Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I first heard this band on a cd I got free with a magazine, and instantly loved them! They'res so many screamo bands around nowadays, but this band arent like the rest. The lyrics are great and his voice is amazing! This Cd is full of great tunes and lyrics. Modern Morbid Prophecies has a great tune to it making it one of the best songs on the album! They're all great...
Published on 11 Aug. 2004 by clare good

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a let down
I think when this album was released that it would have sounded pretty eventful and clinical and suave ,but these days it doesnt hold much in the way of eventful screamcore or emocore, it is certainly a product of its time, compare this to underoath for example and you may well turn red, this isnt a patch on a band like underoath.
A few tracks are solid and decent...
Published on 8 Dec. 2010 by sean paul mccann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Aug. 2004
This review is from: New Medicines (Audio CD)
I first heard this band on a cd I got free with a magazine, and instantly loved them! They'res so many screamo bands around nowadays, but this band arent like the rest. The lyrics are great and his voice is amazing! This Cd is full of great tunes and lyrics. Modern Morbid Prophecies has a great tune to it making it one of the best songs on the album! They're all great songs and you won't need to skip one song- its hard to make an album where no one will skip ONE song, but I can promise you that you won't want to skip any songs! SO what are you waiting for? GO biuy this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album..., 21 Mar. 2004
By 
Sarah "beautifullycomplete" (Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Medicines (Audio CD)
From the opening track 'Taste The Red Hands' to the closing 'A Hoax To Live For', Dead Poetic have produced another sure-fire winner with the new wave of emo/hardcore kids.
Highlights include the sting of regret in 'Glass In The Trees' and the two-fingers-up to corporate image with 'Vanus Empty'. With lyrics like "All I ever do is picture you smiling and then picture you leaving", Brandon Rike and the guys are likely to have every emo kid crying into their messenger bags. The mix of melody and hardcore, not unlike Thursday and Moneen, is excellent and definately worth a listen - especially if 'screamo' is your kinda thing.
I'd give this a definite 5-star rating, if not for knowing that Dead Poetic are nothing original. Not original; but memorable indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new medicines, 4 Feb. 2005
By 
randomness (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Medicines (Audio CD)
i bought this album through hearing the single new medicines and i must say i loved it on first hearing, i dont normally go for an album on hearing one song but you wont be dissapointed. this is a great emo album and is one of the few bands of this type to have a really good singer. so yeh this album is ace and none of your friends will of heard of them so you can look even more cool ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a let down, 8 Dec. 2010
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Medicines (Audio CD)
I think when this album was released that it would have sounded pretty eventful and clinical and suave ,but these days it doesnt hold much in the way of eventful screamcore or emocore, it is certainly a product of its time, compare this to underoath for example and you may well turn red, this isnt a patch on a band like underoath.
A few tracks are solid and decent and catchy while others feel watered down versions of thursday or thrice or alexisonfire. I really couldnt grasp any real brilliance here, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album, 14 May 2008
By 
This review is from: New Medicines (Audio CD)
I bought this album after seeing these a few years ago at a small gig in Leeds and I have to say this is a very good album.

This is the type of album with bit of diiferent things incorporated into like screamo hardcore-esque styles, plain rock, hard rock, punk and soft rock. It sounds a bit like it shouldn't work, however it does work, and it works really well.

If you listen to this album you would think it would come from a band who are much bigger than Dead Poetic actually are. This is due to good production value, meaningful lyrics, nice guitar work and all in all a very tight setup.

I would strongly recommed this album, you won't be disappointed. I recently listened to this album again and remembered just how good it is.

Songs that out stick to me perosnally are, Taste The Red Hands, Bury The Difference and Modern Morbid Prophecies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New medicines, a vast improvement, 19 May 2006
By 
This review is from: New Medicines (Audio CD)
Dead Poetic have improved incredibly from four wall blackmail. it could be a totally different band its so good.

Firsty if you like Emanuel, throw it in the bin and buy this, its fairly similar in song structure and vocal delivery, however there is just something about that makes it far more enjoyable and better.

New medicines and taste the red hands are the stand out tracks.

Dead poetic far surpass the majority of all other Post-Hardocore bands. I'm fed up with the term 'emo' but yes this album would fit into it.

Expensive, but seriously worth your hard earned beans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRULY AMAZING, 10 April 2004
This review is from: New Medicines (Audio CD)
The new album from Dead poetic is absolutely amazing. You can call it emo, screamo, hardcore or any other silly name you want but at the end of the day they just have a fantastic sound and have produced an astounding collection of tracks. Brandon has an amazing voice, almost as good as Matt Davis of Funeral For A Friend. His melodic vocals soar above the great guitars and thumping drums and go very well with his amazing growl. Granted there are a lot of bands doing similar kinds of songs at the moment but there aren't many that do it as well as Dead Poetic.
In short, buy this album, its fantastic.
Also, if you haven't already, check out the aforementioned Funeral For A Friend. They're astounding and hail from here in the UK... well, Wales. They have a very similar sound to DP and are finally getting the attention they deserve. Their debut album Casually Dressed and Deep in Conversation is a stunning piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Medicines
New Medicines by Dead Poetic (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews