Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2015
The international Jim Reeves, is truly a great album, Jim at his very best his smooth approach to each and every song contained here are wonderful, the song choice reflects every corner of the world, the Good n' Country album was on the Camden budget label originally, yet he simply glides through these country tracks so well, this is Jim who's voice has mellowed unlike his very early county recordings, he like Eddy Arnold, simply got better with age, both beautiful ballard singers, both RCA artists and both embraced the Nashville sound with such ease. If Jim had lived what a treasure trove of recordings we would have had today, alas it was not to be, but what we have is pure gold!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
I bought this CD as I own a very old copy on vinyl which is quite worn out.(Good n Country) It is Jim Reeves at his best and we all know what he is capable of with that wonderful voice. Songs from my childhood and truly wonderful Memories. Would recommend this to anyone who loves the true sound of Country Music.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2010
This CD contains two original LPs, both released in 1963 but very different in style and content, showing the versatility of one of the world's greatest singers. The International Jim Reeves is heavily - I think overly - orchestrated and contains WW2 classics such as "White Cliffs of Dover" and "Auf Weidersehen" as well as several Afrikaan songs which had been released earlier in South Africa - in this case, Jim has inserted some English lyrics into the songs. Other songs include "Golden Memories and Silver Tears", "Blue Canadian Rockies" and the UK hit "Guilty". The "Good 'n' Country" album contains 10 of Jim's best ever recordings. Indeed, it is likely that "Good n Country" would be voted favourite album by the majority of Jim Reeves fans. Originally released in the budget RCA Camden label and featuring mainly cover versions of contemporary country hits, this album shows Jim Reeves at his very best. He has taken hits by others and turned them into his own, and one of them "Heartache following me" became a UK hit and a classic. It seems that, at the time of his death, Jim was moving more towards the sound encapsulated in the 'International Jim Reeves' album. But, to me, he was at his very best when backed by a lighter country sound which allowed the warmth of his rich baritone voice to shine through. If you want to savour the many facets of the Jim Reeves sound, then this CD is for you.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
This CD shows off Jim's velvet voice to perfection. The first album is the polished easy listening sound that made Jim so popular internationally. The second is country but not the raw sound of his early years, rather, a more sophisticated blend of country music but still keeping, for me the best part of country, a story within each song. I can really picture Jim singing in a phone booth wishing that little old dime will get him through to his lost love! Great quality sound and complete with booklet which reproduces both cover and back of the original vinyl covers.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Having both albums on vinyl and they are getting very worn, it's good to hear the songs crystal clear.Both albums are excellent.Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
This CD has two albums from 1963. I had the vinyl versions back in the day. Am delighted to have access to them again. Well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
CD in perfect order (new) - quick shipment - easy ordering - marvellous crooner voice and romantic songs. I never get tired of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
This is the best CD of Jim Reeves that I have purchased. I love it and have been listening to it during all my spare time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Jim Reeves is and has always been very easy to listen to. I would give this CD 10 out of 10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
One excellent LP, one not so good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)