Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless People
Brilliant film and I am so glad it's now out on DVD.
I remember seeing it years ago on TV and loving the end - I'd forgotten it when I watched this time, so it was just like seeing it for the first time.
If you haven't seen it, and you like Bette Midler - and/or Danny de Vito - you've got to see it.
Delivery was very quick, so thank you Amazon.
Published on 11 Feb 2010 by T. Jaray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WATCH `DOWN AND OUT IN BEVERLY HILLS` INSTEAD!
From the makers of Airplane & The Naked Gun but nowhere near as good! Bette Midler would also star in Down And Out In Beverly Hills released the same year & a much better film!
Published 10 months ago by Mr. E. A. Dobson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless People, 11 Feb 2010
By 
T. Jaray (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film and I am so glad it's now out on DVD.
I remember seeing it years ago on TV and loving the end - I'd forgotten it when I watched this time, so it was just like seeing it for the first time.
If you haven't seen it, and you like Bette Midler - and/or Danny de Vito - you've got to see it.
Delivery was very quick, so thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Funniest Movies Ever Made, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw Ruthless People in a movie theatre back in the mid-eighties. I was crying with laughter during and after the film. It's one of the funniest movies ever made, but, sadly, a picture that's not mentioned when 'experts' discuss the great films.

Everything about this movie is perfect. It's very cleverly written, brilliantly casted and acted, and excellently directed and edited. It's absolutely crammed with funny lines and situations and keeps you laughing from start to finish. For fans of comedy this is a must-see picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy, 4 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent comedy and actors. Good for a night in when you are feeling low. It has a very clever and unexpected ending. Absolutely brilliant film you will want to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and hilarious - as funny today as when it was first released!, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Ruthless People over and over again when I was younger, I loved it! Twenty years on I really wanted to watch it again and bought the DVD. It was just as fantastic as the first time I saw it, bundles of laughs and undoubtedly one of the best comedy films of it's era. Would strongly recommend to everyone - order it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless people(DVD), 1 May 2009
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this film when it first came out and had been telling a friend about it,so decided to buy it as it was so cheap.Just as funny as the first time I saw it and has'nt lost any of the humour or dated at all in all these years.Puts a lot of the modern day comedies to shame.Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless Comedy, 10 Jan 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
Danny DeVito and Bette Midler star in this crime caper where Barbara gets kidnapped by an angry couple, who have lost a lot of money to Sam's dodgy dealings with them. They are desperate for revenge, and so is his bit on the side Carol, who just wants Sam's money. There is a lot of misunderstandings that leads to all sorts of hilarity - and an interesting ending.

This is a great movie, with Judge Reinhold and Danny DeVito being the best actors in the film. I also liked Bette's adaptation of an annoyed and unloved Barbara - and the relationship she builds with Sandy. There's not really a dull moment in this, and it's very well written by the Zucker brothers who were involved in the Naked Gun movies.

This DVD is poor though, the picture quality is good and the sound is OK, but there are no extras, and it's pretty bare bones. Would have been great if there were commentaries on this, but sadly we didn't get any. It is also a DVD5, so don't expect great bitrates you would get from a DVD9.

Well worth getting at this bargain price, because renting it is about the same price as buying, and I have watched this quite a few times, so it's been worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to keep, 30 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen 'Ruthless People' several times and it still makes me laugh. Showed it to my sister and her husband recently and they liked it so much wanting to see it again....so it became a birthday present and they are busy watching it with anyone they know. Danny DeVito is horribly good and Miss M is so lacking in taste as a character that you know why she married him. The interior design of their house is a real treat and should have won loads of awards...Bill Pullman's character is so funny, often unknowingly, that it's hilarious. The 'robbery' is priceless.I'd watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie, with non-stop hilarity!, 5 May 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Sam Stone (played by Danny DeVito), millionaire women's clothing mogul, is tired of his fat, irritating wife Barbara (Bette Midler), and is ready to murder her. But, when he finds out that she has been kidnapped, and will be murdered if anything goes wrong, all of his dreams have come true. Ken Kessler (Judge Rienhold) and his wife Sandy (Helen Slater) were ripped off by Sam, and figure that by kidnapping Barbara, and getting Sam's money that they would be even, but they wouldn't hurt a fly. Sam's mistress Carol (Anita Morris) has a boy toy of her own and wants to get her hands on Sam's money. Also, there's a cold-blooded murderer stalking L.A. and he could be anywhere. Oh oh, this could get complicated...and hilarious!
This is a great movie! Created by Zucker, Abrahams, and Zucker, this offbeat movie is just as funny as their other hits, Airplane and The Naked Gun, but has a more solid storyline. I loved the characters and the non-stop hilarity, and have watched this movie many times over the years.
Now, I must mention that this movie is rated R for a reason. There are numerous "adult" scenes (though no nudity) and a good deal of swearing. So, if you are going to watch this movie with the whole family, you'll have to stand by the fast forward button.
But, that said this is a great movie, with non-stop hilarity! If you are looking for a side-splitting movie, then look no further. Buy this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny!!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
This film came out when I was in nappies so I'm a bit late in watching it, very entertaining, and great to see the 80's fashions! Danny DeVito & Bette Midler are a fabulous twosome. Well worth a watch on a rainy Sunday afternoon! I bought a used copy for next to nothing and was very pleased with the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless People, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruthless People [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this film years ago, and thought it was great. Bought it for my Mum for Christmas and she really loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb577551c)

This product

Ruthless People [DVD]
Ruthless People [DVD] by Jim Abrahams (DVD - 2004)
7.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews