Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unnervingly accurate
This is the most depressing programme ever made. Here is why you must buy it: the nightmarish portrayal of New-Labour Britain in Monkey Dust is so extremely shocking and ruthlessly bleak that you sometimes wish you could just dismiss it. Yet the way it manages to ring true throughout makes for deeply disturbing and always compelling viewing. The fact that it is...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by Bing Diddley

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was disappointed...
I was quite looking forward to Monkey Dust, but was sadly disappointed. I know it's received pretty much universal acclaim, but I just didn't find it all that funny. I'm a huge fan of Chris Morris' Jam, and one of the criticisms I've seen thrown at that show is that it tries to be shocking just for the sake of it. Without getting into a digression too much, I disagree...
Published 22 months ago by Michael


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi, I'm Kelly...I'm on work experience..., 8 Mar 2007
By 
Deanne Dixon "deanne9499" (Sunny South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Very few films or television programmes capture the essence of their content in their opening titles - "Monkey Dust" is one of the exceptions. Juxtaposing daytime with night - the first note of the opening theme-tune has us witnessing children eating ice-cream in the park, surrounded by butterflies, with a rainbow colouring the backdrop. Day soon turns to night, however, and with the sun going down (and the street-lights coming on) we truly see the vision of Urban Britain as it is today (and is captured so brilliantly in this sketch-show): vandalism, CCTV surveillance, constant sirens outside our windows, hooded children carrying knives, sex shops, rats, drug-taking, urination and fly-tipping. Holiday anyone?

Briefly, "Welcome to your very own urban nightmare where the sad, lonely and the emotionally crippled populate the streets of a world on the wrong side of sunlight. In this 'Cruel Britannia' the haggard, wheezing chatroom pervert, desperately tries to be cool; the shy but lustful first-time cottager rehearses his chat-up lines; weekends with Divorced Dad always seem to go disasterously wrong; Ivan, who, after all, is not the Meat Safe Murderer; is released from prison after 27 years - on his spacehopper; and DJ 'Doctor' Fox finally gets what's coming to him".

What makes "Monkey Dust" so brilliant in it's dark satire is it's willingness to tackle modern issues head-on. The themes that the programme addresses are both tragic AND comic in their infiltration of Twenty-First Century Britain. It raises the issue of shameless marketing, for example, by presenting us with a sketch in which a PR guru is trying to encourage the fire-brigade to shift it's focus from being "reactive" to being "pro-active" by changing it's image to appeal to people whose house's aren't on fire. As we are constantly being told that one in three marriages end in divorce, the relationship between Timmy and his father is particularly relevant now more than ever. On watching their relationship, you can't help but empathise with the father who, literally living for his son (and subsequently dying as a result of his apparent rejection), waits at the window all week for him to arrive, only to find out that he can barely relate to him. Your heart goes out to Ivan Dobsky ("The Meat Safe Murderer"), institutionalised for twenty seven years for a crime he didn't commit - made only worse by the fact that, in another incident, the real killer of Daisy Harris gets away with it (there is even a sketch in which a policeman DELIBERATELY lets the "Element Killer" go - much to his detriment). In the end, Ivan cannot cope with living in such a cruel society, so is ironically forced into the very crime that he was previously accused of: murder. "Monkey Dust" even finds time to take a subtle swipe at our current obesession with "celebrity culture" - look out for the blatant attack in the recurring sketches about David Baddiel (just because he is an actor, people think he is capable of any given task), and the more subtle naming of baby Othello (a criticism of the need for celebrities to give their children audacious names?).

"Monkey Dust" isn't just outstanding because of the way in which the sketches work in their own right - it works because there is an element of self-referencing which allows a thread to develop throughout each episode (how often do we see Clive walking in the background of another sketch?). The boys don't miss an opportunity to make their point, however, even the linking pieces have their relevance: look out for the criticism of the transport network in this country, and the frustration often generated when speaking to automated systems. Overall, a masterstroke in comedy - but where, oh where, is series two?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than a barrel full of monkeys..., 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Slow, dark and relentlessly bleak Monkey Dust manages tickle the funny bone by inviting you to really enjoy the misfortune of others and the idiocy of the mob.

Some brilliant and truly grotesque characters populate a dismal world with all the charm and warmth of motorway service station restaurant. Not for the easily offended, with laughs coming from broken families, suicide, murder, online grooming and cyclists, there is something tickle and upset everyone here.

If it does have fault, and of course it does, it would be that it falls into the trap of many character driven sketch shows - the catchphrase (or the repeated punch line). This is, in my opinion lazy but the jokes are of such quality I can forgive it. If Monkey Dust had gone on to many series this would have killed the concept but because of the programs limited run the repetition is not too irritating.

The second series is even better but alas it is unavailable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black comedy at its best, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you've not watched it, you must. Great comedy, black as pitch. When most people say "unPC" they mean reruns of Love Thy Neighbour. This is "unPC" in the sense that tabloid hacks would have a heart attack from the darkness on show. From an innocent man imprisoned for murder who gets out, can't handle the world and keeps killing people to go back to jail, through a divorced dad who keeps killing himself when his son comes to visit with tales of his mums wonderful new partner to Jerry Bruckheimer remakes of Anne Frank's diary and the Crusades, it's inciteful comedy for those with discerning taste. If you liked Brass Eye, Darkplace, Nighty Night and Blue Jam, you'll love this! And the depressing thing is, the fake TV controller coming up with awful new ideas now seems alarmingly prophetic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations BBC., 25 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have been watching Monkey Dust from the beginning so this box set for me is long overdue. Monkey Dust is a harsh blend of contemporary animation and hard-hitting social commentary. No other show that attempts to make light of societies shortcomings does it quite as well as the team behind Monkey Dust. If you like your comedy as black as it comes and are reasonable familiar with the UK then I strongly recommend this for you, seriously it is a work of pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best british animated satire ever!, 1 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Monkey Dust is well overdue in the shops and I cant wait to get my mitts on this beauty. Having seen all the first series with the second on BBC 2 at the moment I cant get enough of this original, gritty yet witty animation. The soundtrack alone is worth the entrance fee featuring Goldfrapp, Portishead et al which act as the perfect backing music for the dark humour of this stylishly designed and animated show. Bring on the series 2 DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'That's not really funny'......or is it?, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Martin O'Reilly "Mairtor" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A friend recommended this to me and when he told me it was an animation I kind of disregarded it for some reason. However I finally checked it out and was astounded by its scathing social commentary of New Labour Britain. It's simply fantastic. Wonderful and varied animation, a fantastic soundtrack and perfectly suited voice overs. I've seen series 2 as well and I think it's even better. Please BBC, can we have all 3 series on DVD. It is shocking, then funny, then shocking again. My favourite sketches were Clive, chat room pervert, Daddy and Timmy and the hilarious Daisy Harris press conference. If you were to show this to people in 50 years time it would give them a perfect idea of urban Britain at the start of the 21st century. It is dark but it embraces the bowels of society and you even grow to love the flawed, comical characters. I docked a star for a few weak sketches e.g. Othello child and Kelly work experience. My title here is the shows intro tune from The Eels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Only I never dun it', 26 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have eagerly awaited the release of Monkey dust on DVD. Excellent stuff. Dark, sad and true...but twisted and funny. Can't wait to own it and look forward to the other series being released, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 5 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. Edward R. Simpson (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
very twisted and equally astute, as well as being stunning in places. this will definitely only appeal to those with a sense of humour than verges towards the dark.. i'll never be able to listen to goldfrapp -lovely head again without seeing clive walking through the estate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Dust - Series 1, 27 April 2005
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD is the type that can be viewed over and over again, and everytime, proves to be mouth wateringly hilarious. The hideously twisted sketches range high and mighty over such things as 'south park' as they are scarily stereotypical and consist of easily reconisable characters one may well find in your town centre.
Undoubtably sick but extremly comical,this DVD has it all. We witness Clive attempt to unwind himself from the interregation his wife insues on him on a late arrival home, in which he portrays a ridiculous account of his 'goings on' before releasing a hilarious one-liner admitting where he's actually been....you are garunteed to laugh out loud at this point.As you may guess, he is my favourite character, but he is accompinied by similar animated friends who release jokes to the same hilarious effect. Definatley not for the faint hearted, this DVD will satisfy your humerous infaction. Highly recommended.Bring on Series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, but not for the easily disturbed, 20 July 2004
This review is from: Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I've seen a fair few of these episodes and everytime they have had me both laughing uncontrollably and utterly horrified at the staggering lack of political correctness or regard for... well, anything! I was surprised to see it on TV, considering the content, but it is one of the funniest shows I've ever seen. I'd recommend it to anyone with a dark sense of humour and a strong stomach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003]
Monkey Dust - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] by Suzanne Deakin (DVD - 2004)
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews