Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


184 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TV Serial that is High Art
Now available on 7 DVDs, comprising all 26 episodes plus several hours of additional features, this most celebrated and splendid of BBC TV serials was the brainchild of adapter and producer Donald Wilson. Its world-wide success is known to all, but some might not be aware of the following: -
Donald Wilson was denied funds to produce it for ten years. Had there been...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by John Austin

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Falls at the turn
The first half of this saga is excellent (4/5), as Soames (Eric Porter is wonderful in the role) the Man of Property is brought into focus and the family divisions defined. The casting is impeccable (New Zealander Nyree Dawn Porter - no relation - notably) and the production, even after more than forty years, looks well. But the second half is weak (2/5). Many of the...
Published on 18 May 2011 by WSH


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
nil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dad loved it!, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I ordered this for my Dad. He loved it. He likes period dramas and it also brought back memories of TV in the 60s. I'm sure he would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed it when it was first shown on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Forsyte Saga, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. R. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This has not yet been opened as it is a present we are taking to India with us in February.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present for mum, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
She liked it as its a period drama For Xmas as something different to downton abbey. Delivery was swift from order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a Present, 8 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
These type of Saga's are not really my thing so I don't feel qualified to comment on content except to say the person I bought it for was very pleased with it.
As usual great service from Amazon, ordering process simple and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 sagasighth, 10 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Good but sorry subtitles in Dutch double dutch to me wife deaf and subtitles a great help otherwise good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Permanent Dutch subtitles, 1 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Watched whole of recording which was good entertainment but :-
1 permanent Dutch subtitles
2 several discs were in wrong numbered cases and as the
numbers were extremely difficult to read and the
story continuation was not obvious some frustration was
experienced

My fault ! I shall choose more carefully in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Forsyte Saga, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
For very personal reasons this has bad memories for me and I will never listen to it again at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dull but It has it's moments., 13 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I must admit I am a bit disappointed after all the high expectation. It just seems to be lacking something. I found that my concentration kept wandering as a lot of the dialogue and plot were quite dull for me. There are brief moments of interest but a lot of the story seemed to revolve around the annoyingly brattish Fleur and her drippy romance. The whole storyline seemed a bit stuffy and insular with not much reflection of the surrounding social history. I suppose I have been spoilt with such classic drama such as Poldark, Upstairs Downstairs and The Duchess OF Duke Street which all hold my attention 100%. This for me paled and didn't really capture my imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forsythe, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Set arrived quickly however disc 4 is completely scratched and damaged so I am very disappointed as was so looking forward to watching this classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Forsyte Saga - Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] [1967]
Used & New from: £52.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews