Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and heartfelt - a true star until the end
i was a huge WWF fan in the late eighties and early ninties and bret hart was my favourite from the beginning. i stopped watching wrestling in 1995 as i grew out of it and recently decided to re-kindle my youth and firstly needed to find out what happended to my favourite. i'd heard rumours that bret was double-crossed but when i watched this i was left furious that he...
Published on 1 Mar. 2007 by Karina Everett

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars informative
Wrestling with shadows is a documentary following the wwe champ at the time breat hart for one year and happens to get another insight into the events of the famous montreal screwjob when bret was robbed of the title as vince mcmahon took the belt of bret by forcing bret to lose in canada when he didnt actually lose,we all know the story.
This documentary follows...
Published on 3 Mar. 2008 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and heartfelt - a true star until the end, 1 Mar. 2007
By 
Karina Everett "filmaholic" (East Susex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
i was a huge WWF fan in the late eighties and early ninties and bret hart was my favourite from the beginning. i stopped watching wrestling in 1995 as i grew out of it and recently decided to re-kindle my youth and firstly needed to find out what happended to my favourite. i'd heard rumours that bret was double-crossed but when i watched this i was left furious that he could be treated like that by Vince who had basically hung him out to dry and destroyed his reputation in the process. the dvd is very heartfelt and gives you a brilliant insight into brets life, growing up with a legend of a father and growing in the WWF. it also shows his home life and that he appears to have a supportive wife who later divorced him after the survivor series incident, but does show what a great dad he is and how his family mean a lot. the dvd covers the tension leading up to that fateful servivor series and how bret was not feeling happy, you can feel his emotion, and then feel his anger once the double cross has happened and i'm so pleased he punched vince, which was the least he deserved. all in all a great dvd, its just a shame it had to end on such a bitter note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY DOCUMENTARY, 14 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very insightful and interesting look into the truth behind professional wrestling. Taking a look at one of the best wrestlers in history, the documentary follows Bret Hart through the last year of his WWE contract, showing how the hitman character changed from the number 1 babyface (good guy) to number 1 heel (bad guy), only to be left in limbo by Vince McMahon, resulting in the parting of ways. However, as you will discover, this parting did not go through without the most controversial action ever seen in professional wrestling. This is a must buy for anyone who has always wanted to know what really happened that night in at Survivor series '97.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the biggest screwjob of wrestling history, 17 July 2004
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
After watching survivor series 97 and the screwjob by vince mcmahon on bret hart i knew wrestling will never be the same again. the documentary follows brets life growing up in a wrestling family, and ends with Harts disputed last match with the WWF. I cannot say much in this review because there is so much controversy surrounding the situation between bret and vince. So many people have so many opinions towards who was right and who was wrong (bret or vince?). But as a true bret hart fan, i belive that vince was an idiot and he still is. Ever since brets departure vince has turned wrestling in to a soap opera scene and that made me sick! To me bret is the best "WRESTLER" the wwf/wwe have ever had. Hogan, Austin and the Rock may have more popularity than bret, but they are more of an "entertainer" than a wrestler. To me bret is the best there is, the best there was and the best there ever will be!! Please buy this DVD to find out what that fool vince did to the best "WRESTLER" they ever had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 6 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
The finest release about wrestling along with Beyond The Mat [DVD] [2000]. It details the screw job as you would expect and also has the backstory of the hart family which is interesting too. As for who was in the wrong, obviously this film leans towards the hitman because of the interviews it largely includes. However, there was enough in here to make it clear to me that bret's issue wasn't really about dropping the title or even dropping it in Canada, it was more about him hating the idea of dropping it to Michaels and in doing so 'passing him the torch'. There's blame on all sides to be fair and i think bret is more objective in his book Hitman: My Real Life in the Cartoon World of Wrestling than he is here (due to the time that's past) but this is one of the best 2 documentaries about wrestling all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 April 2007
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
I am not a Bret Hart fan, but I must admit I found this DVD one of the best wrestling films I have seen. It is biographical which is first class as it shows the man as he is and is simply not the usual "best matches" sort of stuff. He came across as a wonderful father with a most supportive wife, who sadly divorced him in spite of his attempts at reconcilliation.

A question I am frequently asked is about the Montreal screw-job. I straight away after this DVD went on to read Shawn Michael's book and I recommend that viewers of this DVD do likewise and make their own mind's up.

Most enjoyable - don't be afraid to get it - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Masterpiece!, 12 May 2009
By 
Mr. Adam P. A. Evans "Adam E Zay" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
I can honestly say that this dvd, is as close as you can get to see what truly is wrestling.I cannot believe how detailed and open it was.I was completely hooked for its entirety.

What is so compelling is that it is real life, and shows the reality to westling, Bret Hart is a legend and has been through so much tragedy in his life, that is so undeserved. I feel Bret was completely screwed over by vince.How can you treat someone who has headlined your company, and given so many years of loyal service, without ever complaining once.

This is a true film great

And shows Bret as he was, is and always will be

The Best !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sobering account of the events of that fateful last year in the the WWF for Bret Hart!!!, 9 April 2009
By 
Krishna Jaipersad "slyjai" (Port of spain Trinidad and Tobago) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
It has taken me 12 years to see this! I knew of the Montreal Screwjob back in 1997. I saw the match & knew that something was very wrong when the Sharpshooter was applied by Bret's opponent!!! Bret never gave up, but the referee was told to signal for the bell!!! The events could have been less sinister leading up to Bret's departure, but, you know who, had other ideas to protect the business! View this documentary & come to your own conclusion. He still is the best there is, the best there was & the best there ever will be!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Hell Of A Story!, 13 Sept. 2004
By 
Mr. Cj Crookall "crookallchris" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
This is absolutely brilliant! The direction Jay was able to follow Bret Hitman Hart, one of the most well known wrestlers of the 90s, he followed him around his home and work with a camera for a year, but what eventually happened was that Jay caught on camera one of teh biggest double crosses in history. This story is about one man, a hero living in an antihero world, where the bad guy prevails.
Anyone who knows about Bret or is keen on the Wrestling politics, then this DVD will shock and astoud you, but not only is this a great true story, this is superbly edited and filmed by Jay, he certainly shows a flair for the camera and the music and sound evoke so much emotion from the film. I dragged my mate to watch this, and he also gives it the five star treatment it bloody well deserves. Another special interview with Bret 12 months afterwards is very sad, this was the beginning of the downfall of The Hitman, I have a copy of this and I too believe it's as good as Fahrenheit 9/11 for documentaries.
I'm trying to keep this short, as I don't want to say anymore as it should be a big surprise to you, it's one of those real life twists on a documentary, if you liked the WWE and Vince before you watch this, after finishing the film you would have branded him as public enemy number one, him and is sidekick; Shawn Michaels.
For anyone who is buying this in the double pack along with Beyond The Mat, I have to admit that this is ten times better than Beyond The Mat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Surprising, 1 Jun. 2009
By 
C. Bottomley (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
After growing up watching Bret Hart and the rest of the WWF (now WWE) superstars, i thought it was all glitz and glam but after watching this documentary i realised it wasn't. It shows the Darker side of professional wrestling. Wrestling with shadows contains behind the scenes footage of the infamous 'Montreal Screwjob' and for any wrestling fan, especially Bret Hart fans, this is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wresling with shadows, 11 July 2009
By 
Mr. K. Simpson "simmo" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] (DVD)
this is a really good dvd, follows a year in the life with bret hart, one of the best wrestlers of all time. gives a good insight into the politics that goes on in the world of pro wrestling. shows brets life in and out of the ring, and what exactly went on in montreal. A must for any wrestling fan and bret hart fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD]
Hitman Hart Wrestling With Shadows [DVD] by Bret 'Hit Man' Hart (DVD - 2004)
£7.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews