Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Listen in Prime

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2009
Kind of OK, but little happens in 3 hours. They don't even reach Italy until after the first hour! My parents definitely prefer this Brosnan version. I'm sort of on their side, as the Niven version misses out far too much of the book, but there's some rubbish in the Brosnan version - there's an atrociously acted and directed and edited scene at Calcutta railway station, and I think Brosnan is miscast. Eric Idle's Passepartout is OK, but his French accent strays too far into the realms of Monty Python and the Holy Grail at times. The biggest problem for makers of this film is pace. It's too easy to leap too quickly from the Alps to Suez to North India to Japan, as Niven's version seems to, and they both spend far too much time over the prologue. I read the book about 15 years ago, but can't remember how Verne deals with the matter of pacing. Brosnan's version seems to leap, but it's hard to say how it does it. I suppose by illustrating the stop-overs rather than the journey, whereas Niven's version was famous in its day for the journey and the scenic photography. I think I'd rather read the book again than watch either version.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
The acting was good and the story line amusing if improbable as to be expected. The discs appear to have been made up from a series of episodes with blanks , credits, and the wording to be continued between them which was very confusing at first.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
No doubt about it........the Mike Todd is one thing and this is another BUT this is fabulously enjoyable. Lots of scenery, stunts, adventures and Mis haps and much closer to the original book.
I like em both for totally different reasons.
Lots of people will not agree but if you want gentle old fashioned adventure this is great.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
One for the family better than the Jackie Chan version I enjoyed this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
As described, great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
I think this is Pierce Brosnan best film.

It is a bit long but it is a nice easy going film enjoy
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Arrived thank you,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
A more than usually amusing version with a first class cast. This was bought as a replacement when my free version (from the Sunday Mail) got damaged.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Our children really enjoyed this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)