Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Favourite Record
'Your Favourite Weapon' should be revered as a masterpeice. Revered or not, a masterpiece is exactly what this is. Like t_i_m_h says, there's not a second of filler on here.
Musically, YFW is somewhere between Taking Back Sunday's dynamics (Jesse's an ex-member dontchaknow)and Midtown's eye for a tune, emotional without being nauseating & tuneful without being...
Published on 9 July 2003 by Andrew Keay

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
The cd was broken into pieces :(
Published 1 month ago by Giovanni Susini


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
The cd was broken into pieces :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Punk with an emo feel - what more could anyone want!, 21 Jan 2006
By 
Josef K (Staines, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
I bought this because I'd heard so many good things about Deja entendu (which was in the post winging its way to me). 'Your Favourite weapon' amazed me, every time I listen to it through I find another song I like- I just hope I'll come to like Deja entendu as much. The highlights have to be 'Soco Ameretto Lime', 'Jude Law and a semester abroad', 'Failure by design', 'Mix Tape' and 'Seventy times 7'. It reminded me a lot of Taking Back sundays and Fall out boy with a pop rock feel (and by that I mean genuinely catchy choruses and energetic beats). I loved it all the way through and I can't see myself getting bored anytime soon, it appeals to me in so many ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic debut album, 19 Jun 2005
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
i was searching through some of my favourite bands and was appalled to see that there was no review of this album. While the album does not have the variety and maturity that are on the second album deja entendu it is still a great album in its own right. Tracks like failure by design and seventy times 7 are brilliant songs with the typical brand new intricate guitar parts and great lyrics. Album closer soco amoertto and lime is a great acoustic track and a perfect ending to this great album that does not recieve enough credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop listening, 15 Jun 2003
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
I saw Brand New Live, supporting Finch, and they were fantastic, I knew nothing at all about them so they were that rare thing a support band that seizes their chance. They blew Finch off the stage and pulled off some of the greatest guitar moves since Angus Young first decided a school uniform would suit him. Their album therefore disappointed me a little. After a while though it grew on me and now I hooked specially on 7 times seventy and Jude Law..... They are fantastic punk songs. Scuzzed up vocals and raw production make the record sound like it was recorded at 4am in a garage and its better for it. The songs now tumble round my head all day, I sit on the bus singing "have another drink and drive yourself home, I hope there's ice on all the roads, so you can think of me when your head goes through windshield” I get strange looks from the other members of the traveling public but I am happy in my punk rock lost love heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Mar 2006
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
A great album that does differ from 'Deja', but for the better. Alot more raw and punk with more powerful lyrics and some stand out songs. The pick of the bunch being Mix Tape and Failure by Design. If your into emo and punk music then this is a must, although there other album is great too, i prefer this one it has more energy to it and some very catchy lyrics and guitar parts.
The pace of the album never lets up but does finish nicely with a soft acoustic track, if your into Fall Out Boy, Starting Line, Day At The Fair or are just looking for some new music then this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good album, 26 Feb 2004
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
This is a really good album that is kinda a different style to their newer album but is really good. Jude law and a semester abroad is a brilliant song, get this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Categorically uncategorized, 28 Aug 2004
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
The lyrics are A*, but the sounds don't quite match up. Missing a spark, but it does manage to avoid falling into one of the few genres it incorporates, which gives it the interest it has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW WOW WOW, the only words i can use, 11 April 2003
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
this album is incredible i cant put it down i klisten to it all the time, the songs are cool, especially jude law, and 70 times 7, i saw them live with finch and i had to buy their album, they mite of over shown finch since they were that good, i defantly recommend to buy this if u like movielife, blink182, and other cool bands!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright.. buy 'Deja Entendu' instead!, 23 Jun 2005
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
As a huge fan of Brand New's latest offering, 'Deja Entendu' I decided to check out their first album, hoping for more of the same.
However 'Your Favourite Weapon' is a very different listen, prefering a rawer, more pop-punk sound than 'Deja Entendu'. Only two tracks really come close to the brilliance of Brand New's later effort, 'Jude Law and a Semester Abroad' and 'Socco Ammaretto Lime'. The former captures the typical sound of 'Your Favorite Weapon' in the most flattering light. It's spiky guitars and emotive, anthemic chorus make a great listen and one that steadily grows on you. 'Socco Ammaretto Lime' comes the closest to the sound of 'Deja Entendu' relying on an acoustc guitar, bitter-sweet lyrics and haunting backing vocals. A brilliant song, it equals 'Deja Entedu's better moments and perhaps alone makes the album worth buying.
Other good moments in the album include 'Failure by Design' and 'Mixtape'. However these tracks can not help elevate the album to anything better than 'good' status. It is sadly drowned in what seems like a lot of filler in the form of average, forgettable pop-punk songs.
So really the album is only really neccesary for the die hard fans, although others will be able to find something amongst the sadly dissapointing majority to make the album worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not like "Your Favorite Weapon" at all....., 13 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Your Favourite Weapon (Audio CD)
What i love about "Your Favorite Weapon" is brilliant fast pace and energy pretty much all the songs have really making you want to sing along and then there's this which in comparison seems like a sloth, there's not a single fast moving song, there all slow moving quite songs ok so one or two i could live with and may even enjoy but THE WHOLE ALBUM is just slow, melodic boredom compeletly unlike "Your favourite Weapon" im very supprised at all the postive reviews since this album is so differnt from the first its hard to imagine it could appeal to the same people, if you dont like slow songs and love the energy of the first ablum then i seriously would'nt buy this album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Favourite Weapon
Your Favourite Weapon by Brand New (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews