Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great cooker - but...
I ordered this mainly as a steamer with the side benefit of use as a slow cooker. On the plus side the unit seems to be extremely well made and sturdy, the non-stick bowl is great when cooking rice since it makes cleaning so much easier, the rice cooking function seems to produce the best steamed rice of any cooker I have owned.
The only minus point with this unit is...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by ddan

versus
74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor design but nice rice
My primary use of the 3 in 1 was as a slow cooker. It doesn't have a high & low setting like most devices (which is useful for thickening sauces near the end of cooking) and there is no timer device when using it as a slow cooker. It is not even possible to switch on using a separate time clock.
There is a timing device for the rice cooker utility but as...
Published on 13 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great cooker - but..., 19 Aug 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
I ordered this mainly as a steamer with the side benefit of use as a slow cooker. On the plus side the unit seems to be extremely well made and sturdy, the non-stick bowl is great when cooking rice since it makes cleaning so much easier, the rice cooking function seems to produce the best steamed rice of any cooker I have owned.
The only minus point with this unit is the insert for steaming vegetables in incredibly small. If you are a single person or cook very few vegetables at a time it will work well, however we tend to steam large quantities and I have a feeling we might end up buying a dedicated steamer.
With respect to the slow cooking feature we haven't used that yet so I cant comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent, 3 Nov 2005
By 
Jane (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Products that claim to be multi-use are invariably weaker than a dedicated product. However, I bought this rice/slow/steam cooker because I didn't want to pay for and store all three in my kitchen.
Tefal have greatly exceeded my expectations. The appliance is as sturdy and stylish as the photo suggests. The slow cooker makes great casseroles. The steamer gives good results. The rice cooker works well, and rather than using a timer, the rice cooker stops cooking once the sensor indicates the water is absorbed and the rice is cooked. I wasn't sure whether this would be the case, as it wasn't specified in the product description.
My only slight disappointment is that the steamer tray is plastic, and is a bit small. I would prefer a metal steamer tray, as I am a bit dubious about cooking food in plastic. It would be nice if it was a bit bigger too. In addition, it would be convenient to have an on/off switch so I could turn it completely off without unplugging it.
Overall though, a brilliant product, and definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor design but nice rice, 13 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
My primary use of the 3 in 1 was as a slow cooker. It doesn't have a high & low setting like most devices (which is useful for thickening sauces near the end of cooking) and there is no timer device when using it as a slow cooker. It is not even possible to switch on using a separate time clock.
There is a timing device for the rice cooker utility but as it takes only 15 mins to cook the rice I don't find there is much need for it. Tefal seem to have this timer concept back to front.
As a rice cooker it does work very well.
As a steamer, it works, but the steam tray is too small
To summarise, it is useful as a rice cooker but as a 3 in 1 device it is not very good. I will now have to buy another slow cooker which defeats my reason for the purchase in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb addition to the kitchen, 1 Aug 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
This Slow Cooker/Rice Cooker/Steamer is superb. All you have to do is set the timer and leave it to it, no fuss at all. Very simple to use, it is also quite compact so it won't take up that much space in the kitchen either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good rice cooker, 8 Jun 2007
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
The non-stick inner pan does not work properly. We always lose a lot of the rice we cook because it sticks to the bottom. This is not because we have scratched it, (we have taken great care when washing it) and there are actually no visible scratches. It does not seem to apply heat evenly to the inner pan and I think this is what causes it to stick. As a result you get some rice that is perfectly cooked, but always some of it that is cooked way too crispy and sticks to the bottom. It is not a water volume measuring problem either.

The cooker is also very difficult to clean because it traps the starchy steam that comes off rice when it is cooking. (even when the rice is well washed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rice cooker!Value for money, 1 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
This rice cooker is not cheap generally. However, I'm very pleased with the performance.I used it mainly for making rice.The rice is perfectly cooked. If you leave the 'keep warm ' mode for too long, it may dry up your rice, so the tip is to switch off the rice cooker when you think it could be too dry when it is done.Another advantage is, no spillage of steam water around the rice cooker compared with the conventional rice cooker with a glass or metal lid. Also,rice does not stick to the bowl at all, easy for cleaning definitely.In conclusion, highly recommneded and it makes life easier and it encourages you to eat more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Automatic Magic, 17 Feb 2006
By 
JL MCCORMICK "Pactacus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Rice cooking is superbe, much better than a standard steamer or microwave approach. Slow cooker is brilliant and works as advertised. The Steamer function is a little limited in terms of volume, but is OK for 2 - 3 people - fish, vegatable, etc, Note: Because rice cooking is automatic, steaming vegetables at the same time will probably overcook the vegetables.
Otherwise, the best domestic cooker I've ever used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the complete all rounder you thought it might be, 12 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
This product is well made and stylish. I bought it assuming that it would perform all three functions completely. After a fashion it does. However the steam basket is very shallow and so limiting to what you can steam. It cooks rice very well but the slow cooking facility limits you to cooking on low without the option of a high heat. For anyone wanting to be a little creative in this area it means that you can't cook cakes or preserves and are limited to casseroles, which to be fair cook beautifully. The handbook with the cooker is very basic and the recipes ideas very poor. It has a delayed start on the rice cooking facility but could do with one for the slow cooking facility too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tefal Ricer 3 in 1 cooker, 17 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent buy, didnt even realise you can get one of these, but when i did, i didnt hang around. Yes you can get cheaper ones, but this seemed the best. With a starter timer and a keep warm function, lockable lid, you can steam meat or veg at the same time as cooking the rice. Best £45 i ever spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Chinese person's opinion, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Tefal Automatic Slow Cooker, Rice Cooker, Steamer (Kitchen & Home)
If you want to know how well a rice cooker is, ask someone Chinese or Japanese. They use a rice cooker at least once everyday, and can definitely tell you what makes a rice cooker a great one.

There are a few general things we need to know about a "rice cooker":

1. Use it only for cooking rice. If it tells you it can be used as a slow cooker, ignore it, or otherwise do not expect anything from it.

2. Use the right rice. Any rice can be done in a rice cooker, but for the best result, always use Thai rice. Experience tells us that mixing two brands of rice gives better taste too, so you are really into rice cooking like we Chinese people do, try it out.

3. When you use a new cooker or a new brand of rice, always adjust the amount of water you put. Try to start with more as rice has the capacity to absorb, you don't want it too dry.

4. Even for those rice cookers that have keep-warm function, always switch it off (mostly by unplugging it from the socket) once it switches to keep warm. Otherwise the rice will continue to absorb water and in some cases, will cause the rice to stick to the bowl in the cooker.

5. If you decide to use the steamer tray to steam food in the cooker while the rice is cooking, be prepared that the rice is going to be stickier than normal and not tasting as nice. They feel much heavier too. This is not the rice cooker's fault. All rice cookers can steam other things while cooking rice, at the expense of the texture of the rice itself. This is because the other stuff will interfere the steam current for the cooking rice.

For me, this tefal rice cooker is perfect as a rice cooker. It is extremely quick as well. 4 cups get cooked in under half an hour. The rice is fluffy and nice. Worth the money, no need to goto China Town or Oriental City to get those 120 pounds options (still made in China though)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews