Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
A really useful and effective cleaner. It won't clean off stubborn, long term algae very well but is worth running over the glass every few days when you start to see green appear, that wipes off instantly. My danios love chasing it along the glass! Comes with string too so that the magnet inside tank can't fall off and hit anything below. *TIP* - be careful placing in...
Published 10 months ago by Jim F

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Compared to my last magnetic scraper, this is not very good. It's fine for small amounts of algae, but unfortunately the side panels of my tank are thick with the green stuff, and I've found that it doesn't really do the job for well-rooted algae.

Overall, a fairly weak and overpriced product.
Published 7 months ago by AwesomeSauce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet Cleaner - 4 inch Medium (Misc.)
A really useful and effective cleaner. It won't clean off stubborn, long term algae very well but is worth running over the glass every few days when you start to see green appear, that wipes off instantly. My danios love chasing it along the glass! Comes with string too so that the magnet inside tank can't fall off and hit anything below. *TIP* - be careful placing in your tank, hold the magnet inside against glass as they really are strong and will smash together otherwise and could crack glass or kill a passing fish squashing it between the glass and magnet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best algae magnet there is..., 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet Cleaner - 4 inch Medium (Misc.)
if you're looking for a good algae magnet that doesn't scratch your aquarium glass, then this is the one. i have used many different brands over the years and one thing i really hate is their hard velcro cleaning pads, the velcro on some algae magnets will definitely scratch the heck out of your tank. luckily, this marina magnet has very soft microfiber and it cleans the glass easily, it also washes clean hassle free. the only bad point is, it doesn't float when disconnected from the glass, it will drop into the substrate if you don't use the string provided and thats a problem if you have sand. apart from that, its a good algae magnet and i recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hours of fun!, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet, Small (Misc.)
strong hold on glass, gets rid of algae first go. Not cheap looking and sturdy. nice grip and has loops on magnet to tie string to if the magnet falls into tank so you don't get your hands wet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and actually works., 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet, Small (Misc.)
Great for smaller tanks. I haven't used anything like this before but it did what it said it would.
Another good product from Hagen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it needs to, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet Cleaner - 4 inch Medium (Misc.)
As advertised. Goodbye alge. A word of warning though... Watch your fingers when you introduce the magnets together, their very strong and will nip you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 1 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet Cleaner - 4 inch Medium (Misc.)
Compared to my last magnetic scraper, this is not very good. It's fine for small amounts of algae, but unfortunately the side panels of my tank are thick with the green stuff, and I've found that it doesn't really do the job for well-rooted algae.

Overall, a fairly weak and overpriced product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New tank set-up, 19 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet Cleaner - 4 inch Medium (Misc.)
Fair product for the price... I have a 2inch magi-float for my smaller tank, but needed a 4inch for my new tank.... On hind site I prefer the magi-float.... This product cleans perfectly well, is heavy duty and well made but if it comes away in the tank it sinks to the bottom, unlike magi-float....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet Cleaner - 4 inch Medium (Misc.)
A good quality aquarium glass cleaner. I use this occasionally when the glass needs to be kept clean & it works very well without any chance of scratching. I expect that if the glass was heavily soiled, because of the lack of abrasive materials, it may not work so well.

The two pieces are held together by the magnet power & there is a length of thread included to tie them together over the top of the tank, so that if the pieces become detached, the inside piece won't fall onto the substrate. I prefer not to use the thread & am extra careful not to move the magnet too quickly.

A further use is as an egg laying device for certain types of fish so that you can easily remove the eggs from the tank if you don't want to breed.

As a guideline, I use the magnet in a 260 litre tank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars algae magnetic cleaner, 31 May 2013
By 
D. J. Shelton "medicman dave" (worthing west sussex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet Cleaner - 4 inch Medium (Misc.)
This one is big enough for my 67 litre tank. Once you attract each half through the glass, twist so that the longer face moves in the direction you want, dragging gently along the glass and thentwist to move again so that the area has been cleaned.
The magnet is quite strong and will feel heavy to move but it seems to do the job. After each panel, depending on how dirty it is, I suggest cleaning the "brush" and continuing. I like the piece of cord that stops you having to insert your arm in the water if you lose the water-based cleaning half, and this can be replaced easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great little product, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marina Algae Magnet, Small (Misc.)
Had a few bits of swarf on the edges which could have scratched glass but they came off easy enough before I used it and a corner of the felt peeled and folded over once but this was easily folded back and hasn't happened again. Does a good job of keeping glass clean without invading your fishes home seems to be the ideal size for my 40l while still being small enough to be inconspicuous while pushed around to the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews