjointness of the book given that it is collection of related short stories. Some of the transitions are less than smooth. I am probably overcritical because it is one of my favourite books and films or miniseries struggle to live up to the original. Still a very enjoyable evening's viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Martian Chronicles, 18 May 2007
This review is from: Martian Chronicles [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD I can recommend very highly. A very good transfer from the original and nice though eerie as it may seem soundtrack. It is a piece of music that sticks to mind. And I do remember watching this for the first time on BBC television around 1981-1982. Frightening if this actually did happen, Ray Bradburys imagination stretches far beyond in this TV mini series excellent adaptation of this book. "March 2007". How much more up to date can this be? Rock Hudson gives his best performance in this one. Roddy McDowell is great also as he travels with Father.

The third episode I thought wasn't the best and could have been better but actually watching it again a second and third time and especially at the end of the set brought a real meaning to this story where we find our friends from the Third Expedition, Wilder and a Martian discovering the truth about their lives and their planets. There is nothing quite like this at all. This DVD is a definate original must for the Sci-Fi collector. I now await an up to date movie of this book if ever there will be one. They can make great special effects these days but it is a pity that we have lost some of the finest actors of our time. Maybe some director out there (Past Present Future) can re-make this to become a box office hit. To me though this DVD is a hit in itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound Science Fantasy Allegory, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was compelled to buy this DVD as Martian Chronicles remains amongst my Top 10 SF novels and nostalgically remember watching this adaption with a typical 10 year olds sublime sense of wonder back in 1980.The script was written by Richard Matheson, closely adapted from Bradbury’s original poetic SF novel consecutively chronicling the tragic first contact between human colonists and a dying race of noble gold eyed Martians.

Contemporary hindsight has sadly relegated it’s ambitious predictions of an early 21st century manned Mars landing and colony to alternate history. However, some of its technical predictions like flatscreen tv’s and PC videophones proved surprisingly accurate. I was also pleasantly surprised to discover it was filmed in Malta, yet still successfully creates an aptly rugged romantic illusion of a Mars that never was.

On reflection, the plot of the Martian Chronicles never devolves into Star Wars fantasy style action and lurid laser battles. However, this lyrical SF fable can sometimes be surprisingly violent, but this is never gratuitous and is shown to crucially reflect the dark and light sides of our respective human natures, and is ultimately poetic allegory comparing Martian 1st contact to the discovery and ultimate genocide of native Americans by Victorian European colonists, whilst aptly addressing universal human issues of love, deceit,racial intolerance, religion and global nuclear warfare. It is frankly a rare conventional drama which attempts to engage both the heart and mind, that it has eloquently succeeded within the genre limits of science fiction critically justifies this novel and films classic status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Martian Chronicles, 5 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Martian Chronicles [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Very good mini series,brought back lots of memories from the seventies.The dvd's could be improved with extra features which are sadly missing.Well worth the money,hours of enjoyment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall highly rated, 14 Dec 2007
By 
J. H. Chapple (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martian Chronicles [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Although the special effects are not very good by modern day standards, there is a unique atmosphere in this DVD which to me echoes the spirit of the original book. Very worth while watching, if you can forgive the effects. For some reason, the astronauts take off from Earth in a moon lander type vehicle! The music is also haunting in places and matches the film well. The picture itself is not very sharp unfortunately maybe because I am watching it on a PAL tv. Overall, I think it still deserves five stars.
Consists of two double sided disks. The sound track is mono.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed beauty, 1 Aug 2011
By 
G. Phillips "Boyd" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want fantastic special effects, snappy dialogue and fast paced action then avoid the 'Martian Chronicles'...But if, like me, you like to be filled with a sense of mystical awe, curiousity and have your intellect stimulated, then this is for you. Although the acting is at times ropey and the pace is slow, this mini-series contains some truly magical moments- Never mind if the science is a bit off whack, it's the ideas that count in this classic Bradbury tale where many stories make the whole. I saw this way back in 1980 and was thoroughly entranced- I particularly like the fact that at the height of the Cold War these films pointed to an alternative to Mutually Assured Destruction, given to humanity by the beautiful and ethereal Martians, who either exist, or don't, are us, but also maybe themselves...The message still holds true, we only have one planet, and either we harmonise with It, or we perish...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Martian Chronicles, 25 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series has the feel of a made for TV production but is most enjoyable despite both this and the lack of modern 21st computer graphics which might have given it a more polished appearance. I thoroughly enjoyed it when it was first televised and have waited years for it to be available in a Region 2 version. I enjoyed watching this DVD version as much as the initial televised showing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adaptation of the book stories by scriptwriter Richard Matheson, 31 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Martian Chronicles [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The story is more of a series of progressive short stories of the attempts to colonize Mars. Each landing encounters a different situation. Aside form the technical aspects of the story and the cheep effects of the film the real purpose of the movie is the message. I will not repeat the message here, as this is why you need to watch the series.

I found the ending satisfying but wondering if there should not be more.

Ray Bradbury is not as thrilled with the mini-series, calling it booooring. Nevertheless, you have to expect a few adaptations if you are going to have a relevant mini-series.

This may seem like a vehicle for out of work actors. Yet I can assure you that each actor plaid his/her part well enough that you are looking at the character not the actor.

Be aware that the version I watched was complete but the first two parts were on side A and B of the same DVD. Part 3 was on a separate DVD. The good thing was there were no coming attractions to work around with some fancy button pushing. The only thing missing was a voice over commentary that we have come to expect.

Gargoyles ~ Bernie Casey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
filmed in three parts roughly one and a half hours each , 4:3 picture is steady and clear but the filtering can make some shots look odd . the sound is a little quiet but clear . no special features . it is an excellent story based sci fi trilogy .
the story is about the colonization of mars and the problems encountered during the process . its multiple story lines throw up lots of moral questions .
the special effects and sets are a bit dated and the pace is quite slow , but look past this and there is lots to enjoy . big name actors and story lines that range from comedy to horror any fan of science fiction should enjoy this overlooked gem . i think a 12 rating more appropriate than pg . some scenes are very eerie . decide for yourself .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martian Chronicles [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 7.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews