Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crime can't crack itself
funniest thing on the TV in ages (& also the saddest at times...a remarkable achievement) born & bred in manchester i've known people exactly like these & pubs like the grapes, before they were 'revamped into irish/australian theme bars!. its had me crying with laughter & the coppers ken & nige singing bob marley songs whilst stoned on proceeds from a drugs raid (2nd...
Published on 3 Nov 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very funny people.
This is a good cast and very entertaining. it does get a bit monotonous but very watchable and I love the characters.
Published 17 months ago by B. Hogg


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crime can't crack itself, 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
funniest thing on the TV in ages (& also the saddest at times...a remarkable achievement) born & bred in manchester i've known people exactly like these & pubs like the grapes, before they were 'revamped into irish/australian theme bars!. its had me crying with laughter & the coppers ken & nige singing bob marley songs whilst stoned on proceeds from a drugs raid (2nd series)has to be the funniest moment ever in my comedy book...buy this 1st series with confidence if you don't laugh non stop you must have died a few months earlier!.......when is the 2nd series being released on DVD? i'm going to preorder ASAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Aug 2004
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A great British comedy show in the vein of The Royle Family. One of the better comedies of recent years Early Doors is very funny, touching and at times has the ability to make you cringe. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime can't crack itself, 12 Jan 2005
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I can't wait for series 2 to appear on DVD.
This comedy is in my opinion one of the best things to come out of British TV since Fawlty Towers, its got all the elements that make compulsive viewing, pathos, tear inducing emotion but above all side splitting humour. Well done Craig and Phil, keep it up!
To the regiment, I wish I was there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most under-rated comedy in recent years, 6 Oct 2004
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
With the second series currently on BBC2, this is a great chance to catch up with the hilariously mundane happenings at the Grapes public house.
Co-written by 'Royle family's' Craig Cash, this is a subtle, witty and warm hearted comedy but it's never sentimental.Anyone who goes to their 'local' will recognise something in the characters in this superb comedy.
From Joe the token 'old misery' to Phil and Nige, the rather lazy policemen.
Like the Royle family, nothing much happen's but this is it's strength.Early Doors doesn't need a laughter track to tell you when to laugh and may not have the gorgeous actors and fast one-liners of friends, but it's far funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comic masterpiece, 5 April 2005
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
i have to agree with everyone else here this is the most underrated comedy series ever made. it incredibily clever, hilariously funny and also touching. the key to this great comedy is something that Craig Cash (the greatest comedian of our age) has got to a fine art. you have to create characters that people really care about and feel for, and every character has something you can relate to or empathise with. even joan and eddy who are cringingly awful are also wonderful and funny at the same time. its packed with clever one liners if you listen carefully. i am writing this some time after i have seen series 2 as well so i am finding it difficult to remember which is which but i will try and give an example of the genius. when the cleaner is asked whether her son (recently released from jail) is going to "go straight" by the policemen who sit in the back room she replies "no theres not much chance of that- he wants to join the police".
OK it doesn't work on paper but thats because you have to know the characters, 1 reason why repeated viewing is essential, so buy it now and you will love it forever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the regiment..........I wish I was there, 27 July 2005
By 
G. CAROLAN (Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have to agree with every other reviewer here,this is a comedy masterpiece.I have lost count how many times I have watched this now and a tip for anyone who hasn't done so yet,view it with the commentary on.Craig Cash and Phil Mealey are superb.
Just one gripe aimed at the BBC.Why do we have to wait so long for the second series to be released on DVD?You see some of the other garbage they rush to get in the shops and yet something as brilliant as this and we have to wait God knows how long.
Come on BBC,you know what you have to do !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give us MORE!, 30 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As a Mancunian living away from the old city, I loved this series, it's magic, I too remember characters like these growing up in and around Manchester.
These programmes are underated and I take my hat off to Phil Mealey, Craig Cash and the cast & crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exmplary Comedy, 22 Sep 2005
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Watched this first time round as I knew Craig Cash was involved and I'm currently being beguiled by the second series repeats.
This series is so superbly written, fantastic characters and beautiful dialogue. As with most compelling viewing it's the three-dimensional characters and all of their misconceptions and foibles which wins you over and grounds the comedy in reality. There is the occasional set-piece 'joke' which you can see coming but as they are always so brilliantly executed and...yes...so FUNNY that you have to love them.
The only things I can remember which had the superb touch of this was the short-lived 'Roger Roger' by John Sullivan.
If you are going to spend some money on DVDs this has got to be a great investment - real people, real humour, real emotion. Buy it! Love Neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC = Brilliant Brilliant Comedy, 15 Oct 2005
By 
Mat (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
How people can accept "2 pints of lager and a packet of crisps" as comedy is beyond me when there is pure gold in the form of "Early Doors". For me this ranks as one of the very best from the 1st scene of series one where Ken sings "they can't take away my dignity" as he cleans the bogs it gets better and better and better. Genius! Buy it now and stick it next to Porridge and The Office in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and moving, 13 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Early Doors is one of the finest comedies to appear on UK TV in recent years. It's co-written by Craig Cash of Royle Family fame, but it's far removed from his previous effort. No people staring at a TV here (why was that funny?). Instead there's all the gags and put downs of a real pub. This show has all the jokes that were missing from the Royale Family. It tugs at the heart-strings too - I defy anyone to keep the lump from their throat as landlord Ken (John Henshaw - The Cops) worries he'll lose his adopted daughter to her 'real dad'. The rest of the cast is expertly drawn by Cash - from his drinking pal Duffy, with the dirty polaroids of his mistress, through Phil & Nige the seat-warming coppers, to Ken's lazy and overbearing mother and her sharp-as-a-tack cleaner Winnie.
I just wish I had a Grapes at the end of my street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003]
Early Doors - Series 1 [DVD] [2003] by Adrian Shergold (DVD - 2004)
2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews