Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Gem
The first Album i ever bought. A wide eyed young boy , who played this Album over and over and over again."Antmusic" "Dog Eat Dog" , real songs that make the hairs on your neck stand to attention (If you have taste..) Now in CD form this Album STILL sounds good today.Were Adam And The Ants ever given the real credit they deserved ? i don't think so. A true masterclass in...
Published on 21 July 2004 by steve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Quite good, but odd bonus tracks added which are not great - remixes etc.
Published 3 days ago by David Navin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A review, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album back in the day, so when I discovered a remastered, and expanded cd at a very reasonable price, I couldn't resist.
The album is great upto, and including the title track, after that the quality drops off a bit
The alternative mix of Antmusic is an interesting and worthwhile addition, which is more than can be said of the demo versions, which I don't think I'll be playing again. Still like the album, though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT!, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love this album! Have three copies on vinyl and two c.d.'s. I bought this copy as a gift and it was very well received.
Classic hits such as Dog Eat Dog, Antmusic and Kings of the Wild Frontier as well as the unusual Ants Invasion and Killer in the Home make this my favourite album of all time.
Unique and powerful. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAAANTAAASTIC, 31 Aug. 2010
This CD is as good as it was when fisrt released. Happy memories, FANTASTIC music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Home, 7 Dec. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up with Adam and the Ants in the early 80's and loved all their fantastic hits and the wonderful epic videos that accompanied them - and I now own 'The Very Best of Adam and the Ants' on cd. When 'Kings of the Wild Frontier' was originally released in 1980 my sister tape recorded it from a friend who had it on vinyl, and I thought it was a truly great album. That said, I forgot all about it and was just content with owning the 'Best of'. It was only very recently that I happened to be watching an ITV drama when they used the album track 'Jolly Roger'. It suddenly brought memories flooding back of how great this album was, an album that I hadn't heard for over 25 years.

Their unique sound is a combination of Post Punk/New Wave spliced with rockabilly, Glam Rock, American-Indian style tribal drums and chanting, plus some New Romantic 'Don't Be Square (Be There)' and to a lesser extent 'Human Beings'. And on this album, there is even a Spagetti Western type theme tune 'Los Rancheros'.

This version is made up of the original album consisting of 12 tracks, plus some unreleased demo's tagged on the end and it's been remastered with a great crisp sound. Personally, I can take or leave the bonus material (no offence intended to any diehard fans), but as for the album itself, it still sounds amazing and has no fillers on it. My favourite's are: 'Dog Eat Dog', 'Kings of the Wild Frontier', 'Magnificent Five' and 'Jolly Roger'. It also struck me, when listening to this again, that anyone who owns 'Employment' by the Kaiser Chiefs would also love this, as they've both got the same charming and energetic spirit to them.

It's a real buzz re-discovering this gem after all this time - so welcome home you long forgotten classic. And finally, if anyone out there wants to be a Pirate, then why not hop aboard the Jolly Roger and set sail for a wonderful adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings Of The Wild Frontier (Audio CD)
I has missed this album so glad it is on cd. Great condition and delivery absolutely brilliant!

I was singing my heart out, it is surprising how you remember the words. Oh err !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Ant / Kings of the Wild Frontier CD, 5 Jan. 2011
Remaster of original album c/w some 'bonus' tracks. Bought for an Xmas present & was well received along with Prince Charming. Great price too for a slice of 80's nostalgia...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kings Of The Wild Frontier, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab CD, had this when I was younger and purchased for my 15 year old daughter who is a huge fan of Adam ant, She loves it great buy, good price, excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the Album of the year when it came out. It was the talk of the school yard. Two drummers gave it a great sound. Every track on this album is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An 80's classic, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a duff track on this album - full of songs that you wish you had written !!, a talented musician who knew how to promote a product - an 80's classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Husband delighted, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This took my husband back a good few years, and he is so pleased, as Adam & The Ants are so talented, and thankfully once again making music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kings Of The Wild Frontier
Kings Of The Wild Frontier by Adam & The Ants (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews