Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important DVD for Rivet Counters
I must confess that I am a devout 'Rivet Counter', aka Titanic buff. I found this DVD, particularly the 'extras', to be a valuable addition to my library.

The DVD includes an advertising film from White Star, showing the amenities aboard the Olympic, one of Titanic's sister ships. It gives an excellent idea of the atmosphere aboard a great Edwardian liner...
Published on 31 Jan 2009 by Doug Urquhart

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hudsucker Nazi
One of Nazi Germany's most expensive but least-seen films, 1943's Titanic could almost be retitled The Hudsucker Nazi, audaciously reworking a tragedy where hundreds of Britons were among the victims as a bit of anti-British propaganda that blames the disaster firmly on a scheme by the board of the White Star Line to defraud small investors, which is a bit rich...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important DVD for Rivet Counters, 31 Jan 2009
By 
Doug Urquhart (Southport, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Titanic [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I must confess that I am a devout 'Rivet Counter', aka Titanic buff. I found this DVD, particularly the 'extras', to be a valuable addition to my library.

The DVD includes an advertising film from White Star, showing the amenities aboard the Olympic, one of Titanic's sister ships. It gives an excellent idea of the atmosphere aboard a great Edwardian liner.

Also included is the notorious newsreel, cobbled together in 1912, purporting to show Captain Smith on board Titanic before leaving Southampton. The scenes were actually shot on Olympic, in New York harbor, but the producers of the film cleverly disguised this by painting out any incriminating evidence, such as the words 'New York' on the sterns of the tugboats.

Now for the film itself. It's actually quite impressive, given the time and place where it was produced, and of course, provided you take it all with a healthy pinch of salt.

The plot takes various liberties with the truth, largely for propaganda reasons. Titanic was the fastest ship in the world, and Captain Smith was pressured by the evil Bruce Ismay (who had brought his mistress on board with him) into taking the dangerous Northern route, to save time. Winning the Blue Riband would improve the value of White Star stock, much to the dismay of Astor, who was plotting against them. Meanwhile, the only sane man aboard was First Officer Petersen (who happened to be German) who spends his time helping the passengers while his English officers and their Capitalist bosses plot their own downfall......

Lies, all lies....

However, just put all that to one side and enjoy the film. It really isn't bad, and the special effects are excellent for their day. I understand that some scenes were used in 'A Night to Remember'. It's also amusing to spot the plot elements that Cameron lifted for his Titanic epic.

As far as I could work out, Petersen replaced the real character Chief Officer Wilde (not Second Officer Lightoller, as others have suggested, since at one point he actually talks to Lightoller). The subtitles have some strange anomalies - First Officer Murdoch's name is translated throughout as 'Morlock' - when the captain asks for a CQD message to be sent, this is translated as 'SOS' (which is right, in spirit, but not in letter). But these are just quibbles from a 'Rivet Counter'

Definitely worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hudsucker Nazi, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Titanic [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
One of Nazi Germany's most expensive but least-seen films, 1943's Titanic could almost be retitled The Hudsucker Nazi, audaciously reworking a tragedy where hundreds of Britons were among the victims as a bit of anti-British propaganda that blames the disaster firmly on a scheme by the board of the White Star Line to defraud small investors, which is a bit rich considering the role of German industrialists in the rise of Nazism. Of course, it could all have been avoided had those arrogant Brits only listened to heroic German officer Hans Nielsen's warnings instead of constantly dismissing his 'intentional' pessimism as some plot to drive their share price down ("as the only German officer on board, you have no interest in the Titanic winning the Blue Ribbon!").

Ironically the film shows almost as much disregard for the passengers as the White Star Line - it's all very much a distinctly upper deck affair, with plenty of screen time for the wealthy passengers waltzing the voyage away but only brief glimpses of those in steerage who bore the brunt of the death toll. Parts of the Titanic mythology don't quite adapt so easily to German culture, not least the band playing marching favorites as the ship goes down, but it's surprisingly entertaining and there are some nice little grace notes like the radio man freeing a bird from its cage. Yet it's never as fascinating as the story of its production. Director Herbert Selpin was critical of the script and fell foul of the German Navy, ending up arrested by the Gestapo after criticising the drunken Naval officers used as extras during filming (he was denounced by the film's screenwriter, one of his best friends) and supposedly committing suicide in their custody, conveniently 'hanging himself' in mid-1942, while Goebbels felt the finished film's scenes of panic would have a poor effect on German audiences suffering regular Allied bombing raids and only allowed it to be shown in occupied territories. In a horrifying epilogue to the fiasco, the ship used for filming, the Cap Arcona, was loaded with concentration camp inmates at the end of the war with the intention of scuttling or destroying the ship with them still aboard only for the ship to be sunk by the RAF, causing a loss of life more three times greater than that in the real Titanic.

German audiences only got the chance to see the in 1949, albeit with the epilogue where the guilty get away unpunished omitted, but the film was quickly pulled from release the following year. For years it was simply a source for the odd bit of stock footage, with some of the effects shots even edited into 1958's A Night to Remember before finally being raised from the depths for the odd cable TV screening as an archive oddity in the wake of James Cameron's blockbuster.

Kino's NTSC DVD is a nice transfer of the uncut version (though some footage of panicking passengers was cut from all versions and is still presumably lost) with decent extras - 1912 newsreel, White Star Line promotional film for sister ship the Olympic, stills and pressbook gallery and original theatrical trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new slant, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
So now we know, the Titanic sank due to Jewish plotting and British greed, although it was nearly saved by the forces of good and compassion - the Nazis!
Amazing to think that this film was made when, in retrospect, we now knw that the tide was on the turn and the 1000year Reich was about to hit the iceberg! Technically its good and I gather some of its scenes were used inserted into a later British film about the Titanic. An interesting film for many reasons. Wonder why it's a Region 1 only, with no official european version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only the last line is propaganda, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic (1943) (DVD)
It's a good movie, well crafted : First, graphically it's very enjoyable, every thing regarding the ship is amazing, the machinery, the stairs, ie, the sets are gorgeous. It's also valuable for the appearance of Sybille Schmitz, a rare actress, known for her part in the classical "Vampyr" (1932). Also Hans Nielsen deserves a special attention as officer Peterson. Compared to Cameron's film, which was more romantic and maybe dedicated to a younger audience, this seems more neutral, more authentic. All is said in few words, commands and love, almost elliptic ; characters are a bit strong underlined regarding the management, focusing on greed.

Sybille Schmitz was a extraordinary actress, and i hope someone will reedit "Fährman Maria" (1936), where she was at her best.

To get a glimpse of the general mood of this time, and the strong moral code in the marine, this movie is worth going for.

Edit : Miss Jolly Bohnert has a fine gipsy dancing part, with much fury and class. This was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Dec 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Dubois "duboispedro" (Pedz Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
i can see why it was banned i dident like it awfull acting etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD, 1 July 2012
By 
Trevor B. Thomas (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
VERY INTERESTING WHAT THE NAZIS DID WITH THE STORY.THE ACTING IS GOOD AND THE FILM STOKE IS GREAT ALSO I AM GLAD TO HAVE IT , BUT LETS NOT FOR GET THIS IS A PROPERGANDER FILM AND IN KNOW WAY IS IT TRUE. BUT DO NOT LET THAT PUT YOU OFF OF SEEING IT. IT HAS ENGLISH SUBTITLES SO NO PROPLEME UNDERSTANDING IT. I HAVE TO SAY I HAVE SEEN EVERY TITANIC FILM THERE IS, AND A "NIGHT TO REMEMBER" IS STILL THE BEST FOR THE TRUE FACTS AND THE BEST FILM EVER ON THE TITANIC. TREVOR THOMAS AUSTRALIA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Titanic [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Werner Klingler (DVD - 2004)
£10.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews