Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional talent, 19 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
Reuben have managed to create a small niche in the musical world, alongside the likes of Biffy Clyro and Hell is for heroes.

Rock, with metallic influences, alongside slow and quieter songs.

this album is worth the money, plenty of songs and PLENTY of varience. Every track is totally different. There is something for everyone here, and you will not be dissapointed.

I quite honestly have no idea why reuben are not far greater in the public eye. They are still relativly unknown and deserve far more recognition for their incredible talent.

The song writting and lyrics are completly original, using bizzare time changes and tunings for guitars.

If your even looking here you shouldnt hesitate to buy it. its one of those albums you buy without caring about reviews, no dissapointment here

For fans of Biffy Clyro/From Autumn to ashes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Must Own This Album, 24 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
As many Reuben fans will know this album took a long time coming, but now its here its no disappointment. In fact its the opposite. Many People claimed 16 tracks was too long for a debut album, but when you reach track 16, 'dusk', your left begging for more.

The album varys from some very heavy songs (Missing Fingers, Wrong and sorry) to some softer songs (Song for Saturday, Dusk). It includes some of the best of there earlier songs, including one of there best known songs 'lets stop hanging out', as well as some welcome new songs. It includes the singles, 'stuck in my throat','Freddy kreuger' and 'Moving to black water'.

Personal highlights are Horrorshow, Lets stop hanging out and Freddy Kreuger.

Recommended for fans of Biffy Clyro, Million dead, Hell is for Heroes, Hundred Reasons etc. Many people have found this album grows after a few listens, So GIVE IT A CHANCE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning debut, 21 Jun 2004
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
Finally, the debut from Aldershot rockers Reuben is here!
From the off, it's absolutely stunning. 'No One Wins The War', and 'Missing Fingers' making heads rock all around. Stunning, fast paced, harmonic tracks that'll not fade from memory in a long time!
Re-recordings of 'Let's Stop Hanging Out' and 'Stuck In My Throat' prove that they have an even darker side, with a big ROAR at the start of SIMT adding extra fury to their music.
Although that's not to say they don't have a mellow side. Finisher 'Dusk' and second track 'Horrorshow' highlight this brilliantly.
This is one heck of an album, I could go on and on about all the tracks, but I'll leave you to decide on all 16 (yes, that's really the amount!) tracks for yourselves. :)
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Socks Have Been Rocked Off, 14 Sep 2005
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
the aldershot threesome Reuben show to be of great worth with their debut album 'Racecar is...'. Doubtless many of the band's more hardcore followers will know of Reuben's struggle to get this out, and this heartfelt angst certainly comes through in the album. Their unique blend of Hardcore/Emo/Rock/Pop/Metal is immediately infectious, yet not transitory - truly an album to grow up to. Songs like 'Freddy Kreuger', 'Oh The Shame' and (my favourite) 'Eating Only Apples' are a tour-de-force of unquestionably awesome music, which will undoubtedly (which i found to my embarrassment) provokes many a sing-along (good times). And the band happen to be the 3 nicest guys ever. So if you havent bought this, shell out your cash and make sure your shower room is sound-proof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Broke This CD, 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
Yowser me trowser, now i didn't break this CD because i hated it, it twas because since i brought it in june 2004 when it came out, i played it none stop and very loud, the cd and the music it self is incredible, nothing like it, on my first listens i liked it, then after a proper ol' listen, getting the lyrics, i fell in love with this beast, i've had to buy the CD again, and have bought the CD as a present for a mate. two of my buddies also now love reuben, they are awesome live and the b-sides to every single they have ever released is awesome. I HAVE NEVER HEARD A BAD REUBEN SONG. On this album fall of the bastille is a lovely beast, stuck in my throat, the lyrics are quite wonderful. This should be far bigger than they are. Go Buy all their stuff now. Jamie Lenman is king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reuben!!!! What else to say, 4 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
I first heard of them when one of my mates bands supported them and they were absoultely amazing!!!!one of the best gigs ive ever been to. Anyway when i got the album i was amazed they are so unlike any other band. The album also includes 16 tracks rock on!!! All the songs vary you get the heavy songs, you get the softer songs and the amazin ones. My favourite songs on the album have to be No one wins the war, stuck in my throat, freddy kreuger, Tonight my wife is your wife, eating only appples, lets stop hanging out, moving to blackwater and parties break hearts. All i can say is go and buy it !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 22 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
Finally, a Reuben album...oh how i have waited for this day. This band have been around for ages yet no album. Just a few singles...which were fantasic, but still denied us the full on Reuben treatment. Loyal to their fans and fantastic live this band deserves to go to whatever level they wish to be at. And with music this good...you knows it's right.
Fantastic album, they don't dissapoint, as I knew they wouldn't.
BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, what an album!!, 12 July 2004
By 
Simon Rourke (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
Reuben is a band I have heard about for a couple of years now, one of those bands you hear the occasional single from but never know whether an album is around the corner!
Thankfully these guys have released an album, and it is incredible, awesome and everything I look for in a quality rock album.
You simply can't compare this band to any other, I have tried to make comparisions but nothing seems to fit exactly. You can name bands like Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Green Day and any other bands of that ilk........but in my opinion that wouldn't be doing Reuben any justice - this album stands out on it's own.
The melodies and hooks this band use are incredible, every song has such a strong melody running through it you can't help but sing along and wish you could write something this catchy on your own guitar!!
The lyrics are also brilliant, Jamie manages to convey various moods and opinions without ever sounding corny or predictable. They fit the songs perfectly and never sound strained. I can't praise this album enough, can't even pick my favourite song out - it changes daily and the fact I can listen to this album start to finish without pressing the skip button says a lot. The last album I could do that on was Troublegum by Therapy and we all know how good that album was.
It is so refreshing to see a great young british band make music this good - together with Amplifier and Oceansize, Reuben are spearheading the new onslaught of great british rock music......I strongly recommend you check Reuben out, it will be in my stereo for a very long time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 19 Nov 2005
By 
Peter G (Maidenhead, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
this album is totally amazing. each song is different to the other, different catchy tunes and beats that keeps you dancing for days! SERIOUSLY WORTH BUYING! in fact, buy it for yourself, every family member, every friend... and just generally everyone!
another great thing about this record is the fact that it doesn't sound polished at all. it's raw and fresh and how all albums should be recorded, and is almost as fabulous as seeing them live!
look out for tracks oh the shame, stuck in my throat, lets stop hanging out, tonight my wife is your wife, freddy kruger, missing fingers, moving to blackwater, dusk and parties break hearts EPESCIALLY! i know i've just listed half the album, but isn't that a good thing?! they are bloody awesome!
BUY.THIS.NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenagers shouldn't listen to drum and bass, 18 Jan 2006
This review is from: Racecar Is Racecar Backwards (Audio CD)
Bought VeryFastVeryDangerous then got RacecarIsRacecarBackwards after hearing FallOfTheBastille a few months ago on MTV. Racecar is just slighty the better of the two albums. Everytime I listen to either of them it makes me smile because there's everything from Husker Du to Rival Schools to Biffy Clyro in there.This is what the Hundred Reasons albums should have been like. Reuben live must be fantastic. Anything else this good? Oceansize? MillionDead? VexRed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Racecar Is Racecar Backwards
Racecar Is Racecar Backwards by Reuben (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews