Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Bonus
I don't feel I can add much to what has been written by the previous reviewers about the album itself except to say this is probably the best starting point for those looking to buy their first Uriah Heep album.

However I can't believe none of them have mentioned the bonus material, more specifically the track 'Why'.
Now normally I'm not a huge fan of the...
Published on 9 Mar 2007 by William J. Walker

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a try
I remember listening to Uriah Heap as a kid as my dad had a few of their albums. I always thought they were ok and this album carries that opinion on.

Musically they are very good so you can put the album on and enjoy. I found the lyrics limited and the singing not great but overall this is a solid album.

I am tempted to try some of their other...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by Smartin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Bonus, 9 Mar 2007
By 
William J. Walker "Billyjay" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
I don't feel I can add much to what has been written by the previous reviewers about the album itself except to say this is probably the best starting point for those looking to buy their first Uriah Heep album.

However I can't believe none of them have mentioned the bonus material, more specifically the track 'Why'.
Now normally I'm not a huge fan of the duff demos, lame out-takes and single-versions(often inferior, clumsily edited versions of the original) that make up the majority of bonus material found on 'expanded and remastered' editions, but there are exceptions and boy is this one of them. Apparently this track was unearthed while compiling this version of the album and such is its obscurity no one even knows who played bass on it.

The track itself is amazing; 10 minutes of stunning interaction between guitar, organ and bass all overlayed with the Uriah Heep's trade mark multi-part harmony backing vocals. The amazing thing is it doesn't sound like any thing else on the album and yet is so definitively 'Heep'. The Bass in particular stands out, powerful and ,at times, almost funky; it drives the piece along thrillingly.

If you don't own the album but have an interest in the music of this era (Deep Purple and Wishbone Ash come to mind) then it is an essential purchase.If you already own a copy of this album without the bonus material then I suggest(and I would never normally do so) it is worth getting this version if only for 'Why'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah! those sweet seventies, 30 Jun 2005
By 
fields21 "fields21" (Hoogerheide, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
Not knowing what to expect I bought this album on the acquaintance of 'Easy Living'. But the album has more good solid hard rock songs, although mosthave a lesser tempo than 'Easy Living'. What struck me most is the warm, catching sound of the album, without much editing, overlaying, overproducing. Here's a band that 'got it together'. Nothing outrageously rocking, screaming or bonking, no whimsical balladry; but great songs, never over the top.
The lyrics however are strictly "Fantasy" and concern demons, knights, wizzards and lots of 'wisdom'. They don't entice me, but they're no album killer either.
Bonus tracks add little; one or two good tracks in line with the album.
A jewel of seventies hard rock, never dull and great playing.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Uriah Heep ever and a classic!!!!!, 16 Oct 2006
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
This is simply the best cd ever produced by Uriah Heep and the one disc that got me into their music. This is not to say, that there are other cds produced by this band, that could match this one, such as "Wonderworld" (an album produced with a lot of pressure and only 6 months in betwen their last cd and tour). I dont understand how this guys got so much music and energy to create and record a new cd every 6 or 8 months: they did it (a similar case is Elton John). This disc opens with a great song: "The Wizard", a song about a better world that captures the magic of this band and gave them a musical concept for the next cds. It is a very powerful and produced song, its got a great structure and the vocal armonies along with the acustic guitar and sinthesizer played in just one note all over the song....extraordinarie!!!

"Traverler in time" is one of two songs not credited to Ken Hensley, who by then, was the main creative force in the band, and gives you the "harder edge" of the band. By the third song, UH produced a big smash hit with "Easy Living", today a rock classic. The rest of the album, combines a piano ballads like "Rain" and the superb "Circle of Hands", with slow rock like "Rainbow Demon" and the original closers. All of their time as a group, this line up, created the best of the band but with a very sad ending for two of their band members: Extraordinarie bassist Gary Thain died electrocuted and singer David Byron also died some years after he exited from the band. Other great cds from this band are: Magicians Birthday (the follow up to Demons and Wizards), "Wonderworld" (superb cd recorded under heavy pressure), and "Return to Fantasy" (with John Wetton replacing the already dead Gary Thain). This is not to say that their other cds recorded around this time are not excelent: all of them are.

Uriah Heep was (and still are) a very hard workin band, that paid the price for their music. Give them a try!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unjustafiably unknown album., 16 Sep 2006
By 
T. G. S. Roads "tim31061" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
I bought this album because I heard that Heep had supported Deep Purple on tour once and I am bloody glad I did. This is an excellent album with instant corkers such as Easy Livin', Rainbow Demon and The Wizard as well as more subtle tracks that will grow on the listener such as Traveler in Time, Paradise and my personal favourite The Spell.
The rythum and bass section of Lee Kerslake and Gary Thain respectively is excellent. Mick Box churns out simple but satisfying riffs on lead guitar, Ken Hensley's Organ (and occasional guitar) and David Byron's vocals intertwine beautifully with the amazing harmonised backing vocals provided by the rest of the band,
This is not a HARD rock album but is certainly a classic. It is easy to listen too and extreemly pleasureable and has hooked me on Uriah Heep and caused me to buy another 10 of their albums.
If you are a classic rock fan and havn't heard Heep and want a change you can't go wrong with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An early 70's classic!, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
As a teenage Uriah Heep fan in the early 70's, I liked all their albums when they were issued, but it has to be said some have stood the test of time better than others! For me, the one that stands out from this period is "Demons & Wizzards" which saw the band at the top of their game with what was IMO the definitive lineup. Particularly worthy of mention I feel are the late David Byron's great vocals, Ken Hensley's accomplished songwriting and the ever impressive Mick Box on guitar.

If you missed this album the first time round, give it a listen... you won't believe it's now 38 years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uriah heeps best!, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. N. Carvallo "mister nick" (england (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
i'd like to agree with a previous reviewer who commented on the bonus material, i think 'why' is in UH top ten songs, up there with july morning, gypsy etc, it is truly great rock & roll, almost R & B!, the bass is stunning, it should have been put onto the sweet freedom LP where it would have turned that LP into a five star LP (from a four star in my opinion!) I've enjoyed the outtakes in general on all the early Heep LPS, it shows how the same band can refine a good song and make it better, ie WHY,& THINK IT OVER, the latter being much better done by pete goalby that its co-creator, john sloman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC ROCK, 6 Dec 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
One of the great lost albums of the 70's,two fantastic singles .the wizard and easy livin should have made this band mega stars,everthing about this album evokes the 70's,the sleeve,the fantasy lyrics and the playing,real musicians who can play,the line up now including thain and kerslake dovetailed perfectly with byron/box and hensley,not a duff track in sight,and like a prev reviewer said the bonus track 'why' is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seventies classic., 9 Aug 2008
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
Every Uriah Heep fan will tell you that this is the groups best at the time of release album. everything slotted together perfectly. a stable line up, great writing plenty of rehearsal before recording and a sense of well being.. the remaster has a fantastic selection of out-takes that other top groups would have begged stole bought rather than gathering dust in some vault..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More wizards than demons, 25 April 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
One of UH's best-known albums and one of their best (it's definitely a matter of opinion, as 'Look At Yourself' rocks better), 'Demons And Wizards' was nevertheless also 'demonised' when the new wave came along, its mystical title inviting ridicule. Remarkably, the production is so fresh it sounds as if it could have been recorded within the last fifteen years were it not for the 1970s style. The band go for a wide range of acoustic and electric rock, so that no one track sounds like its predecessor. If I have a slight gripe, it is that some of the lyrical content is rather cliched. 'The Wizard', in particular, is a pleasant enough acoustic-based jaunt, but the 'why can't we live in peace and be free?' vibe is uninspired and had already been done better by many others. All of this is soon forgotten, though. UH remind us the next two tracks that they're at their best when they rock. Having successfully given us the epic 'July Morning' on the previous album, they repeated the trick a few times on this album, with impressive results: 'Circle of Hands', 'Paradise' and 'The Spell' are all winners in this respect. A marvellous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demons and Wizards. Uriah Heep, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demons and Wizards (Audio CD)
The first LP I ever bought, dont know why it took me soooo long to get it on CD !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demons and Wizards
Demons and Wizards by Uriah Heep (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews