Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 13 Going On 30
Knowing that she can do action and plenty of it from the hit TV spy series Alias, we see Jennifer Garner tackling another genre in this sprightly gratifying romantic comedy that's obviously inspired by one of Tom Hanks' smash hits in which she plays a 13-year-old who wishes she was 30 and wakes up the next morning to find out that she is! Although it's Big with flashy...
Published on 25 Jun 2006 by Dave Kraven

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Bubblegum, bracelets and body-swapping"
Jenna is a shy 13-year-old who one day wishes that she were older, so she obviously has her wish granted for some reason and wakes up the next morning in the body of an attractive 30-year-old magazine editor. Jennifer Garner plays the grown-up version of the films heroine while Mark Ruffalo charms as her love interest, but this insipid rip-off of Big substitutes...
Published on 23 May 2010 by Master Ds Cholerton


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 13 Going On 30, 25 Jun 2006
By 
Dave Kraven (Burbage, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 13 Going On 30 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Knowing that she can do action and plenty of it from the hit TV spy series Alias, we see Jennifer Garner tackling another genre in this sprightly gratifying romantic comedy that's obviously inspired by one of Tom Hanks' smash hits in which she plays a 13-year-old who wishes she was 30 and wakes up the next morning to find out that she is! Although it's Big with flashy lip-gloss, it's incredibly captivating with Garner on top form along with a stunning cast which includes a charming Mark Ruffalo, bitchy Judy Greer and LOTR's Andy Serkis, picturesque visuals and a romantic sub-plot that's convincingly dreamy between the two leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny And Well Conceived, 21 Aug 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 13 Going on 30 (Ws Dub Spec Sub Ac3 Dol) [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
At first sight, this looks like a teenage girl fantasy movie and the first fifteen minutes seem to be just that. However, once Jenna (Jennifer Garner) gets her wish (it's a silly fairy dust scene) to become thirty, Garner manages to pull off a thirteen year-old as a successful businesswoman as well as Tom Hanks did in "Big". She is truly funny at discovering how her life has turned out. Finding out that she and her friends are not the nice people she thought, Jenna tries to save her famous fashion magazine from folding and save the boyfriend she neglected as a teen (Mark Ruffalo as Matt). Garner really pulls out all she has and glows in this funny, heartfelt and human comedy. Not being one for this genre, I was very surprised at how well conceived the entire film was. The entire family will go for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly delightful, feel-good comedy, 1 Feb 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 13 Going on 30 (Ws Dub Spec Sub Ac3 Dol) [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was rather pleasantly surprised by this film. Obviously, the storyline is by no means unique, and I've seen too many films featuring kids and adults miraculously switching places to feel all that confident about going once more into a similar breach, but 13 Going on 30 is actually, well, delightful. I'm a big Jennifer Garner fan going all the way back to her role in the short-lived Time of Your Life; by and large, I think she did a wonderful job in this role. It is certainly a different Jennifer Garner than we see on Alias, and it certainly appears as if she relished a role in which she got to be silly and whimsical. I would have to credit Mark Ruffalo with an even more impressive performance, though, as his was the subtle glue that held the fantastical elements of the plot together.
Young Jenna has just turned 13; already unhappy with the way she looks and anxious to be popular, she suffers an embarrassing indignation which has her fervently wishing to be 30. Thanks to some wishing dust on the model dream home her obviously infatuated by "not cool" friend Matt built for her, she gets her wish. I thought the early scenes featuring 13-year-old Jenna reacting to the instant passing of 17 years and adjusting to her new, uh, accessories was a little awkward, and a certain lack of continuity in regard to her reactions to new stimuli popped up sporadically as the film progressed. One minute she's acting like a young teenager, and then she will suddenly seem to have grown up into her new age to a significant degree. Anyway, she discovers that all of her dreams have come true: she was popular, and she has become mighty successful in life - actually sitting atop the fashion magazine she was addicted to as a kid. Before long, though, she begins to see that having it all isn't all it is cracked up to be. This grown-up body she inhabits is actually a rather empty shell of a not so nice person. She learns that she has done some rather nasty things over the course of the missing 17 years. The only person she can turn to is her friend Matt (Mark Ruffalo), but the two have gone in very different directions over the years. In the process of trying to save her magazine, Jenna learns that the dreams of childhood don't turn out the way you thought they would and other obvious life lessons, etc., etc. You can probably guess what happens at the end.
The film does succeed rather well as a comedy; the Thriller dance scene, while uncomfortable to watch, is indeed quite silly, and some of adult Jenna's interactions with young teens also play well. I also loved the fact that the movie helped take me back to the 1980s, to some degree. There are some classic 80s tunes on the soundtrack, and beginning the film with the sound of the Go-Go's definitely qualifies for a star in my book. That being said, I have to say that I don't remember some of the awful hair-dos of the film actually existing in the late 80s - certainly not among the girls my eyes gravitated toward in those halcyon days of youth.
In the end, this is basically your silly, entertaining, feel-good comedy, and it stars one of Hollywood's most attractive, talented actresses. It doesn't try to be anything more than what it is, and that is a big reason why it works as well as it does. It is by no means a must-see, but I do believe it is a film you cannot help but enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Thirty and flirting and thriving", 11 Aug 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 13 Going On 30 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is one of those movies that serve purely as entertainment and not much else. And of course, there is nothing wrong with that, as long as you are not expecting to find innovative ideas or earth shattering developments in the story. I guess my message is, if you are just seeking to spend a couple of hours relaxed and having fun, this is the film for you.
Jenna (Gardner) is a teenager that is going through a crisis similar to the one most kids at her age have to endure; she wants to be cool and belong to the elite group known as "Six Chicks". She thinks that if she was thirty she would not have these problems, so on her thirteenth birthday she wishes to be of that age. Lo and behold, her wish comes true. I am sure this idea sounds familiar to most of you, since it has been used time and again with different variations, like grandfather and grandson or mother and daughter exchanging bodies, a woman waking up in a male body, etc. In this case there is no body swap, but Jenna just wakes up seventeen years later.
Even though at first she is confused, she quickly realizes that she has everything she wished for when she was a kid, but now the question is: Is this really what she was looking for? As you can see, there are not a lot of original ideas, but the creators were successful in introducing special situations that make us laugh almost continuously during the presentation. Also, Jennifer Gardner, who effectively portraits a ruthless agent in the series "Alias", shows that she can also excel on the other extreme, with a sweet and naïve character.
The only question I am not sure I have an answer for yet is: Would I watch this movie again? At this point in time I would say maybe, and I think that means that I would not plan on revisiting it, but if I came across it on cable I would probably stop and watch for a while. In my mind guess this means that it is enjoyable enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 13 going on 30, 23 Aug 2004
This review is from: 13 Going on 30 (Ws Dub Spec Sub Ac3 Dol) [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This film was hilariously funny in some psrts and really touching in others. I would definately recommend it to people that want to buy it. i will be first in queue at the shop to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm-hearted fairytale that's surprisingly good, 3 July 2012
By 
Bookwoman - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 13 Going On 30 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Looking at the title, the DVD cover and the star, you would never guess how good this film actually is.
There's not much to explain about the plot - thanks to some 'magic dust', a gawky 13-year old misfit, desperate to be part of the school's bitchy in-crowd, wakes up to find that her wish to be 'thirty, flirty and thriving' has come true. But be careful what you wish for: beneath the glitzy surface, life hasn't quite turned out as she'd imagined it would.
For obvious reasons it's been compared to Big - Dvd [1988], and for once the comparisons don't lie - I found it to be just as good.
There are no surprises and the ending is entirely predictable, of course, but you can forgive that in a film that's so well done. There are some very funny scenes, and some moving ones, too. But what makes it work is Jennifer Garner's performance - who knew that she could do comedy like this? She's beautiful, obviously, but funny, warm, awkward and vulnerable as well. She's a totally convincing 13 year old in a 30 year old's body.
The rest of the cast are just there to support Garner, which they do very well. The love interest is the handsome if dull Mark Ruffalo, and Andy Serkis is in it, which was a surprise. But it's Garner's film, and she's marvellous.
It's a fairytale for the girls, obviously, but we all need one of those sometimes, especially when it's as good as this. And it's so much better than the tiresome Jennifer Aniston-type romcoms we're fed so often - it's great to watch a film that's as much about friendship as it is romance.
One to buy and keep on the shelf, for whenever there's a rainy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far better than I thought it would be!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 13 Going On 30 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I bought this as a cheap, light, fluffy film to watch during an afternoon of housework (sorting papers, cleaning shoes etc). 20 minutes in it was obvious the film was way too good to just have on in the background. I ended up abandoning the house work and pitching up on the sofa, giving the film my full attention. I wasn't disappointed!

The film is much cleverer than a just a 'chick flick', and Jennifer Garner shows a talent for comedy I would have never believed she had. She's absolutely fantastic, and the cliche characters around her are just as pantomine as they should be.

(I would add that there's nothing in this film for boys/menfolk, I suspect they'd be bored rigid by it. It's strictly echoing women's scenarios.)

This isn't a life changing film. It's not high art. But it's a great fun way to spend a couple of hours. I planned to watch the film then pop it in the charity shop, but I'm definately keep it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omg!, 27 July 2006
This review is from: 13 Going On 30 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
i absolutely love this film. There is something about it that makes me tingle. It's great and I just can't get enough of the 80's songs. I think Jenifer Garner played the part just right getting the habits of a 13 year old girl spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 July 2005
By 
This review is from: 13 Going On 30 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I just watched this movie and I wasn't expecting too much from it, as there are a lot of mediocre romcoms out there at the moment, but this was a wonderful surprise! It's actually quite funny and ever so romantic, I love it! It's also got a fab soundtrack - infact, that's why I came on amazon just now, to check if they sell a soundtrack! This is a real feel-good movie, with a reeeeeally nice loveable leading man, which always helps! If you like romcoms and/or niiice men, do yourself a favour and buy this! It really is brilliant fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 13 going on 30 dvd, 12 April 2011
By 
Mrs. Pauline Annetta Hall (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 13 Going On 30 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Bought for my daughter as a present. We sat down and watched this together really good. Fast delivery good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews