Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2004
This is a great energetic album, which grabs your attention and refuses to let go. With names like Howlin' Pelle Almqvist, Chris Dangerous, Dr Matt Destruction, Vigilante Carlstroem and Nicholaus Arson you no that your in for a great time! These guys are insane and it's reflected in the sound throughout, especially 'Diabolic Scheme'! The best songs are 'Two Timing Touch and Broken Bones' and 'A Little More for Little You' as well as the great single 'Walk Idiot Walk'. There isn't a bad song here and it's well worth a listen. This album is superior to 'My New Favourite Band', which is their best of. If you love 'Hate To Say I Told You So' which is an awesome song, you will love this album. Punk at it's very best!
P.S. Check their suits out!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2005
This album (I thought) was a really outstanding one. You can take the Hives anywhere and enjoy them- to the gym, the bus, the car, the lounge, study...whatever. This album is no exception. I really did enjoy this, and I see no reason why the Hives shouldn't be more well-known- they should rate up there with the Killers, RHCP, MUSE, F.Ferdinand etc... surely? Ah well, enjoy this- it's brill! All rock fans will be glad they spent the money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
This is simply the best album of the year.
Classic hives : three-chords,catchy tunes and punk brilliance.
The stand out tracks for me are the "longer" tracks : "A Little More For Little You", "Love In Plaster" and "Diabolic Scheme".
The only weakness here is that the hives should try and develop song lengths.
Overall, a great album. Bring on the September tour!!!
xx
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2004
Out of the blue, the Hives released "Veni Vidi Vicious" and suddenly became the new darlings of garage rock. And not without reason: this Swedish band rocks with a playful energy that's rarely matched by other bands of their ilk. Were you thinking that "Tyrannosaurus Hives," the followup, would disappoint? You'd be wrong. It's every bit as enjoyable as its predecessor, featuring 30 minutes of brash and hard electricity. It's a fun ride with catchy hooks, rock solid melodies, and tight instrumentation. Points of interest: killer tracks like "B Is for Brutus," the furious "No Pun Intended," "See Through Head," and the downtempo (yes, downtempo) "Diabolic Scheme," which is as close to a ballad as you'll probably hear from these guys. While the unexpected punch of "Veni Vidi Vicious" may be gone, the intensity of "Tyrannosaurus Hives" is undeniable. Recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2004
So they're back... This album really confirms that they are evolving, becoming more. This is an entirely more focused album than YNFB which, although brilliant, was slightly disjointed due to it being essentially a compilation. The album sees a sharpening of their sound, directing their anger like never before, with highlights in "Abra Cadaver" and the unexpectedly upbeat "A Little More for Little You". The bands influences are advertised in tracks like "Dead Quote Olympics" and "Abra Cadaver", which have a familiar air to them - Stooges comparisons are not unjustified, along with many a 70s punk outfit. Deserving of the 5 stars, a definite progression, but won't alienate the current fanbase - if anything it will make them eager for more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2004
Praise be! The Hives show no signs of commercialising their sound in any way, shape or form - in fact they have gone in the opposite direction and returned in some ways to the harsh scuzzy noise of 1997's "Barely Legal". And they've picked up some new tricks along the way. I'm absolutely delighted with this new album. "Diabolic Scheme" is a revelation with its stabbing strings, amazing.
I only received my copy yesterday but I've listened to it at least 5 times already - it's addictive!
This is most certainly their best work to date, packed with catchy bubblegum pop tunes and urgent garage rock 'n roll. I just hope we don't have to wait another three years for more!
Long live The Hives!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2004
THE HIVES seem to have been around forever for those who followed them since their muted debut in the late 90s - but ever since the "Best Of.." album "Your New Favourite Band" - which was essentially a compilation of songs from their previous albums, singles and LPs, you could see The Hives had something special.
Their raw brand of punk-insaniac-rock brings a fresh face to the somewhat stale music industry which still reels out souless coroporate kiddy pop designed purely for the money, and the endless streams of boring clichéd rap music. And while there is certainly a new brand of music being unleashed upon the charts, The Hives are a shark in a pool filled with sardines.
If their sometimes complex chord structures and guitar thrashing music doesn't get your feet tapping instantly then there is most certainly something wrong with your ears.
While "Your New Favourite Band" contained some undoubtadly superb songs, there was a feeling at times that it was all a little novice and lacked structure. Well the new album "Tyrannosaurus Hives" puts all that firmly behind them and comes rocketing at you from out of nowhere, with chorus after chorus of perfectly manufactured rock shout-a-longs. Never before has an album so sublimely fused rock, pop and punk all into one magnificent creation.
While The Hives might not be getting Number 1s in the British music charts, this certainly doesn't reflect on their talent, and more on the music industries need for putting pretty boys and girls on adverts to sell CDs. The Hives certainly aren't that - they contain a bizarre mix of young and old members, either overweight or looking just like your friend's Dad. But all this is inconsequential - the difference in personnel is what helps them create such a special blend.
Personal favourites on the album are Abra Cadaver, A Little More For Little You, and the fantastic Diabolic Scheme - which shows The Hives can pull off a more medium paced song with equal class as the rest of their feet stomping smashes.
This should be on your shopping list immedietely - you will not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2004
This album has definite hints of their first album, Barely Legal. They have a diverse range of songs on this album, from the catchy walk idiot walk, to the little more relaxed Diabolic Scheme. Quite simply, if you love The Hives, get this album. (and after all, how can you not love The Hives?!)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
For once I actually listened to Jonathan Ross's advice when he did the Saturday morning show on the radio. Whilst I hate to admit it - he was right. These guys are brilliant. I never thought I would come across another band who played as fast as the Damned (1st album) but here they are. Track 9 is called 'Missing Link' and I reckon they probably are. Why on earth do people sometimes say the Swedish are boring? The Hives can be summed up in one word - NUTS. This is a pretty short album which is probably just as well as it would be hard to take much more in one sitting. Refreshingly they seem to play it for laughs which is something original punk rock often failed to do. Buy it, put it in your CD player immediately you get home and await the onslaught. The neighbours may hate you but who cares?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2004
This is album is quite simply the best thing you're going to hear if you're into raw, original rock music. Forget these boring, seen-it-all-before, british "rock" bands like Snow Patrol and Keane, this album makes them totally insignificant. It keeps growing on you as you listen to it, even when you don't think you could possibly like it anymore. Its hard to pick stand-out tracks because they're all so good but if i was pushed to do so i'd have to say the lead single, "Walk, Idiot Walk" is up there along with other such classics as "Love in Plaster" and "Uptight", which was released exclusively in the uk. The only album coming out this year that might challenge the Hives is the new Oasis album but thats only if they're truly back on top form. Go buy this album now, thank me later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)